Hidden Treasures Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "IQ_versus_Old_School"

IQ_versus_Old_School
by TheJoe
Recommends (21)
Fri, Jun 6, 2008 @ 9:19 AM
This upload might be Not Safe For Work

Uses samples from:

 
remaxim
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 6, 2008 @ 9:44 AM
glad you saw my review, cause otherwise I wouldn’t have such a great tune to listen to. Great old school feeling. Love the bass
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jun 6, 2008 @ 3:39 PM
Hey remaxim!

Thanks for the comment. Yes I am really glad that I just had a look on latest reviews. I probably wouldn_t have detetct it without your help!
Glad that you like the bass, I did so to but me stupid has sold the unbelievable JX 8P…:-(
 
.
permalink   remaxim Mon, Jun 9, 2008 @ 9:32 AM
If you want to you can check out my remix too. That pella was just too good … I had to try to remix it myself. I know it’s a shameless plug, but it’s probably worth it :D
DURDEN
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 6, 2008 @ 11:30 AM
Very Old sChool. I like the relaxed style
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jun 6, 2008 @ 3:40 PM
Hello DURDEN!

Thanks for the review. Long live Old_School! I have seen that you have uoploaded a remarkable track. Will come over there for a review!
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 6, 2008 @ 11:36 AM
mmmmm, please to ask if you will upload the backing track..pretty please ???
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jun 6, 2008 @ 3:44 PM
Hello LS!

Thanks for stepping by. I have just uploaded the instrumental.
It_s the original pella so you can make your own sound on it!.

In the mix here I added some multiband compressor, probably the wrong preset?….
duckett
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 6, 2008 @ 2:47 PM
Very funky, Mr. Joe! It has a West Coast vibe to it, I could hear a Tupac pella over that easy.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jun 6, 2008 @ 3:49 PM
Mr. duckett!

Just have seen that you put up a remix with the same pella. See my review for it.
The funny thing you mentioned is, this track was done for two brothers. One looked like Tupac and he really tried to rap like him(successfully), the other looked like Will Smith and he had his flow. These were very talented young musicians. I will have both of them always in my mind!
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 7, 2008 @ 8:37 AM
I Love your Old school west coast vibe on this track.
Duckett said that he could hear Tupac on this and i agree.
Great mix, Q’s vocals flow with this as if he were in the studio with you.

 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Jun 9, 2008 @ 7:58 AM
Thanks JL!

I have started to make a little research on your uploaded pellas and I think there will be some more remixes(old school of course) uploaded soon. Great stuff and respect to “Q”. He is one talented artist detected by a great DJ :-)!
fourstones
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 7, 2008 @ 11:53 AM
oh dam - sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet thanks for the instrumental !!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Jun 9, 2008 @ 8:00 AM
Done willingly!

In my dreams last night appeared a re-remix of the fabulous VS. Is it a dream that may come true?? ;-)
spinmeister
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 7, 2008 @ 6:12 PM
I’m glad you found a good use for that instrumental track! Wunderbar!!!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Jun 9, 2008 @ 8:04 AM
Thanks Spin!

I felt inspired by all these nice comments and know what? I have found a bunch of instrumentals waiting to be reactivated :-)!
AT
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 7, 2008 @ 8:22 PM
Very nice and funky Mr Joe-I wish my efforts of ten years ago sounded like this. Nice and relaxed feel.
Im off to google “west coast old school” I’m pretty ignorant when it comes to this sort of stuff.
Thanks for the samples as well :-)
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Jun 9, 2008 @ 8:07 AM
Thanks AT!

I wish my current efforts making contemporary music would be so successfull like your terrific ones.
Sort of ignorance on my side I guess!?:-)
beckfords
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 8, 2008 @ 2:06 AM
youv’e captured the spits here and wrapped them in a authentic and respectable mix.. vey well done
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Jun 9, 2008 @ 8:08 AM
Thanks beckfords!

I am really surprised that this little remix based on an unfinished session file gets so much attention.
essesq
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 8, 2008 @ 8:12 AM
Great stuff TJ. Hmm the only 10 year old stuff I’ve got lying around my house is house dust, and to date I don’t know how to sample that. That groove is sweet, thanks for saving it and introducing it to the light of day here.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Jun 9, 2008 @ 8:13 AM
Thanks essesq!

Under the dust I detected some more stuff like that. It was this sort of music that I only produced about ten years ago. No drumloops, just a grid editor and a hardare sampler. Probably it is sort of maturing like for wine?:-)
onlymeith
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 8, 2008 @ 3:34 PM
Simply fine music, simply splendid production. I like.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Jun 9, 2008 @ 8:15 AM
Thank you onlymeith!

This is what I always wanted to do and you said it so well: simple fine music!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 9, 2008 @ 5:47 PM
I’m not a rap man but I do appreciate the genre and this one makes me want to have a go and make a mix of one myself.

Great production that gets everything blending really well together.

Very pro work my friend!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Wed, Jun 11, 2008 @ 2:36 PM
Hello RT!

Thanks for the nice words about this little “remix”. 10 years ago I was a little rap man and now there are a few dusted tracks from that time which I unexpectedly can use for building new ones.
It would be amazing if YOU would make some unexpected or unusual re-remix of it, because this is what you always can do very good!:-)
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 12, 2008 @ 4:47 AM
this is so well put together and yes reminds of big boomy boxes and kangol hats. Nice.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Sun, Jun 15, 2008 @ 10:17 AM
Hello Kaer,

thanks for the comment!
The time I needed to put it together wasn_t too long as I only took the vocals and the backtrack.
This was a real 2 track song!:-)
Kangol hats? Never heard before, but you know where I am coming from…. ;-)
kulimu
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 21, 2008 @ 3:47 AM
This is awesome

Very convincing old school sound, and it fits perfectly with the rapping.

I absolutely love this, so I will dare a little ‘negative’ comment : IMO the snare doesn’t quite have the dirty old-school feel to it. Otherwise, the imersion would be complete! Just my opinion of course.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jun 27, 2008 @ 11:20 AM
Thanks kulimu!

Re-snare sound: you are probably right. In that time when the track was produced, we wanted to have just a fat handclap and we thought, it was some kind of old school thing 10 years ago :-).
I like it when people mention things like these, so nooo problem to talk about it!!

Thanks again!
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 22, 2008 @ 6:02 AM
1987. Boombox blastin. Sweet. You really catch the Old Skool vibe here, nice one.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jun 27, 2008 @ 11:22 AM
hello scott,

thanks for stepping by and the nice comment.
Yeah, old school…, even the loop was drawn by hand, no loops or something. Very old school production ;-)!
J. SPIERS
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 5, 2008 @ 5:38 PM
Wow! sounds like you and I might have listened to some of the same stuff. I’m really diggin’ this. All of your tracks are A+++. Keep it up and keep it funky.