Dig The Soundtrack 2017 Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "Under the Velveteen Skies"

Under the Velveteen Skies
by TheDICE
Recommends (23)
Sun, Mar 23, 2014 @ 6:14 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Carosone
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 23, 2014 @ 7:53 AM
A refreshing take to this famous pella, also thanks to urmymuse. I have ivan chew’s version (with colab and teru)on my mp3 player since 2009 and I listened to it 1000 times, so this is really something new and beautiful. The end is abrut, what’s happened? The highlight is the doubled narva9 in the second part and in the ending, really cool.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sun, Mar 23, 2014 @ 10:48 AM
You are right the original with Ivan et al is a classic.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 11:56 AM
Thanks for listening and for your kind words! Maybe you are right, the end is too much brutal. I should let play the last chord, at least. Much appreciated!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Fri, Apr 4, 2014 @ 8:36 PM
One of my all time ccMixter favs too!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 23, 2014 @ 8:08 AM
Exciting, full, high-energy mix! It strikes me as very well-balanced… such an enjoyable listen. Well done, Mr. DICE!
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 11:57 AM
Thanks for listening Kara :) your review and listen is much appreciated ;)
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 23, 2014 @ 9:48 AM
I’ve always so liked urmymuse’s wall of guitars sound. You’ve really used it to full potential here, crafting an early eighties new age song that would have held up quite well if you could slip a time traveled LP into the hands of an 80s DJ. :)
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 11:59 AM
eheheh! That’s maybe true! Thanks very much Admiral Bob :)
Quarkstar
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 23, 2014 @ 10:00 AM
I like the vibe on this, a good summery 80’s hit.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 12:00 PM
Thanks for listening Quarkstar. Glad you liked!
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Tue, Mar 25, 2014 @ 11:56 AM
Listened again, with the new ending.

I can imagine this as being in a Summer Movie or as the theme tune to a well loved TV Show.
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 23, 2014 @ 10:45 AM
Thanks man this is fantastic :) The harmonisation on Narva9 vocal works really well.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 12:07 PM
I really like your rock remix Velveteen (especially your guitar riffs). So I played with the stems. Glad you liked the mix :)
keytronic
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 23, 2014 @ 11:18 AM
hmm….reminds me to my teenage years when “alternative” was not only a music style but also a way of living…

Great one.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 12:08 PM
Glad you liked Keytronic :) Thanks for listening and for reviewing.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 23, 2014 @ 12:31 PM
this is undoubtedly a hit. as i listened i intended to Ed Pick but i’m wondering if you cut-off a piece of the ending in your bounce? brilliant song, production, treatment, harmonies, etc. it’s as though these stems were recorded together in a studio. fantastic.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 12:17 PM
Thanks for your kindness, Snowflake. I wasn’t confident on this mix.

Cutting the end (suddendly like this), was a decision I took at the last evening. Maybe was too brutal. I think I’ll upload a new version without cuts.

Im really glad you appreciated :)) Thanks again.
robwalkerpoet
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 23, 2014 @ 12:37 PM
Agree with all of the above! Summer memories - like listening to a classic hit but with a fresh, new angle.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 12:20 PM
Thanks very much for your kind words. :)
reusenoise
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 1:15 AM
Solid rock/pop remix I like these kind of stuff
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 12:21 PM
thanks for listening :) Glad you liked.
Rey Izain
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 5:26 AM
I’m with Keytronic on this…it reminds me of a very cool alternative pop music era when being different was an aspiration an not an insult. Thanks for bringing those memories back to mind. Great track
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 12:22 PM
I’m very glad that most of the fans of the original not dislike my humble tribute :) thanks for your kindness Rey.
Hans Atom
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 9:40 AM
Very nice track! I love this kind of music when pop and rock are embracing. Nice playing. Fits perfectly to Narva┬┤s cool voice.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Mar 24, 2014 @ 12:23 PM
Thank you Hans for listening and reviewing. Glad you liked.
debbizo
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 27, 2014 @ 4:34 AM
I agree - very summery, very 80s and good listening :-)
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Tue, Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25 AM
Thank you very much for listening and for your kindness :))
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 29, 2014 @ 3:37 AM
Rock on,Dice
Fresh clean velvety music
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Tue, Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26 AM
Glad you liked it Texasradiofish. Thanks for listening!!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 4, 2014 @ 8:41 PM
This is a fantastic alt-pop treatment of one of my all-time favorite ccMixter songs. LOVE, LOVE LOVE it!
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Tue, Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29 AM
Thank you very much SackJo22. You’re really kind. I’m really glad you appreciated my attempt :)