Listen to Break the Silence Remixes
skip
Home » People » SackJo22 » The Right Voice » Reviews

Reviews for "The Right Voice"

MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 26, 2011 @ 8:46 PM
dark and brooding. and cinematic!

cuts off abruptly at the end though…
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Mon, Sep 26, 2011 @ 8:50 PM
Thanks. I’ll tweak the end and re-up. Crashed during uploading.
timberman
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 26, 2011 @ 10:13 PM
Wow, Susan. The music is full of contradictions that somehow work together. Restrained and forceful at the same time. Dark, intense, yet gentle. and I must compliment your singing, in my experience it’s extremely difficult to sing over such an ambient piece of music. Just shows how musical you are. I have the deepest respect for what you’ve created here. It’s one of your best.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Mon, Sep 26, 2011 @ 10:22 PM
Thank you Per. I really appreciate your thoughtful comments. I recently upgraded to Pro Tools 9 and am still trying to figure out how to work it — it’s much more complex than what I was using before.
Jeris
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 12:24 AM
Wow, I’m speechless. This is a masterpiece!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 8:32 AM
I love Hildegard! we listen to her music regularly in our home. great comparison for Susan’s harmonies —nice Ed Pick!
 
.
permalink   Jeris Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 9:52 AM
Yeah I went through a Hildegard obsession, just a fascinating woman.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 8:59 AM
Thank you Jeris. And thanks for the ed pick. I’m speechless.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 9:55 AM
Good thing we can type.. ;D
J.Lang
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 3:40 AM
Dark and lovely all the same time. Impressive
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 8:59 AM
Thank you for listening and sharing your thoughts J. Means a lot to me.
eshar
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 6:34 AM
Very deep and moving…loved the tolling bell, that really create a great solemn atmosphere.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 9:00 AM
Thank you Eshar. I really dug your latest upload too!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 7:52 AM
chosen we wander in a web of derision until we are lost
in a wind of decision, like dust we are tossed
it’s a storm of choice

Incredible. Lyrically brilliant. The sparse and atmospherically weaved sounds leave the deserved space for the words… and add that layer of dark, contemplative mystery. And your voice! Penetrating harmonies. Feels like Joni Mitchell (which I know I’ve compared you to before)… Strong, yet delicate. The Ed. Pick is well-deserved. This is, indeed, a masterpiece. Thank you for sharing this.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 9:01 AM
Thanks Kara. I’m sure you can appreciate those moments when it all flows — that’s how it was for this song written a long long time ago after a very moving moment.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 8:33 AM
i echo the reviews above. the depth of your insight is mirrored in your strong lyrics, piercing my heart and higher mind. an absolutely spiritual experience, opening the Soul to wonder.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 9:02 AM
Thank you Emily — that’s how I felt when I had the experience that inspired this song.
panu
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 8:58 AM
beautiful writing & performance. the backing track suits you and the song perfectly. congrats on the Ed Pick.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 9:02 AM
Thank you Panu — it always means a lot when you visit.
Zapac
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 10:40 AM
I’m glad, that it’s written a long time ago, and those times are gone. Huh, it’s so dark, i have to switch on the lamp while listening. :)
I think all of your works is a film theme. Pictures, feelings, stories, told by your music. I raise my hat to you!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 10:24 PM
Thank you Zapac. The feelings are the most important part of the music. Peace.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 12:31 PM
This song is so resoundingly similar to my own struggle to find my path. Who is He? Do I find it on the road of my ancestors? Do I find it on my own road? What is that road? What does the occupier of the gates at the end of it look like to me?

In the book of Kings is a line that says, “Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind.”

I’ve often considered this the most eloquent expression of the idea of Panentheism - the divine in everything, but at the same time exalted above and transcending everything.

That is, I suppose the mystical element that allows me to picture without making an idol.

At any rate, didn’t mean to write an essay, but rather thank you for this thoughtful and personal work that is nonetheless transcendent for me, even beyond the borders of different religious traditions.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 10:32 PM
Thank you for sharing your heart with us. I think these questions are universal, and that my song could touch you in this way, and that you are able to share that, is incredibly meaningful. Your soul and heart are clearly deep and shining.
CSoul
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 1:00 PM
This is A GREAT MUSIC Susan,I can say only this by my poor english.,
peace
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 10:28 PM
Thank you my dear. Peace.
copperhead
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 2:06 PM
You have one incredible ear Susan WOW! You continue to blow me away.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 10:29 PM
Thanks Greg — you are always so supportive and encouraging. I really appreciate it.
debbizo
.
permalink   Thu, Sep 29, 2011 @ 4:40 AM
“the light filters gently through the glass of shrines” - brilliant! I’m always impressed by your harmonies Susan. Well done.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Oct 9, 2011 @ 9:47 AM
Thank you Deb.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 1, 2011 @ 12:54 AM
Your skills are showing.
You got it going on, Susan.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Oct 9, 2011 @ 9:49 AM
Thanks boys.
Beluga Ten
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 8, 2011 @ 8:35 PM
Deep, dark and moody. Draws you in to an intricate world that raises the hairs on the back of your neck.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Oct 9, 2011 @ 9:50 AM
Wow. It makes me very happy to hear that my song gave you that feeling. Thank you.
mwic
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 22, 2011 @ 5:21 PM
I almost can’t believe what I just heard.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Oct 22, 2011 @ 8:25 PM
Thank you so much for listening.
 
.
permalink   mwic Fri, Nov 11, 2011 @ 4:21 AM
Quote: SackJo22Thank you so much for listening.

Following up here.. I had to create a new playlist for this as “Favorites” doesn’t quite cut it.

Oh, in addition to Hildegard you remind me of the *great* Jocelyn Pook.
SmoJos
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 9, 2012 @ 3:38 PM