Momentum Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "White Out (Shade of the Moon Mix)"

White Out (Shade of the Moon ...
by SackJo22
Recommends (43)
Fri, Dec 4, 2009 @ 2:56 PM

Uses samples from:

 
spinmeister
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 4, 2009 @ 3:14 PM
Exquisitely beautiful - with just that hint of edge to intrigue! This will be remixed for sure!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Fri, Dec 4, 2009 @ 4:20 PM
Thanks Spin. It makes me happy to know you enjoyed this track.
AIR_LOMEG
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 4, 2009 @ 3:14 PM
Obviously, it’s you and Gurdonark who inspire the lot - and here’s another ‘why so is’! You’re such a positive force SackJo! b.k.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Fri, Dec 4, 2009 @ 4:21 PM
What a nice thing to say to me. Thank you.
essesq
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 4, 2009 @ 7:07 PM
Very ethereal and atmospheric. The bell lends a nautical air to it too, I think.

So, not so happy with the Snowball? Right mic for a winter project, no? ;-) I love mine and it helps that my ears don’t know any better and that it’s so darn cute sitting there on my shelf :-).

Great work, Susan and good luck with the overall organization of the project.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 10:25 AM
Thanks E. The snowball is fine, but I find there is a certain hollow sound and that it picks up a lot of noise — but I could just be noisy (I had to edit out the sound of my bangles because I forgot to take them off before I started recording). I’m so glad to have your contribution to the project too. It’s been an extraordinary journey, that’s for sure.

And I said it before, and I’ll say it again, I absolutely love your new pic!
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 10:45 AM
Thank you. Took a bit of courage to put a real picture up ;-) … and I’m still not sure who took it :-). Now I’m sitting here looking at cold rain I wish I was back on that beach.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 4, 2009 @ 8:22 PM
I’m a huge fan of the composer Harry Partch, with his just intonation scales and his invented instruments. I like this piece in the same way I admire another trait of his pieces—the sense of a dramatic performance embued in every piece. Here the listener feels there is an untold story behind the song—perhaps a story in distant galaxies, perhaps a story in the most mundane earthly place—but definitely a story. It’s that light—the storyteller’s orb—to which one reaches in listening to this song. Thanks for experimenting in how to implode the white cube!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 10:28 AM
While “light” is a preeminent theme in my work, I often explore the idea and meaning of the “story.” Everyone has one.

Thank you for this thoughtful review. But more importantly, Thank you for supplying such versatile samples to work with, and thank YOU for being an integral part of The White Cube Remix project.
Tenny
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 4, 2009 @ 8:44 PM
So I was doing my normal “play all” thing while working on some things and stopped doing what I was doing midway through because I was mesmerized by this mix! It sounds so incredible!! fantastic work!!!!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 10:31 AM
Thanks Tenny! It’s so nice to know that you like my work. I once studied with a belly dance teacher named “Mesmera.” She frequently danced with snakes — now that was mesmerizing!
timberman
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 12:40 AM
I do say, SackJo.
This beautiful chanting reminds me of the traditional joik chanting of the Lapps/Sami people of northern Scandinavia. Its sound is comparable to the traditional chanting of some Native American cultures. A connection. A coincidence? This is so beautiful!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 10:33 AM
What a terrific association! Thank you so much for sharing that. Having no exposure whatsoever to the chanting of the Lapps/Sami people, I chalk it up to the power of the collective unconscious which can often give us useful information without us even knowing.
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 2:38 AM
this is great, the deep , mesmeric, ethereal quality really impresses
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 10:34 AM
Thank you so much. It makes me feel nice to know you like my remix.
Speck
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 7:56 AM
I like hearing mixes from you. What I like is that I can hear ‘you’ in them. Also, thanks for the separate upload of vocals. Pretty sure you’ll be hearing those again soon.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 10:37 AM
Quote: SpeckI like hearing mixes from you. What I like is that I can hear ‘you’ in them…

I’ve resigned myself to the fact that I could not sound like anyone else if I tried (and believe me, I have). So now to have you say this, it is really one of the nicest things anyone could possibly say. Thank you.
Anchor
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 1:38 PM
Mysterious and Lovely both…
I was reminded of the old fairytale illustrations of Edmund Dulac - and also the strange footage of an actual discovered old film I once saw about some lost explorer and his expedition somewhere in an icy and cold Tundra.
Your ( and Mr. Gurdonark’s) White Cube Project has certainly been quite a thrilling and successful venture.
Loved your contribution.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 1:41 PM
Thank you Anchor! Interestingly, I just sent you a note about your wonderful white cube contribution. I love your associations. The tundra does seem a formidible environment, but I have always found something incredibly intriguing and exquisite about that vast white space.
logos
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 4:20 PM
Nice song!You created a nice atmosphere.Mysterious and Foggy.It’s what a dream sounds like
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 6:16 PM
Thanks so much — I hope a good dream and not a nightmare. :-)
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 6:07 PM
Come ON ! Get out of that bathroom . I’ve been waiting for an hour. !
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 6:17 PM
?
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Sun, Dec 6, 2009 @ 1:43 AM
its the best room for vocals didnt you know ?:-)
HEJ31
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 6:44 PM
Toward the end, I’m reminded of the last movement of Holst’s “The Planets”. It does have a soudtrack quality to it, which is not a bad thing at all. I like the ominous bell. But forget the frozen tundra. I’m thinking Vegas at 5:00 in the morning after a long night and it’s already 90 degrees. Will anyone in Oslo have that impression? Good work, router sharer.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Dec 5, 2009 @ 6:54 PM
Thanks Haskel.
VickyDan
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 6, 2009 @ 1:52 AM
I am sorry not to be very present, right now, please forgive me Susan, but I discovered with delight your vocal feats. Again I’m transcended. Your talent is immence I wrote with sincerity ….
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Dec 8, 2009 @ 10:47 AM
Merci cher Vicky. I hope you are staying warm this December.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 6, 2009 @ 5:23 AM
At last I have the chance to listen to this. It’s absolutely beautiful, SJ, but also unsettling. For me it embodies the perfect and breathtaking desolation of wastes of snow. An outstanding creative piece - which is only what I’d expect from you! xxxx
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Dec 8, 2009 @ 10:54 AM
At last I have a moment to respond to your generous review — thank you dear Ciggi. I am looking forward to heading out to warmer climes… :-)
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 6, 2009 @ 9:11 AM
Beautiful and deep
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Dec 8, 2009 @ 10:55 AM
Thanks J. — I sure appreciate your listen and your nice comment.
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 6, 2009 @ 6:15 PM
Haha. Per beat me to it.

This is entirely lovely.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Dec 8, 2009 @ 10:56 AM
Thanks Mikael. I’m not sure what Per beat you to though…in any event, maybe next time?
 
.
permalink   colab Tue, Dec 8, 2009 @ 11:01 AM
Quote: SackJo22Thanks Mikael. I’m not sure what Per beat you to though…in any event, maybe next time?
The Lapps/Sami reference. I agree completely. Quite something.
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 7, 2009 @ 2:24 PM
Entrancing, like a siren’s song..
And impressive progress in your production..
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Dec 8, 2009 @ 10:58 AM
Merci Ditto. I am really trying with each effort to improve my skills, and maybe one day, I may even get some better tools.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 7, 2009 @ 7:45 PM
your voice has taken me into a deep spiritual place. this is pure magic.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Dec 8, 2009 @ 10:59 AM
Thank you so much Miss Snowflake.
SmoJos
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 9, 2012 @ 3:34 PM