Endurance Secret Mixter--Mix Mode
skip

Reviews for "Dying on the Vine"

Dying on the Vine
by Robert Warrington
Recommends (22)
Sun, Apr 8, 2012 @ 9:43 AM

Samples are used in:

 
panu
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 8, 2012 @ 12:50 PM
 
.
permalink   Robert Warrington Mon, Apr 9, 2012 @ 12:46 PM
Much appreciated as always.
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 8, 2012 @ 1:02 PM
I’ve tried to review this piece for a few minutes now but I have a hard time finding words for how brilliant I think this is.
So instead, many many :s
 
.
permalink   Robert Warrington Mon, Apr 9, 2012 @ 12:49 PM
Now I’m rooting around for a suitable response to this comment and failing to find one - but I’m glad you liked it!
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 8, 2012 @ 4:21 PM
I hear resignation, desperation and miscommunication. Uniquely blue.
 
.
permalink   Robert Warrington Mon, Apr 9, 2012 @ 12:49 PM
Thanks for casting your excellent ears over it Speck.
TheDICE
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 8, 2012 @ 4:30 PM
This is very pleasant.
really a nice mix
 
.
permalink   Robert Warrington Mon, Apr 9, 2012 @ 12:55 PM
Thank you. It’s a slightly broader spectrum of sounds than I usually draw on. I was trying to be a little bit more ambitious.
debbizo
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 8, 2012 @ 6:02 PM
I love it but also being a lover of morse code and an amateur radio licencee, I am finding the morse code both attractive and distracting. My instinct is to read the morse code but until the end it is too submerged in the mix to read properly…although without putting in much effort to interpret, it sounds like numbers. I’d be interested in whether it’s a distraction for non-morse listeners. I don’t dislike it, as I said, it’s attractive…so maybe it’s just my instinct to decipher.
 
.
permalink   debbizo Sun, Apr 8, 2012 @ 6:04 PM
OK, so it’s S O S at the end - nice!
 
.
permalink   Robert Warrington Mon, Apr 9, 2012 @ 1:02 PM
The SOS signal is repeating throughout, quite low in the mix. I think my idea was people might pick up on it, or pick up on it subliminally, but it wouldn’t be crucial if they didn’t. It was included more for its tonal value than anything else (although arguably everything I do is a cry for help!)
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:06 PM
I really dig your sonic aesthetic and smart writing. I like this track a whole lot and have actually sung along to it in the download that made its way to my ipod. Thanks so much for including me. (and sorry for being late to the party — life has been happening)
 
.
permalink   Robert Warrington Mon, Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:34 PM
I’m glad you like the track. I think it does pretty much work, despite or perhaps because of the haphazard way it was put together.

Thanks for providing such a good pool of samples for me to dip into and for helping to make it look/sound as if I know what I’m doing.
Javolenus
.
permalink   Wed, May 9, 2012 @ 12:33 AM
I’m impressed. Great concept and well realised. Your words are exceptionally good and the delivery exceptionally blue. I listened to some of your other stuff and was also impressed (e.g. “Repeat Offender”). I think you’re a majorly talented dude. Hope you keep on with this and that you get more recognition—it’s v. cool.
 
.
permalink   Robert Warrington Fri, May 11, 2012 @ 7:29 AM
I appreciate your words as I rarely think anything I do is up to the mark. In fact part of me’s still surprised when an upload of mine gets a recommendation or review. I tend to think it’ll either go unnoticed or the response will reflect my own dissatisfied assessment. That’s why I find the site such a positive and encouraging place - much more so than my own head!
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Fri, May 11, 2012 @ 7:36 AM
I find it all a bit random really: there some things on this site that I think are amazing but they’re hardly noticed at all. Well, I like your stuff—strikes me as genuine.
El.ector
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:25 AM
what a surprise! to listen to some material i thought no one would ever re.listen! beautiful piece man! so glad i participated in a way! Simply Beautiful: great balance and development.. Congratulations
 
.
permalink   Robert Warrington Wed, Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:56 AM
Thanks so much. I know people surrender their creative control voluntarily here but everyone can’t always like the way their stuff gets used. When you’ve recycled someone else’s material, whatever it is, it’s always good to know they’re happy with the result.
diaphane
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 18, 2014 @ 12:14 PM
An other kind of inner-dreamlike journey or film music, this is brilliant :)