Beauty of Perspective Event
skip

Reviews for "Everything Looks Different ( In Fra RED )"

Everything Looks Different ( ...
by Loveshadow
Recommends (33)
Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 10:41 AM

Samples are used in:

 
essesq
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 11:15 AM
Ok so now he really really doesn’t sound like he’s from Texas…

Really nice mix for this perfect weather we’re having and a much needed diversion from a list of things to fret over as long as your arm. :-) Thanks.
 
.
permalink   essesq Thu, Sep 3, 2009 @ 2:09 PM
I rushed my review when I saw I was first. This track is unfortunately way too smart for the average ear. I wonder how you decide to put a wash of strings over a poppy dance beat or how you achieve such a unique sound palette. I used to think you were sculpting sound but now I’m convinced you are painting it.

And as others have said the vocals and lyrics are outstanding. Sorry I failed to mention it before :-). Now I’ll just shut up and listen. ;-)
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Thu, Sep 3, 2009 @ 3:48 PM
Well nice to know someone’s listening with that much thought.

That particular motif is phrase that has appeared in about 6 film scores to my knowledge including the one shot in that old book shop. :-)

I was actually working on another piece when i dropped it in here. It will appear again i am sure.
drive on the wayside
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 12:25 PM
Satisfying synth goodness check
Vocal shifting excellence check
Audio ear candy check
Another remix by the very talented Loveshadow?…. priceless. LOL

AWESOME! AWESOME! AWESOME! AWESOME!

(I feel obligated to say y’all here for no apparent reason but entirely for Essesq’s benefit)
 
.
permalink   essesq Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 2:14 PM
Ya can say it ‘til the doggies git along home wearing a ten gallon hat and I still won’t believe you…but I must say I agree entirely with your review. Y’all sound like yer from somewhere in the UK or environs on this one. Maybe LS has an accent shifter in his toolkit :-).
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Wed, Sep 2, 2009 @ 9:21 AM
I have to to tell you V that i keep playing this over and over. Not something i do with many of my mixes . I just went to AMT and played Santiago and the Latex mixes. There is something about your voice and melodies that keeps bringing me back to a Pet Shop Boys kind of sound that i really enjoy making.
 
.
permalink   drive on the wayside Wed, Sep 2, 2009 @ 10:10 AM
Me too!!! I’ve spun this remix a dozen times or more. It is just so amazing. I’m blown away by your compliments on my voice and melodies! Wow that just made my day!

and you know I’m a huge PSB fan so I’m digging it ;-)
 
.
permalink   Quantum_Anomaly Wed, Sep 2, 2009 @ 10:47 PM
Ok ok ok, now I have to come back, after listening to this track about six times this hour, and state that your lyrical sense on this one is so astronomically well put together that words barely explain it. And thank you for using complex words and unique metaphores. This with loveshadow’s talented mixing style have made my day!
 
.
permalink   drive on the wayside Thu, Sep 3, 2009 @ 4:15 AM
:-O

ok let me just pick myself off the floor after that incredible compliment! Now that most certainly made my day! Wow…

thank you!
Geert Veneklaas
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 2:09 PM
Woooooooooooo…….I LOVE it !
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Thu, Sep 3, 2009 @ 4:06 PM
Thaaaaaaaaaaaanks……..
Budapest BluesBoy
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 4:23 PM
Proffessional hard synth pop. I enjoyed. Loveshadow in his best form. Perfect tunes and the mastering is brilliant. But lyric could be more better. A pop song is not just a pop song, if ya know what I mean…
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Thu, Sep 3, 2009 @ 3:51 PM
I actually think the lyric is perfect for an electro pop song.
its a bit of Robot Love you know the ones you put batteries in to :-)
 
.
permalink   Budapest BluesBoy Thu, Sep 3, 2009 @ 4:15 PM
:)
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 11:20 PM
it’s got a great kind of 80’s pop sensibility to it (think wang chung), partly from the arrangement and source, but i think more from your deft touch. love the vocal treatment, especially on the chorus.

there’s a dirty synth wash kind of track you use intermittently (right before the chorus), and when that comes in, i keep wanting the vocals to get all dirty and mulched, but that’s just me. :)

great mix.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Thu, Sep 3, 2009 @ 3:54 PM
I know what you mean, but i had done enough obvious things in here short of changing the vocal delivery completely so it seemed enough.

In fact there is a whole lot of things i didnt do like a full vocal harmony i had worked out for the chorus. Ill save that for full release. :-)
wellman
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 2, 2009 @ 7:36 AM
Im a lead synth lover, and this mix has a lot of that! But what I like the most of this is the vibe of early 90´s. Very well done!
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Thu, Sep 3, 2009 @ 3:57 PM
Quote: wellmanIm a lead synth lover,

I am pleased you have that confession out in the open now.
spinmeister
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 2, 2009 @ 10:37 AM
This makes me all nostalgic to way back in early 2k7, when a few of us set out on the journey from there to here with a little amt side-stop. Love it, love it, love it!
 
.
permalink   drive on the wayside Thu, Sep 3, 2009 @ 4:17 AM
I know right? It’s like we’ve come full circle :-P. Toooooooo cool
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Thu, Sep 3, 2009 @ 3:59 PM
yes i remember those days when you could drop a bit of accordian on a beat and live like a king on the praise :-)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Thu, Sep 3, 2009 @ 4:03 PM
yep, the praise recession has struck. :-)
Quantum_Anomaly
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 2, 2009 @ 8:37 PM
I agree that this brings a nice little 80’s synth to the mix, and it’s definately getting some good play outta my car speakers!
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Thu, Sep 3, 2009 @ 4:05 PM
Good. MY car wont play my burnt CDs anymore that used to be the one place i would check stuff.

But amazingly i havent played any mix i have done on a set of speakers for well over a year now they are all made and mixed on headphones. So thanks for the feedback.
 
.
permalink   Quantum_Anomaly Thu, Sep 3, 2009 @ 4:14 PM
I’m kind of an audiophile when it comes to my car. I use a 2 gig USB adapter to pump my tunes through a 14-speaker surround-sound with a pair of 12” subs. Rest assured, this mix does my highway driving justice.
Scomber
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 2, 2009 @ 10:08 PM
My mascara is running and my shoulder pads have dropped.
Brings back some fine yet somewhat embarressing memories. Perfect Psb pop
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Thu, Sep 3, 2009 @ 4:00 PM
What do you mean when i was in Sydney the other month they were still dressed like that :-)
duckett
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 5, 2009 @ 2:13 AM
WOW. No surprise why this has gotten so much attention… no accordion, though? ;-)
narva9
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 6, 2009 @ 9:34 AM
Very retro 80’s. I love it! Thanks for sharing.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 7, 2009 @ 2:28 PM
I dig these synthparts that sound so fresh and nasty. Its 80s yes, don_t take it wrong but the drums and bass sounded the first moments like german disco fox which is I think not intended?! :-)
But this synth line….wuuuuooow.
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 24, 2009 @ 4:30 PM
Not exactly sure how I missed this. Probably that night I was out on the juice with the pet shop boys.

Not sure how you’ve worked it but in the verse, you manage to make that droning, pitch bent lead sound authentic and not drunk / out of tune at all. Pretty darn good.

As always this has that ‘sing along’ factor and promotes involuntary head bobbing and toe tapping. Coolio.