Perspectives Playlist at Art Gallery Oct 12
skip

Reviews for "Prism in the Ether"

Prism in the Ether
by Fireproof_Babies
Recommends (42)
Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 5:53 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Alex
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 5:58 AM
A very good listen, Joe!
Great
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 6:11 AM
Thanks my friend!
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 6:00 AM
I just love this. Behind the very lovely audiotechnica samples, you’ve thrown some power and grit, but in a way that absolutely does not detract from their prettiness. Instead, it infuses them with energy and light.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 6:18 AM
Adding power, grit, energy and light without overdoing it was my goal. I just didn’t have the words for it at the time of making. Only a feeling and a sound in my mind.
Thank you admiralbob, for the kind words. FB
Kamihamiha
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 6:54 AM
In my opinion, the snare could either do with sounding much better or much worse. Apart from that, this is astonishing.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 7:34 AM
Thanks Kamihamiha! I don’t have a fancy mic set-up for the drums. Just a Zoom H2 set about 8’ from the set. There’s no way to isolate the snare, other than cutting or boosting the frequency band in which the snare resides. The drums are what one would hear with 2 ears in my back studio. Thanks so much for listening and reviewing!
 
.
permalink   Kamihamiha Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 12:39 PM
Fair play then :) I have a nasty habit of assuming that anything that is recorded must be intended to sound that way haha
panu
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 6:59 AM
out-damn-standing, Joe Bob. great samples from AT and a memorable mix. i’m lovin’ it.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 7:37 AM
Joe Bob! That’s what I used as an alias years ago. Told everyone my middle name was “Bob”. It’s actually David. Thank you my friend!
 
.
permalink   panu Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 10:21 AM
from now on you’re Baby David The
Fireproof Baby Pimp.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 5:20 PM
That’s what I’m talkin’ bout, dawg!
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 7:33 AM
Well sir, this track is one of your best (I’ve probably listened to 80% of your uploads. At least). Very nice choice of stems from audiotechnica. Everything fits, from the arrangement to your backing tracks. The track got me hooked early on; the musical changes entertained right to the very last note/ echo/ fade out. One more thing: the bells and distortion guitar combination that made up the chorus part — reminded me of an instrumental from a Japanese Anime soundtrack (think the anime was called Bubblegum Crisis). BTW, listened to this twice. Downloading this for keeps.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 7:42 AM
Very pleased you approve, Master Chew! Beware of an overdose, as the babies will warp your mind ;)
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 7:49 AM
I honestly think the babies sound much calmer and honest with themselves lately. Overdose implies that what’s consumed is inherently bad. This one isn’t at all. Cheers!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 9:36 AM
You’re too kind. The Babies thank you!
Darkangel
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 7:56 AM
pretty powerful aray of sound here :)
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 8:03 AM
Thanks my good man!
spinningmerkaba
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 8:28 AM
Sweet chaos from the babies here. This mix makes room for both remixters, with strong piano tones, brash beats and chord punches. Nice work!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 9:40 AM
“Brash beats and chord punches” would be a nice title for a CD. hmmmmm… :) Thanks a bunch!
short hopper
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 8:51 AM
One of my favorites among all of your uploads. Awesome!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 9:41 AM
Thank you very much for your support of my efforts. Much appreciated!
copperhead
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 9:22 AM
Great remix here. This just flows along nicely and never stops. You made everything tonally, accommodating to the drums!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 9:44 AM
This was an easy one on the drums. Just loaded my mp3 player; donned the headphones and broke off a couple of takes. Used the first one. hehehehe….. Thanks copperhead. Really like your new remix, BTW.
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 9:26 AM
Very pretty,almost happy feel for the most part. The guitars give a bit of bite without feeling wrong, piano elements open the door a little to where the babies usually live … the ending is very strong. Liked this alot
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 9:49 AM
Working with the piano samples was fun. A lot of freedom in those jazzier parts, with AT’s mad piano. Thanks for reviewing, urmymuse!
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 10:04 AM
Excellent mix. I like how it alternates between the more straight ahead rock and the more psy-rock jazz fusion. (Can you guess which parts I like most?) Also it’s always cool to hear a sample I’m very familiar with used in a totally different way.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 10:47 AM
I know well which parts you like most ;) We’re kindred spirits in that respect. Thank you kindly.
FB
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 10:25 AM
Excellent track my dear Babies! The dynamics are spot on, the guitar sufficiently edgy to create drama but not at all overpowering in the mix. Super use of the samples. Bravo!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 10:51 AM
Many thanks Susan! I love the secret mixter. It pushes us into different territory and helps us to appreciate the other mixters all the more.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 12:30 PM
nice mix babies. i really love the treatment/varispeed of audiotechnica’s piano. this track makes me want to sing!!!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 12:40 PM
You could remix it to include your lovely voice. Thanks for the review, snowflake!
spinmeister
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 12:57 PM
the babies turned up to 11 jamming with AT. What a totally winning combination. Love the live drums!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 1:12 PM
Thank you sir! I had fun with it. Everything pretty much fell into place without much effort. Very pleased you can dig it.
AT
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 6:07 PM
Man this is just crazy—-I love this—-so unexpected. Love your guitars and drums with the bell track and the way you treated the piano is just brilliant. There were a few apocalypse now moments in there towards the end. Secret mixter is great for this kind of stuff—very well played by the babies
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 8:08 PM
Thank you very much AT! I’m relieved that you like it. I really enjoyed working with your samples. Keep ‘em coming!
FB
 
.
permalink   AT Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 6:26 AM
honestly feeling pissed off cos your not here anymore—-thanks for the time that you were.—wherever you are
Southbound Cinema
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 9:57 PM
Gorgeous. The opening reminds me of “To Live and Die in LA,” for some reason. Then it goes somewhere completely different. Inspiring.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 5:24 PM
Glad you approve. Many thanks!
Scomber
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 1:46 PM
You have really opened yourself up on this one Joe. Just as it gets predictable (which is good) it gets unpredictable (which is great).
The straight part could form the bones of an incredible pop song.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 5:28 PM
Maybe someone with a pop sensibility will chop-out the weirdness, and make something of it. Thanks for reviewing Scomber!
onlymeith
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 4:01 PM
Hey FB my “Crimsonian brother”, excellent remix full of great music ( prog, free jazz, pop…….). The drums are superb for me. Congrats.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 5:31 PM
Crimsonian brother… I like that :) Pleased you appreciate the drums. I’m no Michael Giles or Bill Bruford; But I do what I can. Thanks for checking this out!
jacindae
.
permalink   Wed, Jun 23, 2010 @ 5:30 PM
I think this is my favorite thing you’ve ever done. Absolutely incredible, and it’s going on my personal playlist.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Fri, Jun 25, 2010 @ 9:11 PM
Kick-Buttocks! Very pleased you can dig.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 24, 2010 @ 2:44 PM
Great musical journey, FB. I know some drummers who would appreciate the lead snare!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Fri, Jun 25, 2010 @ 9:13 PM
Thank you very much! The lead snare??? You’ve lost me there ;)
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sat, Jun 26, 2010 @ 4:30 PM
The snare in your remix is quite audible hence the “lead snare” humor. Pay no attention to my cryptic humor.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Jul 1, 2010 @ 4:13 PM
Hahaha…. I get it now ;)
simonlittlefield
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 29, 2010 @ 1:24 AM
This is great. It doesn’t sound like a remix - sounds like it’s being jammed live in the studio. Progtastic!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Jul 1, 2010 @ 4:12 PM
Gee…. Thanks, Simon!