Temperate Transitions Secret Mixter
skip
Home » People » Doghouse Riley » Everything » Reviews

Reviews for "Everything"

Everything
by Doghouse Riley
Recommends (23)
Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 10:53 AM

Uses samples from:

 
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 11:15 AM
Could have ended with my review after 23 seconds, but still wanted to listen to the rest of it. If there is a true follower of Phil Spector, it could be for sure Doghouse Riley fo ma thankin.
There seem to be two sort of producers: DR and those who canĀ“t reach him! ;-)
Love always the humour and profesionality that you combine in your tracks!
 
.
permalink   Doghouse Riley Tue, May 20, 2008 @ 7:08 AM
Thanks joe, ol pal. I appreeeeeciate it.
 
.
permalink   dripmanila Mon, Jan 19, 2009 @ 11:49 PM
Doghouse Riley! Thanks for remixing this! :)
 
.
permalink   Doghouse Riley Tue, Jan 20, 2009 @ 8:03 AM
It was an honor to reinvent yor ol song there, Drip. Glad ya liked it.

Doghouse
spinmeister
.
permalink   Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 12:00 PM
more wickedness from the pound! :-)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 9:52 PM
ok - finally I have a couple of extra minutes to write a few more words:

My first reaction was just this really big grin, because if this music can’t put a happy smile on your face, you’re having a really bad day. Of course my previous comment about wickedness is based on the chasm between the emotion of the lyrics and the emotion of this remix And your note about PS illustrating the chasm that can exist between the music and the man (he’s not the only one either!) serves as an almost eerie parallel to your remix. And that ends up triggering kind of deep questions below the smile. A little like an old Woody Allen movie - lots of laughs while watching and then the deep thoughts sneak up on you. If that’s not wicked, what is?

On an a technical level, the period/genre homage is just striking - the attention to detail from the harmonies to the horns, from the piano to the drums. So professional, yet so playful. How do you do it?
 
.
permalink   Doghouse Riley Tue, May 20, 2008 @ 6:58 AM
Wail, I tell ya Spin, it’s a dang mystery. But ifn ya don’t have a sense of humor in this ratty-assed ol world in which we live I don’t see how you ain’t either curled up in a corner naked and suckin yor own thumb or out rapin and pillagin like all them other assholes are. But, listen, It would be a damn site better for most a my ol magnum opuses ifn I’d just wait a day or two before I put em up as I could mix em about leventy jillion times better. But I always end up just makin em, mixin em and postin em all at once so’s my ears is done give out about the time I upload em. Anywhoo, thanks for yor kind words as always.
Lasswell
.
permalink   Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 12:01 PM
Yes, it sure as hell feels like it’s 1967! Great job on orchestration and creating that vintage vibe. Love the horns…and that baritone sax! Mega Woof!
 
.
permalink   Doghouse Riley Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 4:29 PM
thanks cam, ol pal. from you a positive comment on my ol orchestration is about as high a praise as a feller could git.
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 3:56 PM
get out the white go go boots, go down town and yell at the H & R Block lady for the audit letter you got in the mail- everything is so taxing- but nice little Ronettey re mix here- Mick Ronson has nothing on you.
 
.
permalink   Doghouse Riley Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 4:38 PM
apparently you ain’t seen them pictures a me, David Bowie, them two girl scouts and that shetland pony in the hot tub in Berlin that Mick carries around in his wallet, have ya? Wail, good. Let’s keep it thata way.
duckett
.
permalink   Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 4:15 PM

Whooo YEAH I’m lovin’ this!! The Funk Brothers vibe fo sho! You just need a reverby tambourine and some electric sitar to make the picture complete. Damn, did this put a big stupid grin on my face :D
 
.
permalink   Doghouse Riley Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 4:31 PM
Damn, I knew I’d forgotten somethin…yea, I shoulda used a sitar on the openin instead a my tele.
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 5:36 PM
I think Fender still sells cheap Coral knockoffs under the Rogue name :P
 
.
permalink   Doghouse Riley Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 7:05 PM
Cheap Coral knock-offs!! What-you-talkin-bout-Willis!! I got a dang original.
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 8:55 PM
(grumbling to himself) Hmmph! Mr. “Hi, I Got My Own Studio”, all them cool toys…
Mutter, mumble, rant, and so forth.
Give me a few years (and some serious cash-flow increase) to catch up with yer exalted state o’ mind, willya? Sheesh. I got some damp twigs, and a foggy clue as to how rubbing them together might eventually get me some fire; I DREAM of some of that dried moss you lofty folks seem to know so much about :D
 
.
permalink   Doghouse Riley Tue, May 20, 2008 @ 7:05 AM
Hell duckett, ol pal, I bet yor ol studio ain’t too far off from mine. I just have had a little more time ta be collectin them damn guitars and such. Although I’ll tell ya, you can only play one at a time and most of em just lie around gatherin dust. I guess I coulda collected little figurines or painted saws or somethin but it wouldn’t be near as much fun. And there’s a bunch I’d gladly trade back to be about twenty years younger again and have nothin but my wit and grit ta get me by. So enjoy it while ya can, ol pal. I envy ya. Honest.
Songboy3
.
permalink   Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 4:51 PM
Nice…VERY nice! I like everything about this! I swear I keep waiting for Smokey to jump in somewhere on harmony or something!!! And the illest thing of all is how it sounds retro & contemporary at the same time. Too
Sexy!!!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 6:10 PM
Is this your Larry Levine tribute?

If so I’m sure he’d be dancing in the aisles to this one!
 
.
permalink   Doghouse Riley Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 7:10 PM
Wail, yea you know it actually was Larry that was responsible for Phil’s wacky notions afterall. So I guess yor right RT, I mean Phil bein a looney an all. Larry is who I shoulda doffed my hat to. Ceptin, a course, I don’t wear one in real life.
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Tue, May 20, 2008 @ 4:19 AM
What the hell just happend….
Is this for real?:D
Do you do seminars to?
Bad ass DR
J.Lang
.
permalink   Tue, May 20, 2008 @ 7:07 AM
Sugar pie honey bunch…( me singing )…..yeah this is hot….!!!!! Motown, 60s and new school…..Very well done DHR.
essesq
.
permalink   Tue, May 20, 2008 @ 2:06 PM
Oh yea, that’s gro-o-o-vy… Course I’m too young to really remember the sixties (and no it wasn’t the drugs) but had I been listening to music back then I would have liked music like this, because I do now.

Not bad for a dog ;-)….
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Tue, May 20, 2008 @ 11:46 PM
hell yes. wall of sound indeed.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Wed, May 21, 2008 @ 10:35 AM
Have you heard of Northern Soul ?

Ime not tellin you about it, i will just throw some talcum down and let you work out what it all means.
:-)
 
.
permalink   Doghouse Riley Wed, May 21, 2008 @ 10:42 AM
First, no I ain’t. Second, I shore hope you mean ya threw it down in yor pants or somethin and not down yor gullet.
 
.
permalink   Doghouse Riley Wed, May 21, 2008 @ 11:05 AM
Now there you go agin, Doghouse, lyin through yor teeth. I know, I know, Doghouse but I just like teasin ol LS so much I sometimes just lose all perspective. Wail, you know good-n-well that you used ta be down at the Twisted Wheel over in Manchester most nights a the week…that is when ya wadn’t over at The Mojo in Sheffield. Oh hell, I know, Doghouse but don’t ya dare call me no scooterboy or nothin. Maybe I will and maybe I won’t. Or will ya?
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, May 26, 2008 @ 11:17 PM
don’t drive that scooter over the edge of the cliff, will ya? I only remix in 2 channels :-)
S_J_Rogers
.
permalink   Fri, May 30, 2008 @ 2:44 AM
Very Nice.

Really makes me wish i could make music.

Good Job.
The.Spirit.Of.Light
.
permalink   Fri, May 30, 2008 @ 8:21 PM