Waiting Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "The Adventure of Sue and Mo (Man of the North Mix)"

timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 11:40 AM
Dear Girls,

Here’s one man of the north. I met another man of the north, the other musical source provider, Colab in a hotel lobby in Stockholm this summer for a couple of beers, he’s a very nice guy. If you had been there, there would have been a group of two men and two women. We could have been….ABBA! For me this resembles ABBA as they would have sounded in 2009. Your lovely harmonies in the verses are so much ABBA. This is a big compliment. Not everyone is aware of how complex and accomplished their harmonies and music really was and your harmony singing on this track is really outstanding. This is so beautiful, the Scandinavian melancholy is there, the harmonies, as mentioned are divine. Hmmm..don’t know how to end this praise. I’ll do it by just stating that you two are fabulous.
 
.
permalink   timberman Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 11:55 AM
Uhhh…just read the Blog. So you were the two nameless beauties.
What does the shirt look like, Sue?
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 12:03 PM
Per, I’m so thrilled you like it. If only Sue and I had been there that summer’s night in Stockholm… The beautiful harmonies are all Susan’s doing. She’s an angel. And so are you.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 11:55 AM
Mo! So glad we got each other’s back. Those men from the north…well, if it weren’t for your quick thinking and ability to find just the right sounds to put together and to ease out the right words…not to mention your incredibly clear voice that rings like a splendid chime over the tops of the Swedish pines and over the glaze of the frozen fjords…I’m just so glad we got together for this ride. But I think it’s about time we venture south, to some warmer clime…what do you say?
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 12:05 PM
As I’ve said above to Per, you sing like and angel - because you are an angel! Let’s go south, as you say, and check out the wine and music. xxxx
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 7:20 PM
yep, friggin’ knuts (Colab’s spelling, and he should know!) you are - both of you! The blog accompanying your musical adventure is a must read! A great trip all around!
panu
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 12:13 PM
this is the only track i’ve hit the recc button on before listening…
i just knew it would be stunning. your voices are perfect together, like one voice w/ two accents. and, kudos for pulling the contributions of Per & Colab together as you did.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 12:17 PM
Thank you, Panu. But you know, I had some very valuable help on this! xxxx
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 1:01 PM
Hahaha - read the blog entry after listening to the track. The two of you are individually and collectively nuts. Or maybe “knuts”, to sound vaguely more Scandinavian about it. :)

This is absolutely terrific - both the concept of the two parts and how you ended up pulling it together. Very very good.

The vocals in the two parts are very, very good - but for the instrumentals I greatly prefer Per’s section as it doesn’t get in the way of the vocals the same way my piano does.

Having said that - I’m very pleased to have had an indirect part to play in this. Terrific work - both of you.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 2:22 PM
Ohhh… I don’t think your piano gets in the way - I love the contrasts. I’m not a good mixer but at least I had great material to work with. xxxx
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 5:07 PM
A delightful song because it’s not bounded into this genre or that genre,but instead is a sweeping slice of a different way of living life.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Wed, Oct 28, 2009 @ 3:09 PM
Thank you for coming by to listen and I’m so pleased you enjoyed it. A lovely review. xxxx
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 5:38 PM
This is glorious, scary ice princess glorious. We have just painted out living room floor a silver blue, and I want this to be the room’s soundtrack.This is winter and drowning. Love.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Wed, Oct 28, 2009 @ 3:12 PM
Kaer, this is the most magical and touching review and what a wonderful thing to paint your floor the colour of a moonlight path across the sea. Your imagination is unique and boundless. xxxx
Anchor
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 26, 2009 @ 3:57 AM
Per has a way of bringing out our deeper reflective spirits…doesn’t he? The lyrics to this are simply divine…the duet is splendid - an unexpected and delightful pleasure to hear Ciggi & Sackjo interpret this contemporary Art-song.
Lauds to All involved!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Wed, Oct 28, 2009 @ 3:17 PM
Thank you, Anchor. I am very lucky to have top notch collaborators on this one (the beautiful lyrics are Sue’s, of course). I am hugely pleased that you enjoyed our icy adventure! xxxxxx
Tenny
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 26, 2009 @ 5:10 AM
OK I’m now mid-listen (for my fourth time listening). This is just simply divine! Your voices are so breathtakingly beautiful..

 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Wed, Oct 28, 2009 @ 3:18 PM
Well you’re simply divine yourself, Tenny, for leaving such a fabulous review. Thank you. xxxx
HEJ31
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 26, 2009 @ 1:46 PM
There is great word painting here. I’m no expert on the Nordic Aboriginal music, but you’ve really created that sound for me (someone closer to the equator). Like the sense of rhythmic displacement when the drums first come in. It is a very good SONG.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Wed, Oct 28, 2009 @ 3:20 PM
Thank you so much, HEJ. Why don’t you hop into the back seat and come race with us through the snow. Start an avalanche with that guitar of yours. You know you can! xxxx
 
.
permalink   HEJ31 Wed, Oct 28, 2009 @ 5:12 PM
You’d better check with your travel partner before extending any invitations.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 29, 2009 @ 9:11 PM
Ciggi and SackJo and another Fine Job.

Love Colab’s piano.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Oct 30, 2009 @ 12:16 PM
Thank you, Mr Lang. Sue and I love Colab’s piano and we love you too!! xxxx
VickyDan
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 30, 2009 @ 2:41 AM
What more, what is above?
Close your eyes, just listen and take off for a wonderful trip….
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Oct 30, 2009 @ 12:17 PM
A beautiful, romantic review. Thank you so much, Vicky. xxxx
essesq
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 7:04 PM
Wow ladies that is epic…Ya gotta love those Northern boys, they know how to keep a girl warm at night :-).

Great work all around. A very dramatic piece.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Nov 6, 2009 @ 1:56 AM
Thank you, Ess. Come along with us for a while. We always have room for another fine lady! xxxx
Niemandsland
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 6, 2009 @ 7:48 AM
Oh that’s beautiful float. I want to touch it - take my hand back - fear breaking it. This is the happiest song I know of you. The bow has a white beard and a few flowers words … warmly J├╝rgen
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Nov 6, 2009 @ 7:53 AM
Jurgen, you write the most touching reviews. Your warmth and sweetness are in all your words. Thank you. xxxx
El.ector
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 28, 2010 @ 4:49 PM
uff.. this is impressive.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Mon, Mar 29, 2010 @ 12:10 AM
Thank you. Lovely to get another review for this one out of the blue! It’s much appreciated. xxxx