Temperate Transitions Secret Mixter
skip
Home » People » Carosone » Get It Right » Reviews

Reviews for "Get It Right"

Get It Right
by Carosone
Recommends (26)
Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 11:40 AM

Samples are used in:

 
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 12:36 PM
Wow.

This is lovely. What an excellent use of source samples. The production and build-up is absolutely terrific.

I like this very, very much.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 2:25 PM
Thanks, colab, you often come first. You also did a good track today. Cheers
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 1:05 PM
i’m so honored to be part of this mix….sandwiched with you and Aamu! truly lovely work.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 2:27 PM
I saw your name in the recent reviewers column and I secretly hoped you stopped by: your feedback is important because you must have heard a number of remixes to this pella of yours..
Anchor
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 1:23 PM
You know how I appreciate your offerings Carosone -
this one too has your signature attention to details and good production. Enjoyed the secret-mix you’ve here presented.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 2:32 PM
Thanks, this is a bare remix, I mean I usually put some musical ideas into the pot, while here I only played with a lot of samples. There’s a huge difference. It takes a month to me to write a new song and complete it, while it took two days to have a whole sketch of this one. So I could spend some evenings in the production. You’re too good at calling it a signature. I am glad of your review, but it’s not always been so..
ciao
Aamu
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 2:53 PM
Very much like my general approach to my remix sources: twist something new out of it. I wouldn’t have done this, yet I feel proud to have done something to enable this.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 12:32 PM
I guessed it’s not your genre, but this is all about ccmixter: take something and bring it somewhere else, where the author would have never expected.
 
.
permalink   Aamu Tue, Jun 22, 2010 @ 1:00 AM
Quote: CarosoneI guessed it’s not your genre, but this is all about ccmixter: take something and bring it somewhere else, where the author would have never expected.
Totally agree. That’s my main reason to participate to Secret Mixter. You mostly mix sources you might not have found otherwise, and you learn about how others hear you.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 3:26 PM
Fabulous use of the samples — all of them. And I agree with Anchor. You have a sound that is quite distinctive with an appreciation for melody, feel and structure. Bravo!
 
.
permalink   Carosone Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 2:38 PM
Thanks a lot, S., it’s so tender when we support each other!
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 8:19 AM
Nice build-up to the track. Oh yeah, agree with your comment in the “how I did it” section about specifying the key. Some would say trying to figure out the key is half the fun, LOL.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 2:40 PM
Well, I confess I had actually much fun playing piano along with the acappellas. Finding the right bpm is much more tedious!!
urmymuse
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 12:19 PM
Hi Carosone, This makes me feel calm, a little … not sad, but serious and a bit hopeful. Which for me is a good feeling.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 2:43 PM
Thanks for stopping by, urmymuse, it’s always beautiful to find new thumbs up!
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 1:12 PM
The pads, the voice effects, the reverb used on snowflake’s voice (and her voice itself) all make for a very rich and emotional song. “Can we get it right?” is in essence an emotional question, and your remix asks that question emotionally.

Well done.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 2:50 PM
Voices are superb here, but we don’t discover them in this remix! I found them by chance, the original pad was G minor and looked for ccmixter pellas in G minor. Sooner or later is a fantastic pella by itself, I would have never expected it could serve as a backing effect to the Apologize pella. Both vocals are rich in emotions. The pads started from Aamu’s synth strings, where I added sampled real strings and a cello.
onlymeith
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 3:06 PM
Yes, a wonderfull and emotional remix. Excellent sound textures and calm to be developing the music.I like.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Tue, Jun 22, 2010 @ 10:56 AM
We should give credit to Aamu for the sound textures. He does experimental music, sometimes hard to follow in its wholeness; while me, when I have time, I try and put some melody and pop in the surface, while strange things happen in the shadow. This is my aesthetics, this is why Aamu was a gem for me to find.
copperhead
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 22, 2010 @ 10:41 AM
What a terrific remix Carosone! I am on my third listen and I am mesmerized by this. Just a beautiful piece! On my 4th listen now lol. I actually find it harder to peruse around and just make a remix strictly on samples here. If I didn’t know better I would say you and snowflake sat down and wrote this together. I agree with the key too and I usually put it in with my stems :)

Oh and fantastic samples from Aamu too :)
 
.
permalink   Carosone Tue, Jun 22, 2010 @ 11:00 AM
What a joy this review is for me, as well as your face in the avatar image!! Thanks, you too are doing beautiful things in this place!
 
.
permalink   copperhead Tue, Jun 22, 2010 @ 3:02 PM
This should be an Ed pick too! It just wouldn’t leave my head lol
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 26, 2010 @ 9:57 PM
Absolutely fabulous, C