Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » Help » Simple question

Simple question

Sundanse Kidd
permalink   Fri, Apr 15, 2005 @ 8:59 AM
I am a hip hop producer who samples from records. My question is, will my beats which contain uncleared samples be eligible for this site or contests running on this site….specifically the ODB contest?
victor
permalink   Fri, Apr 15, 2005 @ 9:01 AM
Nope. Sorry.
Sundanse Kidd
permalink   Fri, Apr 15, 2005 @ 10:14 AM
This is ridiculous!! Who had the brilliant idea to have a HIP HOP remix contest on a site that won’t allow sampled beats?? Not to mention the fact that, the artist(ODB) is from a group who mainly use samples for their tunes. I am thoroughly dissappointed. This contest is a disrespect to the man’s memory. Shame on RZA……
admin
permalink   Fri, Apr 15, 2005 @ 10:24 AM
The current criminalization of sample artistry is rediculous.

That’s why by putting more work into the Commons is so important.

Having a hip hop remix contest that sheds light on this issue and at the same time puts all the more music into the Commons may not be brilliant but it’s one way to change the way things work.

Some folks might thank RZA and everybody responsible for putting this work into the Commons so that the rest of us can legally sample it. Some folks.

Peace,
Victor
Sundanse Kidd
permalink   Fri, Apr 15, 2005 @ 1:34 PM
Thanks for the response. That is a valid point. however i am concerned about a few things. First of all, does this site offer any benefit to an artist that wants to sell his/her work commercially? Secondly, from a hiphop perspective, wouldn’t everybody accessing the same sampling material hinder creativity and originality?
teru
permalink   Fri, Apr 15, 2005 @ 2:56 PM
Hey if you’ve got a sec. check out my site. Plug.

http://cyberbusker.net/

Two really lame answers to your questions. But you have to start somewhere right? : )
admin
permalink   Fri, Apr 15, 2005 @ 4:34 PM