Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » The Big OT » Computer Replacement Recommendations

Computer Replacement Recommendations

essesq
permalink   Mon, Nov 12, 2018 @ 9:05 AM
Hello ccMixter Community,

It is coming time for me to replace my 2009 (yes you read that right) MacBook Pro. I want to replace it before it dies. I also want to replace it because I can’t do music on it anymore. I was using Garageband and it now refuses to play back more than 4 tracks.

I came onboard here with a Gateway PC running Windows XP and using an entry level version of Cubase. I like holding onto tech as long as I can, but I understand that as time marches on hardware is getting shorter and shorter lived.

It is important to me to have onboard storage as I am an attorney and like to keep my client materials locally rather than cloud stored. I considered leaving the Apple universe but realize that if I want to keep my hobby of audio production I will then have to buy software, because I doubt anyone’s giving it away anymore. My price point all-in is about $1500. My screen now is a 17” and I doubt I could go smaller. I have a 2017 iPad for portability. My Macbook is stationary for safety reasons as the glass and the backing have been slowly separating due to failing glue. It also sits on a cooling base.

The base model iMac has a slower processor than I have with twice the memory. I think to replace and stay relevant my next machine needs to increase processor speed and go from 4 -16 gigs on the memory, with owner add ability.

So… I’m wondering…what does the PC based hobbyist music production landscape look like? Apple people….what do you think? I want to make a purchase before mid December… All input appreciated.

Thanks everyone. Hope to rejoin you all soon….
martinsea
permalink   Tue, Nov 13, 2018 @ 12:30 PM