Create a Track with the New Songbirds Lyric Library at MixterPlus
skip
Home » Forums » Announcements » If you find someone infringing on your CC license

If you find someone infringing on your CC license

Admiral Bob
permalink   Tue, Jul 19, 2011 @ 5:53 AM
CCMixter is all about freedom to share. However, the extent of those freedoms has always been up to you. You are free to choose: whether your music can be freely used in commercial or non-commercial settings.

Anyone who uses your music in a way that goes beyond the CC license has infringed your copyright. In some cases, it is an honest mistake. Increasingly, we are finding instances where it is not.

Because Creative Commons licenses are not just compatible with copyright, but depend on them, US copyright law gives you tools to easily notify someone who is infringing on your rights, and you do not need to be an American to take advantage of that, if the infringer is American.

Now bearing in mind that I am not a lawyer, US law permits you, the copyright holder, to issue what is called a DMCA Claim. Basically, this is a signed letter where you identify the song that infringes your rights, and ask them to take it down. An electronic signature is valid, but Google services generally require a physical signature – so be sure to scan your signature and use that (or take a picture of it with your iPhone and crop it in Photoshop.) You will want to send the notice not only to the infringing site, but if they’re being hosted on or are using some form of communal hosting (like Blogger, Youtube, or Wordpress), send them a copy as well.

Your note could go something like the following.

SUBJECT: NOTICE OF COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT

Dear Sir or Madam,

I am writing you concerning copyrighted materials posted at (specific location), titled (title.) I am the author and copyright holder to this work. You can find the original audio recording at the URL below:

http://ccmixter.org/content...