Deep Roots Remix Event
skip
Home » People » gurdonark » Recuerdo » Reviews

Reviews for "Recuerdo"

Recuerdo
by gurdonark
Recommends (3)
Sat, Dec 15, 2007 @ 5:33 PM

Samples are used in:

 
oldDog
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 16, 2007 @ 3:56 AM
Just beautiful. I love Millay’s poetry, and your music is a perfect match to her ‘art that hides art’.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Dec 16, 2007 @ 2:37 PM
I’ve really grown fond of Millay’s lyric poems over the past few years. Thanks for your kind words.
calendargirl
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 20, 2007 @ 12:31 AM
This is SO GOOD. I have been very tired and very merry recently and when I first listened to this I burst into tears! There’s something about this poem that reminds me of Frank O’Hara. Do you know his poem ‘Having A Coke With You’ ? Hugs from CGx
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, Dec 20, 2007 @ 2:56 AM
Thanks very much, and in particular thanks very much for the mention of “having a coke with you”, one of O’Hara’s poems I did not know (but should).

I found this site with sound clips in which O’Hara reads the poem, as well as several other of his works.

http://www.ubu.com/sound/oh...

In this remix, I was trying to sort out how to voice the synth melody. All my usual suspects—a wave file of a nose whistle, a snippet of a coagula light rendering of a photograph of a Canadian friend—were not sounding right. Then I recalled that “ooo, ooo” section of “March”, and found it would make a fun, breathy voice for the song.

Peter Yearsley had mentioned this reading to me when I asked him about others of his that he enjoyed. Now that I think about it,
although his very English voice is different from Millay’s accent, there is something appropriate about a New York/UK connection in the reading of this particular poem.

Thanks again for your kindness—and of course for the sample!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 8, 2009 @ 6:58 PM
Mixter Jobobarikan made a fun flash animation of the little Millay poem I set to a melody sampled from your March. I thought you might enjoy it, and so refer you here:

http://jobobarikan.devianta...

I love the way that one thing leads to another and to another, and another, as we all sample together.
Shaelibri
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 1, 2008 @ 11:40 AM
Hi Gurdonark,
I’ve listened to a number of your uploads, and in general I find them quite challenging. They run to the abstract/experimental and my tastes are pretty simplistic. I like the samples you chose for this one, and the midi keys lend an interesting feeling of reflection and nostalgia. Which is appropos to the poem. I like!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Jan 2, 2008 @ 12:49 AM
Thank you for taking the time to listen and to write this review. I think I’m kind of an acquired taste, and it might be more fun if I were simpler in my approach. I know what you mean about simplistic taste—sometimes I like to think “how long would the Ramones make this song?”. thanks for the kind words about this song.
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 8, 2009 @ 6:48 PM
used this piece here-
http://jobobarikan.devianta...

jb
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 8, 2009 @ 6:51 PM
Thank you! and thank you for letting me know! I am off to watch now.