Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » People » Fireball » my first remix » Reviews

Reviews for "my first remix"

my first remix
by Fireball
Recommends (0)
Sat, Jun 17, 2006 @ 4:21 PM
 
shagrugge
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 18, 2006 @ 9:39 PM
don’t let the low rating phase you. Like sippy cup said keep making mixes.
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Sun, Jun 18, 2006 @ 10:17 PM
yeah, totally. it’s much better than a 1. it’s obvious you know some things about mixing. keep truckin dude. and like gurdo said, it’s not always about symmetry (or beats) or opinions even. i was just trying to offer some feedback.
§įǷǷƔ�?ʗʯǷ
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 17, 2006 @ 5:45 PM
when that bass kicked I had to turn my media player down I thought it was a car comeing down the street,,,yeah that’s nice. I didnt like the way the beat shifted and the vocal’s kicked in.!
I was hopeing for a strong guitar riff to kick in .It just seemed off alot to me! we’ll see what other’s have to say! just keep remix ing! later man!
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 18, 2006 @ 11:20 AM
since you say this is your first remix, i’ll offer some constructive criticism and you can tell me to shove it up my arse if you like….. :)

always try to line up your beats, whether it’s just a loop or a full length track. nothing will ruin a remix quicker than mismatched beats and tracks. it sounds like the drum track you use is at a different bpm than the vox and guitar tracks. the beginning of this is workable but when the drums come in, it really goes south. try to work with similar bpm tracks, or cut up the track and re-fit the beats by nudging them to line up if necessary. if that doesn’t work, then try something without beats at all. use drones and pads which can give dynamics and a sense of tempo without drawing too much attention.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 18, 2006 @ 12:34 PM
I like the guitar sound on this one. The segue after the guitar section into the percussion doesn’t work due to mismatch issues. I don’t mind asynchrony, but here it sounds less a choice than a by-product. I agree with the earlier comment that a choice of things with the same bpm will help with this—you can do the “advanced search” to help with this if you can’t easily morph bpm on your own.

The early sections of this one
far surpass the later section, largely for this reason.
JimmyH
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 18, 2006 @ 8:34 PM
listened and read some other reviews, and I’d have to agree with them. nothing can ruin a mix more than unmatched beats/timing. What did you use to create your remix? other than that, the use of samples is good, I could picture them sitting ok together if they were all quantised and were playing at the same bpm.
victor
.
permalink   Wed, Jun 21, 2006 @ 3:54 PM
or maybe it’s ok to let the low ratings phase you — that is: inspire you to take some of the excellent critiques here to heart because they seem right on to me.