Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » The Big OT » a survey on ccMixter_the benefits of open sharing and collaboration

a survey on ccMixter_the benefits of open sharing and collaboration

laurawr
permalink   Tue, Oct 5, 2010 @ 3:20 AM
Dear ccMixters,
I am Rong, who invited you guys to a survey in July. Based on some feedback collected here, Dr. Cheliotis and I managed to update our survey questionnaire, which is totally anonymous now. At the same time, in order to get the social network data we need for our research project and make the whole survey more in-depth, several new items are added in this version, which make the survey a bit longer but still manageable (and more interesting in some way). Here is the new link: http://www.surveymonkey.com...

Just in case that some of you haven’t read the previous posting, here is some information about our project on free culture and open sharing. I am a graduate student from the Communications and New Media Programme at National University of Singapore. This project I am working with my advisor Dr. Cheliotis focuses on online communities that are passionate about music production. It aims to examine how people collaborate online, why they are willing to make contributions, and what benefits they derive from their participation and from interacting with peers in the community.

As a respected online music production community and a prominent early adopter of CC licenses, ccMixter makes a perfect exemplar for us to do the case study. This survey has several sessions, such as your use intensity of ccMixter, motives for your participation, social benefits you are gaining here, how you perceive your relationship with other members, factors influencing remixing and being remixed, and lastly how you perceive your own efficacy and the community’s efficacy in terms of producing music.