Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » DIY » Slowly Catching Up

Slowly Catching Up

duckett
permalink   Mon, Apr 21, 2008 @ 6:34 PM
Well, as some of you who may have perused my gear list (or have a sharp ear and a good memory) might know, I’ve been stuck in fairly unsophisticated multitracking software-land for a while. While I still need to get some decent monitors, my budget just now allowed me to upgrade from ACID Music Studio 5.0 to ACID Pro 6… “Holy difference in ease of workflow, Batman!”

Just from a trial remix I started playing with, the funtabulous joy of discovering things which I’m sure most of you take for granted (like having VSTs available crash-free within the program, or recording live pan envelope manipulation, etc.) is more than worth the $ spent- and the best part was, it didn’t demand I get the latest and greatest CPU/soundcard/etc. My PC isn’t a “dedicated” machine, or any kind of a hotrod, so that factor’s important to me.

Be patient as I learn the nooks and crannies of my (to me) shiny new toy, and hopefully come up with some remixes with a lower “groan” factor ;-)

What’s the point of posting this? If you’ve been debating whether or not to upgrade- by all means, do your homework, don’t get caught up in any hype… but don’t be afraid to take a chance, if it won’t bankrupt you- you might just be pleasantly surprised!
John Pazdan
permalink   Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 5:14 AM
completely agree, Mr D. Over the years, I have come to like Acid more than any of the other big boys, including protools and logic..and switching back to the PC of the People, using what would be considered in tech circles as an underpowered laptop..has saved me time and money as well.

now..if Acid ran on Linux..wouldn’t that be a time… also, if they could figure out how to get the midi functions working as well as an atari in 1986..umm, I would appreciate it as well.

permalink   duckett Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 5:39 AM