Momentum Secret Mixter Signups
skip
Home » People » urmymuse » velveteen » Reviews

Reviews for "velveteen"

velveteen
by urmymuse
Recommends (28)
Sun, Oct 30, 2011 @ 11:46 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 30, 2011 @ 12:48 PM
Very different treatment! I like it! There’s this 70s groovy-ness to it. There were just a few notes that seem a bit ‘off’ but when I listened to it the second time, the track seem to have grown on me. Not really a bother, so I thought I might have been niggling. If it were me, I might spend a bit more time quantizing some parts to have a smoother delivery. Maybe tweak the EQ, experiment with panning to give instrument and vocal layers more room to strut their stuff. Just my 2-cents (then again, maybe this mix just adds to the whole 70s feel).
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Mon, Oct 31, 2011 @ 12:18 PM
Cheers Ivan, glad you like. It was having a bit of a relisten to the track from the Twilight album that brought me to the vocal,Great track btw!. I did this super fast so there are some rough edges but thought had some good energy as it was plus I am away from my squire strat during the week nowadays so was on a bit of deadline to publish.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Oct 31, 2011 @ 7:46 PM
Woo hoo! You got EdPicked! :)
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Tue, Nov 1, 2011 @ 5:14 PM
Cheers Ivan !
Wired Ant
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 30, 2011 @ 1:29 PM
Really fun fun and a great time wharp to the 70ies (my head and feet nodding to the rhythm)!
I would recommend to try some of Ivans advices to give a bit more polish on the track - it is really really worth the efforts!
Again: great music and guitars
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Mon, Oct 31, 2011 @ 12:19 PM
Cheers - Glad you liked
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 30, 2011 @ 10:58 PM
Sometimes I like it raw. (ed picked!)
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Mon, Oct 31, 2011 @ 12:21 PM
Cheers Susan! Glad you like. Ta for the ed pick you have made my Monday (and next Monday as well LOL)
Hans Atom
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 31, 2011 @ 2:22 AM
A beautiful and intelligent composition! Great work!
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Mon, Oct 31, 2011 @ 12:21 PM
Thanks Hans glad you like.
CSoul
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 31, 2011 @ 4:31 AM
I dreamed The Cure playing with Alvin Lee
and Grace Slick singing.Classy Job ,congrats my friend.
peace
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Mon, Oct 31, 2011 @ 12:27 PM
Cheers CSoul. Yeah this is something of a fusion across the decades / styles. I had big fun doing it. Thanks for your support and glad you like.
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 31, 2011 @ 2:16 PM
good work!
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Tue, Nov 1, 2011 @ 5:15 PM
Thanks!
colab
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 31, 2011 @ 6:50 PM
Great choice of vocals. Love the backing for this.

Though I find myself wondering what it would sound like if the vocals were extremely dry (maybe even a radio effect) against the lush backing.

That said - I very much like this. Nicely done.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Tue, Nov 1, 2011 @ 5:20 PM
Cheers Colab glad you like. As it happens I had the vocals dry for most of the process but as one my final (not very many) tweaks i added a nice bit of reverb. I had been relistening to some of the primitives the day b4 - this had brought back to me just how much reverb there was back in the good ole days.
duckett
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 31, 2011 @ 7:12 PM
I can understand why folks love this- catchy like a Go-Go’s song, but with some dinge, flatter affect, and snarl to replace any too-bright chlorox sheen of plastic sunshine
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Tue, Nov 1, 2011 @ 5:21 PM
Cheers! glad you noticed the little bit of snarl.
TheDICE
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 31, 2011 @ 8:34 PM
sound so good
well done
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Tue, Nov 1, 2011 @ 5:22 PM
Cheers! glad you liked.
AT
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 1, 2011 @ 3:38 PM
love this—just my kind of thing—-always love this kind of vocal and guitar work—very Lush like, a band I very much liked. lovely brilliant stuff.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Tue, Nov 1, 2011 @ 5:26 PM
Cheers! Dont know why I like things so lush - I just do. Ta v much for listening and your review.
Scomber
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 1, 2011 @ 11:08 PM
Wow! Right down my alley….any chance of posting some stems? Those guitars just scream 70’s and drive with an irresistable urge. Cool!
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Nov 2, 2011 @ 2:51 PM
Cheers Scomber glad you like, I will upload the stems at the weekend - thanks again
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 5, 2011 @ 2:48 PM
Velvet Rock!
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sun, Nov 6, 2011 @ 3:07 PM
Quote: texasradiofishVelvet Rock!
Cheers man!