Join Us Under the Tree - Add Your Musical Gift
skip
Home » People » spinmeister » Tonight (Yes) » Reviews

Reviews for "Tonight (Yes)"

Tonight (Yes)
by spinmeister
Recommends (22)
Mon, May 18, 2009 @ 10:15 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 2:05 AM
Spinmeister plus oldDog plus SackJo22 equals beguiling romance times ten. This is a really captivating, uplifting mix and I love the little PS ‘yes’ at the end.
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 12:20 PM
no jealousy over the “other woman”. way to share your old Dog er old man. :)

back on point, this is great spin. very cool and effective mix.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Wed, May 20, 2009 @ 12:56 AM
Ooooh …. trying to stir up trouble are you, MCJIB?! I’ll be over there to give your legs a slap if you don’t watch out. My passport’s up to date …..
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 5:45 PM
Thanks CB! And you stayed until the end. I do love it when a woman does that! :-)
oldDog
.
permalink   Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 2:57 AM
This is as close to heaven as it gets for me - to be made to sound almost like a proper singer in such a catchy and fun mix, and (kind of) duetting with SackJo! I love the harmonies.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 5:55 PM
Thanks OD! I found your song to be one of those real gems which could work in a variety of genre’s.
Scomber
.
permalink   Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 3:25 AM
I know its been said before but YES! YES! YES! Great remix Spin
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 6:00 PM
Thanks Sc! I hope things are well down under and that there’s a bit of time for some yes saying in your life beyond a song a day!
 
.
permalink   Scomber Mon, Sep 7, 2009 @ 12:58 AM
So glad that you uploaded the stems for this one Spin. I found it lurking on my ipod the other day and looped it many times. I was 5 mins away from asking you for the stems and here it is !!!! :-)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Sep 7, 2009 @ 2:12 AM
Thanks! - I’ve started to undertake to upload some more stems for my past remixes, so the musical conversations can continue. :-)
 
.
permalink   Scomber Mon, Sep 7, 2009 @ 3:20 AM
One more CCM convention track (nearly done) and then I’ll upload the full sample pack from the series. Much better than talking to myself ;-/ Love this place
Thanks Spin
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 4:51 AM
A nice combination of old school funk with the more eclectic romance that you might expect from later period Roxy Music.

What’s incredible about that is that the source material in no way sounds remotely like its coming from that place! Bravo for an inventive redo.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 6:04 PM
Thanks AB! Yeah, it was a bit of a challenge to twist up the remarkable original. For a while I was even playing somewhere between paso doble and a james bond kind of thing, before arriving here. :-)
SackJo22
.
permalink   Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 7:34 AM
YES! Oh, I said that already. ;-)

Love this track — it hits my super groovy vintage chill bone in just the right spot. oldDog sounds fantastic, and I am honored to be mixed up in here.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 6:08 PM
Thanks for saying Yes, SJ! That upload of yours is a brilliant idea - and there are probably even a few more kinds of “yes” you could explore. Some of them even SFW. :-)
panu
.
permalink   Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 8:34 AM
so beautiful & listenable. i have SJ’s original pella loopin’ on my i-pod. and when the mean ol’ world tells me ‘no’, she always tells me… YES! (i love that about her.) coupled w/ oldDog’s maiden outing as singer/songwriter & your production prowess, i love this.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 6:10 PM
You’re telling me, PM! There’s not enough Yes in this world! And thanks for your kind review!
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Wed, May 20, 2009 @ 1:43 PM
No the most powerful word in a women’s vocabulary is No, coz it keeps you coming back in the hope it might be yes.

Unless the pubs are open of course. :-)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, May 20, 2009 @ 2:35 PM
lol! — some of us just walk away muttering to ourselves something like her not being that desirable anyway ;-)
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Wed, May 20, 2009 @ 2:59 PM
ironically , Not quite my local but i have been there :-)

http://www.ukpubfinder.com/...
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, May 20, 2009 @ 4:04 PM
brilliant! :=)
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, May 20, 2009 @ 8:02 PM
Here’s another good one, provided it’s not snowing :-)

http://tinyurl.com/onfomc
essesq
.
permalink   Wed, May 20, 2009 @ 6:48 PM
I took this mix under advisement for a few days (if you are not a lawyer, that is an expression judges use when they are not rendering an opinion immediately after a hearing). I’m glad I did because actually the idea for the right comment came to me tonight after another listen.

I’ve been following Herr Spinmeister for quite a while in his remixing journey and I’ve been praising him for getting away from his usual stuff but imho this mix brings him full circle back to who he is: quirky, inventive, subversive and possessed of many a toy and a plethora of skills :-).

I’ve been involved in a few discussions lately about why we bother with online remixing at all and this mix for me proves the point. We do it because it gives us a chance to figure out who we are and then to share a vision of ourselves with a broader audience made up of others taking the same plunge.

Nice work Sir, hope you don’t mind me taking the soapbox on your mix :-). A charming and beguiling mix.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, May 20, 2009 @ 7:53 PM
Thanks Ms. E! “subversive and possessed” are amongst the best compliments I’ve ever received. :-)
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, May 20, 2009 @ 8:00 PM
Maybe this is an entre into a new web service. I can summarize people’s personalities in two words or less :-).
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 1:06 PM
Spin, this has style from the first beat. I like the way you begin things in full flow, drums and all.

The stylish effects you lay across the groovishness (I just made that up I think) makes all the difference. The ‘yes’ blerts work wonders too.

Its funny, but in this setting, OldDog sounds like his day job is singing for Royksopp.

The fading and then bringing a short ending up works well.

A real pleasant mix, great to sit in the hammock and absorb the sounds.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 4:30 PM
“groovishness” - I like it, I think I’ll add that to my dictionary :-)

Thanks for your kind review SA!

And you also stayed till the end!
DCMsc
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 1, 2010 @ 7:03 PM
Nice work Spinmeister..:)..I love that strange sound at the beginning..Excuse if my english is bad..Im from Argentina..:)..the strange sound I think that is like a “acordeon”. I dont know how can i say “acordeon” in english :) .. and the drums sounds so clear..
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Feb 1, 2010 @ 7:16 PM
thanks for your kind review DCMsc! In english it’s also called “accordion”. But in this case that beginning sound was derived from a cello :-)

And welcome to ccMixter - it is always good to meet music makers from the home of the tango!
copperhead
.
permalink   Thu, May 13, 2010 @ 5:30 PM
This is really awesome! There’s so much music here to discover. Fantastic job on this !
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Thu, May 13, 2010 @ 6:35 PM
thanks for your kind words, CH! Cruising ccM’s back catalog can be like a day in the attic finding all kinds of cool old stuff!