Firefly Secret Mixter Remixes!
skip

Reviews for "Time To Go West"

Time To Go West
by spinmeister
Recommends (19)
Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 9:27 AM

Uses samples from:

 
essesq
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 9:40 AM
Nice…. Very expressive, really neat combination of sounds, great development. What can I say except, nice to have your music back up here, it just keeps getting better and better :-) (and maybe you were worried…..he he he :-) ).
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 11:56 AM
Thanks for your kind words, Ms. E! (just making sure there isn’t any gender conversation :-)

I’m still trying to shake the remixing rust while also incorporating a couple of new toys into the proceedings. But I was starting to suffer from real withdrawal symptoms (shaking, cold sweat) after a few weeks without my beloved remixing setup. When I started my remixing journey back in 2006, nobody warned me, it would be this addictive. Maybe VS should put a label on ccM: WARNING: REMIXING IS VERY ADDICTIVE! :-)
TheJoe
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 10:42 AM
So, it seems you build up first your studio in your new home!!?? ;-)
(By the way, I hope you already have settled down there in the very western country and you feel good there!)

It_s now the 5th time around listening and even if you have moved, you didn_t forgot to take your skills in remixing at your new place.

Lovely ending, piano and lovely synth theme_s in between (that could have been a bit louder for my taste as I assume this is still your obsession?) :-)

Happy holidays at your new home!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 12:01 PM
Vielen Dank, TJ! Yes, finally my new studio is getting ready. I don’t have everything set up yet for jamming with friends, but it may take a while to find jamming friends in my new home. But my remixing setup is all complete, and I’m a very happy guy!

And Frohe Weinachten to you, too!
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 10:44 AM
wow man, this is absolutely fantastic. original and it’s got a real hook to the arrangement. and the mix is really clean. excellent job!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 12:04 PM
Thanks for your kind words, MC JitB! Credit for the hookiness goes to State Shirt. That chorus will be spinning in my head for a while!
Scomber
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 1:15 PM
Love the native Indian warbles throughout the piece.
Beautifully restrained throughout.
State shirts hooks have been sharpened considerably and I think you are bound to catch plenty of trout in those chilly NW streams with this tackle.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 3:18 PM
Thanks for stopping by these here cold parts, Surfer S.!

I was temporarily tempted to go all tabernacle choir on this one, but with costs of gowns being what they are and all, …

And today some of our chilly streams are even freezing over, so patience will be the virtue of choice when fishing. On the other hand, it makes it easy to maintain appropriate temperature for one’s favorite beverage. :-)

Thanks for stopping by for a listen — very much appreciated! You can now return to your regularly scheduled surf!
 
.
permalink   Scomber Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 3:47 PM
My CCMixter uploads/presence have a precise negative correlation with the surf in Sydney (or a hundred miles Nth or Sth). With no swell, I quickly reach my upload quota; inversely when Huey stirs the cauldron I’m much too punch drunk and distracted to sit in front of the DAW. I’d love to invent a surfboard with an inbuilt wireless PC, a touch screen, midi keyboard and a big Sub to scare away curious fins. Surf CCMixter while I surf. I may be able to convince my dolphin friends to collaborate on a remix rather than dropping in and stealing my waves. It really annoys me that they are so much better at it than I am.
I’ve been looping your song all morning so my next effort may inadvertently sound suspiciously familiar. Thanks Spin’, happy holidays and crack a cold one for me.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 5:14 PM
I’d be deeply honored to play a tiny part in your musical inspiration. And a wireless, wave powered midi board on your surfboard may be an idea worth patenting :-) Bonus points for a microphone recording/using the sound of real waves as oscillators hooked up to a couple of lo and hi pass filters followed by an ADSR sction. Now that would be synth worth bragging about! And always remember: MIDI CC 7 = pump up the volume!

And a very happy holidays to you as well and may the waves be good to you and may the large pale fins with that ominous sounding double bass section stay far away from you!
oldDog
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 18, 2008 @ 1:24 AM
Very enjoyable and catchy. I like the whale sounds.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Thu, Dec 18, 2008 @ 4:51 PM
thanks OD! The whales are one of the defining natural features of my new home area. Majestic creatures and I hope they will survive to enrich our planet for along time to come.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 2:44 AM
I’m originally from Whales. Oops sorry I meant Wales! Like the music of Whales a Welsh male voice choir in full flow is a wonder to behold. Not just musically but also like the whale it moves the human spirit in a beautiful mystical way.

Similar words could be written about this piece so thank you for answering my earlier question as to where are your mixes with such a great piece.

The move appears to have gone very well!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 10:32 AM
Thanks for your kind words, RT!

One of my earliest childhood memories is about a visit to Wales. And what has stuck with me as the single most memorable thing has been the amazing singing I heard during that visit with an entire large church congregation harmonizing every hymn as if they were a rehearsed professional caliber choir. That memory still sends shivers down my spine and it may at least partially explain my lifelong infatuation with harmony vocals.

And the whales are singing in their own way, communicating at subsonic frequencies over long distances - and they did that a long time before us humans ever built this also miraculous series of tubes which allows us to exchange our songs over long distances, too. :-)
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 22, 2008 @ 12:14 PM
OK so Safari is giving me jip when it comes to streaming your mix. So I’m reviewing based on the first 20 seconds only (strange I know). From what i hear, it gives me a good idea of what’s to come (unless you do in fact introduce a guns and roses 5 minute solo 60 seconds in, for which case, i’m clearly way off)… Production value and the ability to create mental imagery here are very high. Moments into this, i’m seeing skeletons drooped in hanging prisons amidst the desert heat (ok so i have an over active imagination?!?!)… This sounds like a great piece, hopefully once my mac reboots I’ll hear its full delight.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Dec 22, 2008 @ 12:28 PM
Thanks, SA! that’s the best review I’ve ever gotten for 20 seconds :-)

I’m using mostly Firefox on my Mac, and I’ve also encountered the occasional odd behavior when using the regular little Flash player. It seems to give up playing some mp3 files. Sometimes a reload of the page is required to make it work properly again.
wellman
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 22, 2008 @ 9:09 PM
A very soft remix…. Love how you worked with the voice… those effects are great….

Merry Christmas!!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, Dec 23, 2008 @ 12:03 AM
Thanks W! And a very Merry Christmas to you, too! And keep those remixes coming!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 7, 2010 @ 1:37 PM
What an excellent track! I can’t believe this is the first time I’m hearing this. The whale song to me is reminiscent of lonesome whipporwhils but perhaps that is by the suggestin of the title…anyway, another round of cheers and bravo for you!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sun, Feb 7, 2010 @ 1:59 PM
Thanks SJ! Looks like this weekend has given rise to a bit of ccM archaeology :-)