Rooted Rising Secret Mixter
skip
Home » People » Speck » Dear Angel » Reviews

Reviews for "Dear Angel"

Dear Angel
by Speck
Recommends (19)
Sun, Jun 3, 2012 @ 6:05 AM

Samples are used in:

 
HaveMercy
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 3, 2012 @ 7:01 AM
Wow, strong work. You make it seem like the combinations of these different soundfiles has been intentional from the moment of their separate creation. And then with the (almost as usual) eeriness provoked by these flying vocals.
panu
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 3, 2012 @ 7:34 AM
abstract art with a heart & soul. a rare and precious commodity. clear 3-D sound quality.
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 3, 2012 @ 10:54 AM
Amazing piece, especially in headphones. A genre of its own
 
.
permalink   Speck Sun, Jun 3, 2012 @ 4:15 PM
Thanks Per. I do like my headphones. (Much better sound quality than the cab of my ten year old truck.) Not that I did much to make it more dynamic, KungFu’s vocal came with all that space, though I might have done some stuff to/with air lomeg’s sounds.
annabloom
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 3, 2012 @ 12:52 PM
shining production eerie yet appealing - all different pieces welded into a delicate sculpture
Joel Frijters
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 3, 2012 @ 5:41 PM
Wow. That is the most beautiful framing I have ever heard. Incredibly sensitive treatment and just a magically progression of ‘unearthed’ sounds! My personal highlight is the detuning :) Great mix and great work!
Cheers!
TheDICE
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 4, 2012 @ 12:30 PM
Incredible listening. Congrats very much for this track. Deeear angeeeel….. i love it.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 4, 2012 @ 5:30 PM
I love how ghostly this begins, with nothing more than the echo of bottle caps to adorn the music, with the second movement kicking in with the detuned piano (which I’ve only heard to such great effect on the soundtrack to “The Last Unicorn.” )

And then there’s the third movement, with electro funk sounds quickly breaking out of their tidiness back into the piano. Raging electro like Hendrix, and then exiting with the ghostly voices.

I realize I am narrating now, but I can’t help it - it feels like a story that has to be told. :)
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 10, 2012 @ 2:06 PM
Creepy