Holiday Funk & Blues Event
skip
Home » People » Speck » Narla » Reviews

Reviews for "Narla"

Narla
by Speck
Recommends (16)
Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 4:12 AM
Play Narla

Uses samples from:

 
panu
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 5:44 AM
Zep Hurme
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 5:56 AM
Your backing track gives a great feel to the fine story. Marvelous! I think I have to do more of these also …
Hans Atom
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 6:48 AM
Great soundscape. I love that human-cry-sounding snare in the beginning and the other vivid sounds! There´s a lot of life in there, true musical aninimism!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 9:49 AM
This is wonderful, Speck. You captured and added to the emotion of Rob’s words… you know, what a solid backing track does… Fun coincidence— I just uploaded a song about a cat…
colab
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 10:36 AM
Ahh now. Reason 6. Did you use it for the full production (incl. the audio?) I love Reason. I find it so incredibly intuitive to work with.

-but-

That’s not what I wanted to share. I wanted to say that this is absolutely terrific. I hear cEvin Key (Skinny Puppy, Doubting Thomas, Download) both in the music production itself and the integration of spoken word.

I love what you’ve made here. Just an outstanding track.
 
.
permalink   Speck Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 1:18 PM
Nah, I bounced the tracks into AcidPro for editing after I played them in Reason. A little thinning, delay/reverb on one track and integrating the spoken word. I think that’s only because Acid is what I’m used to. But I’m hoping to learn to do more with Reason. Currently I am very attracted to it but I have to really get to know it before I can declare love.
timberman
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 12:55 PM
I like this a helluva lot, it’s graceful and serene but still with an edge.
TheDICE
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 4:23 PM
Fantastic atmosphere. I liked the backing track a lot. Very nice the heart beat
debbizo
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 9, 2012 @ 1:49 AM
robwalkerpoet
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 9, 2012 @ 4:55 AM
Oops! Thought I’d already said thanks for this, Speck. (I did - on my own website http://www.robwalkerpoet.com/
In case you missed it, I said:
“Speck’s mix of my “Watching my blind cat” (which he names Narla) is a
perfect example of a sympathetic treatment of a text. Speck doesn’t
try to grandstand with spectacular solos or flashy effects - rather,
he interprets and supports the meaning of the narrative. There’s even
an almost-human cry in there very reminiscent of Narla’s Siamese rowl.
Ironically, without trying to be flamboyant, this is a stand-out
production with minute attention to detail. I also appreciate that he
lets the music finish so there is just the lone voice at the end to
deliver the final dilemma. Thanks for taking the time to do such a
beautiful job, Speck!”
 
.
permalink   Speck Fri, Mar 9, 2012 @ 1:51 PM
Hey thanks. That’s very gratifying to read. Especially the “interprets and supports” bit. When I heard your reading it felt like it was taking place in the backyard the window next to the computer overlooks, as well as internally. I took that sensation to the keyboard. I’m glad my attempt at conveying what I felt when I heard what you felt feels… right, for lack of a better word.

A heartfelt thank you for sharing your words/thoughts/feelings etc.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 9, 2012 @ 7:48 AM
What a fantastic piece. Thoughtful, enhancing without breaking the mood of Rob’s remarkable text. So sad it’s almost unbearable. Beautifully, beautifully done, Speck.
Jeris
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 9, 2012 @ 9:29 AM
Excellent supporting arrangement. I have to agree with Ciggi, it was unbearable, brought back sad memories of a neighbors dog that went blind.