Holiday Funk & Blues Event
skip
Home » People » Speck » So Chill » Reviews

Reviews for "So Chill"

So Chill
by Speck
Recommends (36)
Fri, Sep 30, 2011 @ 2:48 PM
 
CSoul
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 30, 2011 @ 3:41 PM
Hey Speck , this is great.
This is progressing finely.I loved dub sounds and details.
A fully loaded tracks.,
peace
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 30, 2011 @ 5:33 PM
Really kind of haunting, without being insistent about its melancholic mood. I quite like this, and really enjoyed hearing my own parts tempered down in tempo and pitch.
septahelix
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 30, 2011 @ 7:39 PM
it reminds me of the dull routine of life, but the beauty of it all too. like a washateria scene or something mundane. trying to be proactive despite a seeming futility.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 30, 2011 @ 11:30 PM
Smoove
timberman
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 1, 2011 @ 1:00 AM
Agree with the admiral. Haunting, & for me like a fever dream that’s not the least frightening. It’s beautiful.
Zep Hurme
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 1, 2011 @ 8:19 AM
For me it’s that persistent filtered loop in the background that sets the mood. Nice!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 1, 2011 @ 9:37 AM
Compelling and hypnotic. This is your chance to include subliminal suggestions so that everyone who listens bends to your will.

Also, I’m impressed with how smoothly and subtly the transitions between sections occur. Excellent work. Congrats on a well deserved ed pick.
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 1, 2011 @ 10:43 AM
sincere & well-deserved congrats on the Ed Pick.
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 1, 2011 @ 10:49 AM
thanks for sampling :)
 
.
permalink   Speck Sun, Oct 2, 2011 @ 4:52 AM
Thanks for providing.
annabloom
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 2, 2011 @ 2:41 AM
i concur with the previous reviewers. quality work, as uusal.
Jeris
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 2, 2011 @ 6:54 PM
“If whales could sing, they would sing to this”

Whales do sing, and I agree they would to this..lol

I remixed a whale song once, I was amazed to discover that they clearly had verse, chorus, bridge structure…seriously : )

I would venture to say that they have top 40 as well!
 
.
permalink   septahelix Mon, Oct 3, 2011 @ 8:13 AM
lol, i have too. i think it’s blue whales that will actually sing for thirty plus minutes without repeating themselves.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Mon, Oct 3, 2011 @ 8:27 AM
Yup, I think humans are still the masters though. I don’t know for sure if it’s true but I’ve heard of Kora players in West Africa that memorize 80 or more songs that can be several hours long, I think some are a whole day. They pass their history down this way…amazing.
Then again we always think we are the masters of everything and that’s usually not the case..lol

Of course the whales probably forget lyrics or make em up just like the rest of us. I wonder if they remix..now that would be awesome.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Oct 3, 2011 @ 1:10 PM
Thanks for sharing all that… fascinating.
 
.
permalink   Speck Mon, Oct 3, 2011 @ 9:50 AM
I have another mix I’m working on that I looked for whale song to use with that is both well recorded and not a licensing issue. No luck yet. Know of any off hand?
 
.
permalink   Jeris Mon, Oct 3, 2011 @ 9:53 AM
Hmmm, you can search YouTube for cc licenses and convert the mp4 to mp3 if you find any. Probably a shot in the dark but you never know. Probably not hi quality either.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 3, 2011 @ 1:08 PM
Congrats on the Ed. Pick! I agree with the positive praise above (and I’m at a lack of words today). I enjoyed this muchly.
colab
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 5, 2011 @ 7:53 PM
It’s funny. I haven’t had much motivation to do anything with music recently, but then tonight I heard new tracks from both you and septahelix and it’s like something is starting to stir inside.

This track of yours is just lovely. That violin like melody that plays with the bass is fantastic.

Yeah. This is probably one of my favourite tracks in a long time.
Leza Boyland
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 7, 2011 @ 1:35 PM
Great track!