Catalyst-Extended!
skip
Home » People » Speck » when you're alone » Reviews

Reviews for "when you're alone"

when you're alone
by Speck
Recommends (16)
Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 6:16 AM
 
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 10:29 AM
the pairing of anchor and kristen vocally is both genius and slightly creepy. :)

this would be a good halloween mix.
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 11:05 AM
Nice idea, very imaginative. Some of the timing are a bit slack however, but maybe that’s intentional to add to the oddity of the mix.
 
.
permalink   Speck Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 3:04 PM
Oddity, what oddity?
panu
.
permalink   Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 1:01 PM
eerie & powerful, like a duel in the sand between an egyptian holy man & a voodoo priestess. let the circle widen just before the lightning starts.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 1:57 PM
I was just over at freechess.org a moment ago, trying out a mildly arcane strategy, and watching my rating plummet to unimaginable lows as my strategy failed to carry the day.

It’s such a refreshing thing to come to this remix and find that montages of arcane strategems still have the power to provide an interesting listen. The various matches and mismatches play for the listener in stream of aural-conciousness, less a seamless piece of music than a fun conversation, littered with literary references. Thanks for using my work in this one—it’s in a spirit I very much enjoy.
 
.
permalink   Speck Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 2:43 PM
I like “…stream of aural-conciousness…” Thanks. (You should have heard the 7 minute version.)
AT
.
permalink   Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 8:32 PM
This so different and unexpected, very creative. The parts when Anchor and Kristin talk back and forth work really well for me.
thanks for picking up the piano —-never thought they would be used in this way but very glad they were.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 8:45 PM
Brilliantly insane and creepy — as if you were possessed momentarily by David Lynch on a good day and he decided to make music instead of films. Despite the aural carnival created here, I was not inspired to jump out of my skin, rather I did want to stay inside of it so I could keep listening, although I did want someone in the room with me!
colab
.
permalink   Mon, May 25, 2009 @ 10:06 AM
Yes. It is true.
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Thu, May 28, 2009 @ 8:11 AM
SacckJO22 said it best- holy cow.
oldDog
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 21, 2009 @ 9:47 AM
only now got round to discovering your mixes - they are delightful and intriguing and show the potential of mixing to do something new and original rather than just making “arrangements”
Niemandsland
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 24, 2009 @ 11:08 PM
Your work is very inspiring for me.

cordially
J├╝rgen
 
.
permalink   Speck Sat, Jul 25, 2009 @ 6:30 AM
Hey, thanks for all the listens and the encouraging words. I hope to hear more of your music in future.