Ghost Notes Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Snowflake » To the Mountain » Reviews

Reviews for "To the Mountain"

To the Mountain
by Snowflake
Recommends (32)
Thu, Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:45 PM

Samples are used in:

 
spinmeister
.
permalink   Thu, Sep 1, 2016 @ 7:26 PM
awesome … love it - love it - love it! The stutter-edits work really well. Your song-writing and vocal delivery are superb — yet again!

The only small thing is not your fault, but mine: The little melody lines in my version are at times getting a little in the way of your voice. So I’ll upload a version of my remix without those as an additional file, so if you want to, you can cut and paste some of those sections into your remix.
I’m getting right to work on that and should have something uploaded within half hour or so. update: DONE! — p.s. if there’s something else you’d like to have broken apart, just let me know.

Edit: my reaction to the revised version is here
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:27 PM
I’m so thrilled you like it! You gave me such inspiration :)

I’d really love the electric guitar stem you edited (i tried laying it over directly and can tell you did some awesome time matching/editing) — then I can raise the solo in the middle.

I look forward to your other stems — will hopefully have time to listen and dive in over the long weekend.

Peace my friend!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Fri, Sep 2, 2016 @ 12:09 PM
hehe - yes, the 8 bar guitar loop has pretty dramatic time manipulations to create a straight 115pm tempo. :-)

In addition to the FLAC mix without the melodies, I’ve just added a zip file containing a couple more FLAC and MIDI loops forming the raw backbone of my remix.

As you mentioned in your notes, the bottom end matters a lot in my remix - there’s just no way to get to that mood on tiny laptop or mobile device internal speakers.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Sep 3, 2016 @ 3:33 PM
thank you for uploading the stems! i re-edited the entire flac file to match up with my previous arrangement edits (wow, that took longer than i thought) and hopefully it sounds better without the counter-melodies?

i’m sorry i wasn’t more clear, i was hoping for your edit on the lead electric guitar in my mix at 3:10 — just so i can raise it in the mix. i tried doing it in this mix just with EQ but i think that solo section is too loud now. hopefully i can adjust it again on Monday.

thanks so much for your help and feedback! (oh, i made Kara’s suggestions too….)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sat, Sep 3, 2016 @ 8:12 PM
Yes, I think it’s much better without the melody bits interfering with your voice now. Super cool!

And sorry about uploading the wrong guitar part at first - I’ve just uploaded it along with a couple more in a second zip file. Although to my ears your current version sounds great, so you probably don’t even need that guitar bit anymore.

Thanks again for your wonderful remix - you made my weekend — I’m touched!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Sep 3, 2016 @ 9:55 PM
as suggested by BWT, i’ll experiment with using your stems to add color here and there around and between the vox. i had such a magical experience working with you on this! it was almost as if you were in the room with me…..(BWT too, through you!)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sun, Sep 4, 2016 @ 10:23 AM
hehe - this little project has taken on a life of it’s own! Just as we like it here at ccM!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sun, Sep 4, 2016 @ 11:10 AM
and I just added another guitar part to the zip file: it’s the doubling of the bass line, which might work at 4:00 in your remix to build up the repeated chorus.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Sep 12, 2016 @ 8:03 AM
The bass line double worked perfectly in two spots!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Sep 12, 2016 @ 10:46 AM
oh yes! Stunning work! More detailed sentiments are outlined here
 
.
permalink   Blue_Wave_Theory Sat, Sep 3, 2016 @ 8:16 PM
Maybe the song now sounds a bit too empty without at least some of the counter melodies in the mix? It still sounds excellent, just not quite as full as your original version. The extra “Wake Me Up” sections work very well in the overall arrangement!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Sep 3, 2016 @ 9:53 PM
i can go back in and sprinkle some fills in here and there between the vocals using Niels’ stems. great idea guys! i think i can also bring the lead vox down a db or 2 so it sounds more in the pocket with the band. any other feedback is appreciated!
 
.
permalink   Blue_Wave_Theory Sat, Sep 3, 2016 @ 10:15 PM
Sounds like a good plan! And bringing down the lead vocals a little bit is a good idea too.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Sep 11, 2016 @ 11:07 AM
I just replaced the mix with a new one. This one has the lead vox turned down 2 db (do they still need to come down more - maybe in the bridge at least?), dropped in the guitar solos individually with their own treatment. and sprinkled some piano, keys and guitar throughout. Thanks so much for your input!
 
.
permalink   Blue_Wave_Theory Mon, Sep 19, 2016 @ 9:12 AM
The new mix is awesome. Your refinements make the song even more stunning!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sun, Sep 4, 2016 @ 11:04 AM
if you’re bringing the vocals a bit more into the pocket, depending on how your vocal mix is routed within your DAW project, you may want to ensure the delay on the vocal doesn’t inadvertently get lost too far into the background. I love that vocal delay!

And you have a couple of other little vocal bits at the beginning and the end. I love those! - Could be brought up in the mix a bit, so they are more at peer level with some of the other parts?
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Sep 7, 2016 @ 4:14 PM
great feedback. i won’t get a chance to get back to my DAW again until the week-end and look forward to making some of these improvements to the mix. :)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Sep 11, 2016 @ 1:45 PM
ok, just did another mix and master tightening the levels even more. thank you for helping me keep pushing this track to its potential. feedback welcome!
 
.
permalink   Blue_Wave_Theory Sun, Sep 11, 2016 @ 3:49 PM
Your new production refinements are excellent! The song sounds even more amazing now!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Sep 12, 2016 @ 10:42 AM
I was out all day yesterday - and finally had a chance to listen to your new version just now.

All the new tweaks have made this already great remix into a true masterpiece - amazing! I’m in love with what you’ve done with this - and deeply touched that you’ve given so much time and affection to my music and thus have given it the kiss of an entirely better life. Your song-writing prowess and superior vocals are fully matched by your imaginative and technically skillful production. — I bow in grateful and loving admiration!
Speck
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 2, 2016 @ 4:20 AM
Sweet and mellow loveliness.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Sep 3, 2016 @ 3:34 PM
thank you for listening and taking the time to leave a review. :)
Kara Square
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 2, 2016 @ 5:10 AM
Whaaaaaa?!! This is flippin’ AWESOME! I love your delivery here… beautiful, dreamy, so hope-filled, and then the “wake me up” part… SWOOOOON! That part is so damn good… I’d love to hear it go on longer and intensify (it could repeat like 3 times and after the stutter have a full silent pause before the refrain kicks back in). Oh man, the whispering ending is fantastic, too. Ahhhh… HIGH FIVE!

It just occurred to me… your vocals make me think of Lana Del Rey here. I just love her music… regardless of her hilarious persona.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Sep 3, 2016 @ 3:35 PM
thanks Kara!! and thank you for the Ed Pick — wow, that makes my summer. :)

i went in and made the bridge longer as you’ve suggested — and tried to leave the pause too (had some struggle with that). feedback is welcome!

thanks so much again for your encouragement.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Sep 6, 2016 @ 6:28 AM
YES! Amazing edits!! It was already freakin’ fabulous and you kicked it up a solid notch! Thanks for trying out my suggestion, too- you executed it perfectly!! WOOOO! MAGICAL!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Sep 11, 2016 @ 1:46 PM
Thanks so much for your support and encouragement Kara!!!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 2, 2016 @ 12:40 PM
Wow! Emily — you are beyond your best here. Beautiful production, despite the caveats you described. Headphones do make a difference. This is one of those tracks where every element supports the heart of the song. The pace, tone, timbre, sentiment, words, voice, tenderness and love.

I also really love hearing how the stems have been transformed! Especially after working with them as well. (Going to listen to Spin’s mix next . .)

Bravo!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Sep 3, 2016 @ 3:35 PM
wow, thanks Susan! i really appreciate your support and positive feedback. thanks for listening and for leaving such a detailed review. xoxo
Blue_Wave_Theory
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 2, 2016 @ 4:34 PM
Brilliant remix!! It’s so cool how you expanded upon Spinmeister’s original remix, which was awesome in itself. Love the dreamy mood. Your melodies and lyrics are extremely catchy. Well done Emily!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Sep 3, 2016 @ 3:37 PM
thanks guys! i had tried doing a different remix of your original stems and kept hitting a wall, due to my own limitations. so luckily i still got in another remix on the first wave, thanks to spinmeister. now, onto the second wave!
timberman
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 6, 2016 @ 9:22 AM
Well I’m listening with headphones and the production is just amazing. What a wonderful song.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Sep 7, 2016 @ 4:13 PM
wow, thank you! that really means a lot from you my friend. :)
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 2, 2016 @ 5:11 AM
A mountain of love to climb
and no monitors
Ratz!
latopa
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 6, 2016 @ 6:18 PM
Comforting, creative voice and music as always. SF, forget the techno…Music is like words on paper. You read and hear what you want. I mixed all my music in Acid Pro6, made records on this, was called a weirdo intruder from the ProTool$$$ fanatics snobs(showbiz).CCM demonstrated that all tools are there for creative people that want to create…

Peace and all the best to CCM

Mig