Music Connects Us, FreeMusic Project
skip

Reviews for "It All (This Christmas)"

It All (This Christmas)
by snowflake
Recommends (33)
Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 3:49 PM
 
debbizo
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 3:54 PM
Moving me to tears. I do hope there there will be something happier to follow. Christmas always feels like this for me.
 
.
permalink   snowflake Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 4:27 PM
I wondered if I wasn’t the only feeling the pangs of a family broken apart. Glad you relate. Thanks for your nice review. xxxxx
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 3:58 PM
Sad, of course. But also very beautiful.

Such longing, in both the voice and piano, and despite the sorrow in the words, the uplift in the music is unmistakable. Perhaps the warmth underlying the sorrow in this will give hope to those who hear this who are going through what it describes.
 
.
permalink   snowflake Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 4:28 PM
Thanks for your very kind review Admiral. Despite the pain, there is hope. Strange how love and pain are intertwined, and that faith is somehow in-between.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 4:20 PM
((((HUG))))
 
.
permalink   snowflake Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 8:59 PM
:*
Steven M Bryant
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 4:59 PM
No..Your not alone with these feelings. You can always tell when something is from the heart and when its real. When you lay it out in black and white for all to see with the emotion that I just heard, That takes guts! I had to fight back the tears while listening and I lost. This is sad but oh so beautiful Emily…Thanks for sharing this.
 
.
permalink   snowflake Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 9:00 PM
Thanks for understanding and appreciating Steven. Glad it speaks to you…
duckett
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 5:33 PM
I’d come over with some chocolate and a spare shoulder, but San Diego’s a very long walk. This is reminiscent of Joni Mitchell’s “River”, in being a honest expression of how the holidays can sharpen the pain of loss.
 
.
permalink   snowflake Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 9:01 PM
I would definitely take the chocolat and spare shoulder if you could beam yourself here! Thanks for the Joni comparison — I’m honored :)
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 5:35 PM
Out of sadness comes great music.
 
.
permalink   snowflake Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 9:01 PM
Thank you for your kindness.
My Free Mickey
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 8:05 PM
feels really sad to hear, I hope your doing ok.
 
.
permalink   snowflake Sat, Nov 17, 2012 @ 9:01 PM
Thanks for your thoughtfulness. Each day is a new opportunity to heal and start again!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 19, 2012 @ 10:38 AM
Ahhhh… snowflake. This is so tender, raw… your songwriting at it’s best… your voice so warm and moving… the melody… piano… so lovely… and yeah… so flippin’ sad. Dude. Gah… wish I could be there for you.
 
.
permalink   snowflake Mon, Nov 19, 2012 @ 9:00 PM
thanks Kara. you are such a true friend and comrade in creation! peace…..
BarryMorgan
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 26, 2012 @ 8:47 PM
This is as beautiful as it is emotional….thanks for pouring your heart into it and then sharing with all of us. I hope you are well.

Barry
Wild Footsea
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 27, 2012 @ 11:54 PM
Thanks for your Grief, Loss, Compassion of Love, People and the Earth, A great movement of evolutionary logic in a rational manner is needed for the future as our biggest threat make become the whole of humankind as our resources become more scarce. We are driven by Competetion and Beliefs possibly leading to further damaging consequences. I read one theory where they say compassionate people suffer from depression would that say the normal people are not compassionate? or greedy? are we looking at Evolution?.. go figure - may we live/pass in peace. Thanks

“Population has steadily increased, notwithstanding the waste that has been made in the camp, the siege and the battle-field; and the country, rejoicing in the consiousness of augmented strength and vigor, is permitted
to expect continuance of years with large increase of freedom.”
Part of Lincolns Proclamation of Thanksgiving Address October 3, 1863
tacet
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 1, 2012 @ 6:59 AM
Heartfelt and deeply personal writing, perfect for the reflective mood of this time of year.

Jeris
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 30, 2013 @ 8:56 PM
OK, so this review is about a year late. Beautiful, touching song, Emily!!!