Time of Terror Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Snowflake » The End » Reviews

Reviews for "The End"

The End
by Snowflake
Recommends (47)
Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 9:48 AM
 
copperhead
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 9:59 AM
What a delightful track and Kudos to all involved. I just love that bass track from Jason who is quite talented. The drums track keeps this piece together and the added vocals put the icing on the cake. Kara should be pleasantly surprised.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 2:15 PM
thanks Copperhead! i’m uploading the stems for the bass. your track is mind-bending awesome - i would have Ed Picked but i was in it :) you rock!
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 10:12 AM
Smooth and intoxicating. Melds extremely well, and the vocals at the end fit very nicely in the mix.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 2:17 PM
thanks bob. i had a challenging time fitting and treating the vocals right. i appreciate your encouragement :)
Alex
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 10:14 AM
Another great mix from you!
Love the bass and your vocal additions
MiC’s rap was a nice touch too!!!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 2:18 PM
thanks Alex! your remix of spinningmerkaba is out of this world :)
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 10:15 AM
What a mix! It’s pretty spiffy and quiet the composition, Snowflake.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 2:21 PM
thanks Mana Man! i really loved your remix - so honored you drew me :)
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 10:30 AM
Ummm… Wow. This is really incredible, snowflake. (And a delightful surprise, indeed!) It’s such a joy to hear you singing this refrain, your spoken word, your melodic vocals throughout, Jason’s stellar bass line (whoa.), Mikey Burnz (excellent choice!), Speck and Bitcrusher’s loops… the piano and strings… I’m overwhelmed by how cool this is. “Cry Wolf” and “The Narrator” was such an inspired combo. The build of this is just great. I love that you mentioned the darkness and hope… that’s pretty much my favorite way to write a lyric… darkness with either hope or humor… Your mixing and production skills are far more impressive than you think. Thank you for all of your kind words and all of the work you put into this. Whoa.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 2:24 PM
so happy you liked it. i was so excited when i got your name. seemed like a universal alignment. i admit i had a hard time not spilling the beans. i spent a lot of time with your various pells, and these two seemed to want to be together. i loved singing along with you. thanks for contributing such great song and source material to ccM :)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 5:19 PM
Indeed- definitely a crazy connected occurrence. Love that kinda stuff!
Carosone
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 10:39 AM
Good track and production. A lot’s goin’ on, and well mixed. The hook is amplified by the multi-vocals, I got stuck into it.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 2:26 PM
cool! thanks so much for the input. Means a lot. connecting that both our mixes included Mind Map That :)
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 11:03 AM
Another Great Mix by you Snowflake, not only a great mix but you bless us with your vocals.
Great Production, sweet mix and
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 2:27 PM
you are the kindest, most encouraging, talented person. i feel lucky to be at the benefit of hearing your work. thanks for leading me along!
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 12:06 PM
Hey now - this is a heck of a nice surprise. Very, very elegant mix of elements. Everything is fitting together beautifully.

Great track.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 2:28 PM
thanks colab! means soo much coming from you. i tried to focus on my EQs and treatments and placement. all of you keep pushing me to new places. thanks for being a great example.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 1:08 PM
Always a pleasure to hear you creating music for voices other than your own. Focuses attention further down the z-axis within the Snowflake multi-dimensional array of musical creativity. Good stuff!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 2:29 PM
thank you! i’m all about the Z-axis man. your Dragnet mix deserves an award! your creativity is inspiring.
Jeris
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 1:24 PM
Nice job…I’m glad you missed out on listening and couldn’t stop ‘messin around’ with this. : )
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 2:31 PM
well, all be if that didn’t bring a large smile to my face :D thank you! listening to your remix a second time, i loved it so much. i have a feeling it will be a fav in our house.
CSoul
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 1:30 PM
this is my favorite of all BB mixup.
peace
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 2:33 PM
you are far too kind…and for the record, i Ed Picked you long before seeing this ;)
 
.
permalink   CSoul Mon, Jul 4, 2011 @ 3:48 AM
Ed Picked was a nice surprise for me.Thank you snowflake.I loved ”The End” long before learning Ed Picked.I downloaded this and i am thinking somethings.
peace
debbizo
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 2:14 PM
Bravo snowflake! This mix has come together brilliantly. It’s all been said but, yes, it melds!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 2:35 PM
thanks so much Deb. it was a real challenge. but i loved every minute of it :)
Papa_Zulu
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 6:44 PM
Im a big fan of Mind Map also and it is interesting you mentioned her work as poetic - beacuse that is how this remix turned out!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 7:05 PM
why thank you — her works are amazing (and i loved working that howling wolf in). loved your mix (you’re the master of metal!!!)
 
.
permalink   Anchor Mon, Jul 4, 2011 @ 7:40 AM
Quote: Papa_ZuluIm a big fan of Mind Map also and it is interesting you mentioned her work as poetic - beacuse that is how this remix turned out!

I feel the same way….!! Thanks
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 7:57 PM
There’s a great contrast between the gang vocals, which are like a sixties anthem, and the spoken word parts, which are subtly laced with dry humour.

The musical setting is very much like the aforementioned sixties anthem. The vocal work is super good. And “Spare verse” is really nicely used.

Yeah, I’ll be listening a lot to this, I think.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Jul 4, 2011 @ 10:11 AM
thanks good Admiral! we listened to your Wood and Fire mix last night with our friends :)
Vidian
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 8:29 PM
Haha, Very cool. Soon as I saw you remixing MMT, I knew itd be amazing :D I was right too!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Jul 4, 2011 @ 10:12 AM
thanks!!! i just listened to your track a second time. brilliant :)
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 10:48 PM
Impressed, but not surprised. Once again you created something extraordinary. Kara’s voice has a distinct warmth and intellegence that you highlighted. Your vocal adds are fabuloso! And while all the other elements are perfectly chosen and placed the bass line…. that bass line is the sexy glue keepin’ it all together. Bravo my dear for a spectacular remix!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Jul 4, 2011 @ 10:13 AM
it is all about that bass line eh? jason rocked it. Kara’s voice is a dream. thanks for the lovely review! i love your track - it is the Beach Blanket Mixter theme song :)
Speck
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 4, 2011 @ 3:55 AM
A well constructed piece with verve and a sense of admonition tempered by good will. Nicely done.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Jul 4, 2011 @ 10:13 AM
thank you! thanks for providing the skeletal system of the song :)
daniloprates
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 4, 2011 @ 6:33 AM
amazing song. i’m working in a boring office in london and would just like to start dancing this tune =) love the voice tracks composition.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Jul 4, 2011 @ 10:14 AM
oh you should definitely just dance (like no one is watching)! thanks for your kind comments :)
HEJ31
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 4, 2011 @ 2:22 PM
I’ve listened to this a couple of times, and I think it’s one of those pieces that will reveal more with each listen. It’s heavy - sorry I can’t come up with a better adjective at this moment. Incredible construction. And, oh yes, the bass player deserved mention.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Fri, Jul 22, 2011 @ 9:37 AM
yea, heavy is right. it was hard singing it over and over and i worried my neighbors would think i am obsessed with rapture or something. but, then i realized “you have a band called 2012AM” — i’m actually hoping for some sort of magical reformatting of humanity :) glad you liked the bass :D
 
.
permalink   HEJ31 Fri, Jul 22, 2011 @ 11:14 AM
Quote: snowflakei’m actually hoping for some sort of magical reformatting of humanity :)

Not going to happen, IMHO.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Fri, Jul 22, 2011 @ 11:18 AM
certainly not looking good for us all. but LOTR is my fav movie.

Elrond: That future is almost gone. Arwen: But it is not lost. …
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 6, 2011 @ 3:16 AM
So I see you are cheating :P

I think it all has been said in the previous commends…
It’s a typical snowflake track busy/chaotic without loosing the focus. And offcourse you allways use your voice to add something to the original lyrics.

Thanks for your credits on my little comp class.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Fri, Jul 22, 2011 @ 9:38 AM
cheating? ;) thanks for being one of my bestest mixing mentors :D
 
.
permalink   Abstract Audio Fri, Jul 22, 2011 @ 9:55 AM
I ment jason ;)
stellarartwars
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 9, 2011 @ 11:02 AM
This is rather like “Buttons” by Pussycat Dolls. Just as good though, and sonically rather more interesting and dynamic.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Fri, Jul 22, 2011 @ 9:39 AM
wow, thanks!!! :)
Michael Burnz
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:25 PM
i’m jus hearing this. props to all involved! this is a really good concept record.
diaphane
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 2, 2014 @ 11:18 AM
I’m coming three years too late, but this is just perfect :) I love the chorus.