Vid of Perspectives at Art City!
skip

Reviews for "Give it Up (Start Again)"

Give it Up (Start Again)
by Snowflake
Recommends (50)
Thu, Apr 28, 2011 @ 9:40 PM

Uses samples from:

 
Steven M Bryant
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 28, 2011 @ 11:44 PM
This is Golden. A beautiful mix. Excellent vocals and a lovely melody. I’m so there.At least I wish I was…lol. Nice work!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Fri, Apr 29, 2011 @ 11:04 AM
thank you! i really love your reggae tune. :)
debbizo
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 29, 2011 @ 4:53 AM
This is truly amazing snowflake!! Bravo, well done.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Fri, Apr 29, 2011 @ 11:04 AM
thanks deb! you are too kind :)
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 29, 2011 @ 5:51 AM
Not a fan of Ayn Rand, but I am a fan of this! Intelligent music that grooves has been my favourite type of music since The Police came on the scene.

The parallels between the decay of society Atlas portrayed and the economic and political conditions we hear about today are really well portrayed in this. Melodically, you’ve nailed it - there’s no way anyone wouldn’t know that this is how the song was originally recorded. :)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Fri, Apr 29, 2011 @ 11:05 AM
to even have the hint of being tangentially related to The Police is enough to make me faint.

yea, i don’t subscribe to every perspective of Ms. Rand, but there are some key ones that seem to hit pretty squarely with the truth.

thanks for such a nice review.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 29, 2011 @ 9:41 AM
Once again Emily, you demonstrate your masterful artistry in your unique ability to transform your thoughts/experience into something we can all appreciate. Clearly, the theme of this event has touched your roots as a citizen, and as an artist. Excellent work indeed!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Fri, Apr 29, 2011 @ 9:42 AM
…and you do some wonderfully expressive things with your voice that give me tingles!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Fri, Apr 29, 2011 @ 11:06 AM
you are the sweetest susan! thanks for your constant encouragement.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 29, 2011 @ 10:16 AM
Whoa- you are on one heck of a roll… This is another impressive track. Your use of dynamics is… well, dynamic. :) And ditto to SackJo’s comments on how you use your voice. Rock.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Fri, Apr 29, 2011 @ 11:06 AM
thanks kara. your roll inspired mine!
Subliminal
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 29, 2011 @ 12:38 PM
I remember reading Atlas Shrugged (Neil Peart is to blame for that), but I never managed to finish it, because I couldn’t identify with any of the characters at the time.

Anyway, I very much like what you did with the stems. Not only your excellent vocals, but also your great re-arrangement of the backing track.

I am not the most prolific uploader of source material, because most of the time I doubt the usefulness of my material to others. So your’s (and Jeris’) use of the swing state is appreciated very much, probably more than you can imagine.
copperhead
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 29, 2011 @ 1:42 PM
I love your songwriting but I think your remixes are even more brilliant! I think it takes you a bit out of your comfort zone in a good way :)
Jeris
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 29, 2011 @ 2:28 PM
Hey, knew this was gonna be good : )
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 30, 2011 @ 12:58 PM
Like the rhythmic edge of the mix, Emily. Has legs.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sun, May 1, 2011 @ 6:56 AM
I just listen to Subliminal original version and was blown away. You add the cherry on top with your stellar vocals. Silly me, gave up my Editorial rights, but if i was Ed this this would be a pick.
Hey Ed !!!!! you need to jump all over this and while your at it, give some love to Subliminal.
In the ipod and on repeat.
 
.
permalink   J.Lang Mon, May 2, 2011 @ 8:13 AM
Ahh… My wonder twin powers have been restored. Feeling so much better
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Mon, May 2, 2011 @ 8:16 AM
:-)
onlymeith
.
permalink   Sun, May 1, 2011 @ 11:25 AM
Fantastic remix. Great vocals.
Carosone
.
permalink   Mon, May 2, 2011 @ 3:30 AM
This is fantastic, I’ve been waiting for a sung a-cappella for this project with so many spoken words, and a more aggressive way of singing. it’s really a shame it came so late and I was out in the weekend so I couldn’t make a remix of this in time for the strike-the-root project deadline! if not for the deadline, I will do it for pleasure alone.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, May 2, 2011 @ 8:20 AM
thank you for your kind review. although the project deadline has past, Lessig wont finalize his curation for a few weeks - so there is time for more remixes :) i can’t wait to hear yours (i listen to your Emergence remix of Mind Map That all the time!!)
 
.
permalink   Carosone Mon, May 2, 2011 @ 2:50 PM
I can forecast the pella will be remixed many times in the future, but the remix itself is a beauty.
And congrats for the ed pick as a remixer!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, May 2, 2011 @ 5:49 PM
thanks Carosone! the Ed Pick means a lot - production and remixing isn’t my strong suit. you are very kind :)
spinningmerkaba
.
permalink   Mon, May 2, 2011 @ 10:04 AM
I agree with J.Lang—great combination and mix!
djolliej
.
permalink   Mon, May 2, 2011 @ 3:50 PM
Hot Damn!

All I can say is this is a really really good song. Beautiful voice as always, excellent production.