Momentum Secret Mixter Playlist
skip

Reviews for "Hot Core (down below)"

Hot Core (down below)
by Snowflake
Recommends (51)
Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 1:34 PM
 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 2:07 PM
This is a very ambitious piece. The mood is set by the huffing, chimes, dramatic striking chords on the piano, and Anchor and SackJo’s voices meandering in and out of the Greek chorus.

The break with Horizons is my favourite part I think. That sends chills down my spine. This piece is really as good as I’ve ever heard you, and that’s saying something!

I’ve spent a lot of time reading about the origin of the Earth, and the line about the core as being ‘where we started’ is almost literally true (in that the internal heat drives the hydrothermal vents and plate tectonics that makes life possible!)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 2:26 PM
thank you admiral. your review made it all worth it for me. i spent longer mastering this track than any i’ve done so far - working to get all of the levels right and EQ’s appropriate (still very challenging for me).

the Horizons break is my favorite part too ;)

Yea, I’ve been intrigued about universal patterns, from the heat of the big bang (where all life started) to the heat of an atom - this song explores my nerdy mind wanderings! thank you for understanding me!
panu
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 5:20 PM
beautiful job, Emily. worthy of many
back-to-back listens. all the best in the new year!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 5:57 PM
many thanks Panu! happy new year!
Speck
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 5:28 PM
It’s like the process from concept to execution is on exhibit here. I wish I was better with words. What I’m trying to say is one can tell you had an idea and one can hear how well it paid off. Nah, that doesn’t exactly convey what I’m trying to say either. Ah screw it - great song!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 5:58 PM
thank you so much Speck. i feel like i understand what you’re saying, and i truly appreciate it. :)
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 6:36 PM
Fantastic song! I too love the deep. Written many a subterranean song. This reminds me of a band that is currently my fav: Bat for Lashes. If you’ve not heard them….. I recommend them as much as I do this song :)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 7:44 PM
i actually really like Bat for Lashes and am soo flattered! Thanks so much for the kind review.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 11:39 AM
Fab-fabulous comparison!
Subliminal
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:02 PM
What a great song. It has the the kind of atmosphere I really like, but which is hard to describe (at least for me).

All the best for the new year.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 1:42 PM
thank you so much. this means a lot - i truly respect your musical works.
 
.
permalink   Geert Veneklaas Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:55 PM
“It has the the kind of atmosphere I really like, but which is hard to describe (at least for me).”
Same here! Somehow, it makes me wanna move to Scandinavia.. Can’t explain why though, just a feeling.
VickyDan
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 5:16 AM
I have nothing to add to what is said above, because it is an extraordinary work. Receive my best wishes for the new year, and is as much if not more, with as many talented creations, as you have the secret ….
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 6:32 PM
Many thanks Vicky!!!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 10:04 AM
Not only do your excellent compositions skills and extraordinary voice shine in this track, but my dear your production skills get better and better with each uploaad. What a fantastic track! I’m excited to hear what you do next! Happy, happy and all the best for the new year!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 10:06 AM
Oh, and I must add — thanks for including me! (I was so smitten with the whole thing I was swept away and forgot to be gracious for a moment!)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 6:32 PM
Thanks Susan! Working with your voice is always a treat ;)
Anchor
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 1:32 PM
Emily - this is really great - I love how you have “translated” the elements of other songs and made them part of your personal interpretation of a subjective mythos (Persephone made quite real)…
thanks for including me in this -
a great welcome to 2011!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 6:33 PM
Thank you Anchor! It was so lovely to work with your voice, over and over again! Happy New Year :)
Geert Veneklaas
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:50 PM
Damn, what a great song…
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 6:33 PM
thank you Geert!
error404
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 12:47 AM
:D
I have heard only very good work
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 10:16 AM
thanks for providing such a great sample - it is the base of the entire song!
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 9:01 AM
Mysterious, wintry, magical and as unique as each beautiful snowflake that falls. A stunning mix, Emily, combining your lovely singing with Susan’s sparkling spoken word and Anchor’s mythical voice from the depths. Happy New Year! xxxx
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 10:17 AM
thank you dear Ciggi! Happy New Year - may 2011 be filled with joy and happiness :)
Kara Square
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 11:38 AM
Incredible. Seriously. The huffing put it over the top for me… love-love-love it… the way you said “hot core”… awesome. Love the parts of everyone you included. And yeah, the horizons part just kicks it up. This is an incredible piece, snowflake.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Jan 6, 2011 @ 8:53 AM
thanks so much for your kind words! i really appreciate it (i’m supposed to be huffing the words ‘hot hot hot’ but i think i may need to enunciate better?)
gurdonark
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 6:12 PM
Filled with imagination and scenic and emotional vistas. Very creative use of the samples to make a cool song!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Jan 6, 2011 @ 8:53 AM
thanks Gurdonark! and thanks for creating such a cool sample i got to cut and treat and move around. :)
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 6, 2011 @ 5:24 AM
Altough it’s very minimal I’m honoured to be in this beautifull song.
What I love about it is how you managed to make a coherent song out of all those elements. It’s a great production and your EQ work is superb! From now on I’ll be asking you advice
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Jan 6, 2011 @ 8:51 AM
i worked extra hard on the EQs and levels in this mix (took a lot of your advice, and that of Loveshadow and spinningmerkaba).

this is something that is really exciting me about ccMixter right now! we are pushing each other, getting better and better, individually, and as a community.

thanks for your kindness and support!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Jan 6, 2011 @ 8:52 AM
oh, and i loved your bell samples - i used them all! i combined them all, and although it sounds simple, it took me a lot of effort to find a way to make them sound like organized chaos :)
l4m
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 11, 2011 @ 2:57 PM
Awesome vocal, there is “something” in it that keeps me thinking about it a lot, grate work
TheDICE
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 12, 2011 @ 6:46 AM
Excellent composition, as usual.
Thank you very much, wonderful voice.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Nov 12, 2011 @ 7:37 AM
thank you for your kind words!!!
robomoon
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 6, 2016 @ 1:31 PM
Music and vocal content from this track went through Alex Beroza’s remix into my album Colony Around https://www.jamendo.com/album/153710/colony-around . Two further remixes with content from two other tracks of yours went into it too. Thanks for having released so much art under CC Attribution.