Momentum Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "Elizabeth June (shockshadow remix)"

Elizabeth June (shockshadow r...
by shockshadow
Recommends (12)
Fri, Sep 12, 2008 @ 3:18 PM

Uses samples from:

 
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 4:51 AM
Very, very nice. “The ground’s on fire” at the very beginning practically sent chills down my spine!

I love your ambient remixes, and I usually really don’t like ambient music. You set up a really good vibe, though, and put in very good melodic parts to mesh with the pads. The drums’ occasional glitching is a great touch, too - but man, I’m curious to sound if you got even a little more adventurous with that glitching! :D
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 10:08 AM
hey thanks teru! yeah, i need to mix it up a bit more with the glitching. either that or just get away from it completely…lol.
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 6:38 AM
The opening delayed vocals against your pads is really effective and held my attention unquestioned (you know when you watch a movie and you totally don’t notice the time flying past because you are engrossed).

The IDM beat is a well suited choice, in fact the whole pallet of sounds here are well balanced.

Very nice overall feeling to this mix, it holds your mind in a days

warning : side effects may include day dreaming, re-evaluation of your life and short periods of amazement.
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 10:09 AM
hehe…thanks scott. ‘preciate the review.
:)
onlymeith
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 8:13 AM
I prefer the voice of Kristin more natural, but I love the atmosphere that you have achieves in this mix. Congrats.
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 10:11 AM
thank you for the review onlymeith. I was going to leave the voice alone, but it was a case of having to either sacrifice the melodic idea I had or sacrifice the vocals, and I just didn’t want to do either….so I had to mutilate the voice a bit.
:)
duckett
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 11:12 AM
Very chill indeed… “May cause drowsiness. Use care when driving or operating heavy machinery.”
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 11:58 AM
Nice melodic drone to bring us into the piece, and the use of fx on the vox integrates well with the delay in the drone. The chill-out rhythm track is very nicely done and fits the piece. I like when I watch video in which things have been filmed in a gauzy haze—a magical realism pervades the scenery, as if the rules all still apply,but they apply more impressionistically than before. A play of sound-as-light, a sunrise on flowers viewed without required spectacles, a misheard conversation in a half-forgotten dream. A gentle haunting, quiet and effective.
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Fri, Nov 14, 2008 @ 1:01 PM
Gurdonark, your comment alone is reward enough for me on this one. Your poetic evaluation of the song is impeccably expressive.
:)