Secret Mixter Tracks
skip

Reviews for "Spies with Cosmic Blueprints (Orchestral Anarchy Rendition)"

Spies with Cosmic Blueprints ...
by shimoda
Recommends (10)
Thu, Apr 10, 2008 @ 7:22 PM
 
duckett
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 10, 2008 @ 10:55 PM
Well, I took the entire journey, with no stops along the way- and while this won’t appeal to everyone, it works for me. Not for the faint-hearted, but it does create some collisions worth taking note of! If used to very melodic remixes, this may not be your cuppa joe, but why not linger on ‘til the end, and then describe how it left you?
 
.
permalink   shimoda Fri, Apr 11, 2008 @ 4:53 AM
Thanks for taking the journey, send in your receipt for a full copy of the libretto;)and a cup of joe…!
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 11, 2008 @ 5:30 AM
I stayed to the end. It was unique I dont know where you begin mixing with something like this.

In reality i have it heard before. There are several rehearsal studios i have been to with small rooms all full of different bands and performers. On the hour the rooms change over and this is what it sounds like as you walk along the corridor.
 
.
permalink   shimoda Fri, Apr 11, 2008 @ 7:57 PM
Beginning to mix this and contuing to do so was not easy or necessarily fluent. My intent was to use all or at least 95% OF Anchor’s pells, but once I left the air between say 30s and 1 minute, I had catching up to do. Moderating between several layers of sound, while maintaining an idea was difficult. I might try again, but this was difficult enough for a while.
 
.
permalink   shagrugge Sun, Apr 13, 2008 @ 6:53 AM
that is exactly how it should sound…like placing a microphone high above the earth and seeing what it picks up. Orchestrated channel surfing.
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 11, 2008 @ 10:46 AM
This reminds me the practice rooms at Berklee College of music (where i went to school):D
Very interesting and original for me!
 
.
permalink   shimoda Fri, Apr 11, 2008 @ 8:09 PM
Thanks for the listen and review. I’m not sure what the practice rooms at Berklee sound like though I have many friends who’ve been or are there. From your remixcography, I’d say you did pretty well:)
TheJoe
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 11, 2008 @ 1:48 PM
Wow, this is awesome!
I knew a lot of people who thought, that mixing some very different tracks is still art, because it sounds only crazy.

This sounds “crazy” too, but this is more art than I heard before in this genre.
Very difficult not to loose the oversight of all these elemets.
I really do respect this. Great and terrific work. (even for my pop music ears) ;-)
 
.
permalink   shimoda Fri, Apr 11, 2008 @ 8:12 PM
I really appreciate the comments. I appreciate all, positive or guarded, though the positive ones leave me feeling better perhaps, but direction is always helpful here. As I think I said above, keeping oversight of all of these elements was difficult. I spent about a week and a half on this (maybe two) and was actually surprised when I listened to it once I posted it to feel satisfied with my creation. It isn’t supposed to just be a mess of noise, but noise that meshes. Thanks for the listen!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 11, 2008 @ 6:16 PM
I’m really glad to hear people experimenting and this is one hell of an experiment. Its really worth doing and I’m glad you did it but as you would say “I don’t want to encourage you too much”:)

Well done for having the power of mind and heart to put this out.
 
.
permalink   shimoda Fri, Apr 11, 2008 @ 8:13 PM
I’m encouragable. What can I say. Hopefully now I can settle back, do an electro rock, or jazzy dance thing. I need to write, but with all the new pellas, and other material I’ve downloaded, sitting around, it’s hard to know where to start. Thanks for the listen!
shagrugge
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 13, 2008 @ 6:52 AM
Man this reminds me of some of the soundscapes we use to drop on late night college radio…sound collage has got to be one of the most underappreciated mixing genres out there, quite subterranean, but definitely one of the most interesting to listen to.
 
.
permalink   shimoda Sun, Apr 13, 2008 @ 11:28 AM
Thanks for the kind review! I actually like this kind of mixing very much and will probably be messing with it the most as it blends several styles of music I like. It may not be ed pick, but if I like it, I’ll put it up and let everyone decide for themselves. Also, I’m happy to have nudged you to Neurowaxx, he has some of the best work going on!
Quantum Theor(y)
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 14, 2008 @ 11:54 AM
I didn’t think my ‘Tsi Tsi Fly’ sample could get any more complicated….You definately put it in a whole new chaotic space! I like your ‘kitchen sink’ approach to mixing.
 
.
permalink   shimoda Mon, Apr 14, 2008 @ 4:22 PM
Thanks for the listen, more from you to come…!
Lasswell
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 14, 2008 @ 1:47 PM
The title says it all. Very, very interesting and entertaining! :: ))
 
.
permalink   shimoda Mon, Apr 14, 2008 @ 4:23 PM
Listen appreciated! I’ve been checking out more of your stuff lately, can’t wait for more.
Anchor
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 14, 2008 @ 3:18 PM
I would add my voice to all the above comments in my surprise and delight in your experimental offering. This does capture some of the mysterious and convoluted atmosphere that “conspiracy theories” and New World Order paranoia couches in its unfathomable net of criss-crossing speculations. Thanks for using my samples in a such a creative and unique presentation.
 
.
permalink   shimoda Mon, Apr 14, 2008 @ 4:24 PM
It was a pleasure, your lyrics inspired the bent and notion behind this piece, so it’s all your fault! in a good way:)
Speck
.
permalink   Wed, May 5, 2010 @ 6:32 PM
I’m going back in time tonight hunting for hidden treasure. This is it. No need for warnings and preemptive apologies. Far from something to run from I would run toward it every time. Superb.