Holiday Funk & Blues Event
skip

Reviews for "Electric Lady SuperStar"

Electric Lady SuperStar
by ScOmBer
Recommends (35)
Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 12:57 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:03 AM
Knew we’d get an original out of you! And the melody definitely brings out the Van Morrison in you (even though I can’t really imagine Van M. singing about building a fembot!)

Pella please!
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:35 PM
Cheers Admiral.
Its funny - but I seemed to unintentionally lift a few of Van’s little melody quirks.
Should be more songs about fembots lol. I’ll post the pella tonight when I get back into the studio.
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:08 AM
The Boz from Oz!
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:37 PM
Thanks Lido ;-0
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:09 AM
You magnificent bastard, you! :) Yeah sounds like something Van Morrison would be singing these days. ;)I diggs it like Elvis digs a clambake.
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:38 PM
Hey MJ, my favourite Elvis movie.
Thank you mate, hope the weather hasn’t turned on you too bad in Smiths Falls. Good luck with the play!
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:44 AM
You have an amazing voice
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:41 PM
Thank you AA!
Real credit should go to Clarence for his superb guitar work.
Without him, I’d just be some crusty dirty old man dreaming about an automated girlfriend.
Cheers!
Alex
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 2:57 AM
Another great song from you S!!!
No words… Just love it!!!!
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:41 PM
Thanks Alex, your kind words mean a lot to me.
debbizo
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 2:59 AM
Beautiful clean chords and emotion evoking chord changes with very fitting vocals from you Scomber
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:42 PM
Thanks Deb. The melody came as easy as the subject line (lol).
Big points to Clarence for the roadmap.
 
.
permalink   debbizo Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 2:18 PM
Quote: ScomberThe melody came as easy as the subject line (lol).


LOL
Tom_Ena
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:43 AM
Could easily imagine the singer to be playing the guitar… works well
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:44 PM
Thanks Tom.
I tried to keep it loose and live.
The emotion was a bit contrived though, had to stop myself from laughing a couple of times.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:48 AM
Absolutely fabulous, Leon! Expressive.
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:45 PM
My beard got caught in Clarence’s capo somewhere in the second verse.
Thanks dood!
mykleanthony
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 6:33 AM
Scomber, You’re the SuperStar dude. This is Great and you can sing a little bit can’t you!!!!??? (smile) Seriously, Excellent vocal, Great song and a Brilliant job. Possible future release I think. I.ll be rockin it my whip tomorrow….

Peace! ;)~
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:47 PM
Thanks Mykle, much too old to be a superstar but never too old to tinker in the workshop with a soldering iron and a song in my heart.
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 9:14 AM
What a great songsmith you are, Scombs.
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:48 PM
Thanks Per.
Sadly the subject matter is entirely autobigraphical.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 9:42 AM
this is the perfect track for the beautiful sunny morning here in san diego. james taylor meets jack johnson. great stuff here - your vocal and melody combined with clarence’s clean, lovely acoustic guitar track.
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:52 PM
Beautifully sunny here in Sydney too. (for a change!)
Clarence’s tasty guitar was def the inspiration.
Thanks Emily
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:59 PM
listening for a third time. you really nailed this vocal scomber. and the lyrics are brilliant.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 2:41 PM
:-)
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 2:48 PM
;-/
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 4:56 PM
Nice. Really respectful take on secret mixter. I like.
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 11:45 AM
Thanks colab !
Please help yourself to a jar of pickled herrings and a Stella :-)
AT
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 5:57 PM
Great lyrics and vocals.
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 11:50 AM
Thanks man. Learning to relax - sometimes anymore I’d be dead!
Clarence Simpson
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 9:13 PM
Scomber, I have to admit that my initial reaction to the notification that you were my secret mixter was one of mild disappointment (absolutely NOT a statement on your quality of work, simply the fact that you’re one of the few people who has already remixed me and through Secret Mixter I had been looking forward to seeing how new people might use my work).

A few moments after pressing play I realized that my initial reaction could not have been more wrong. :)

I loved this! The lyrics are a lovely recipe of 1 part quirky, 1 part funny, and 2 parts brilliant. I had a stupid grin on my face through the whole song. I am honored to have had another Scomber treatment for this Mixter.
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 9:35 PM
Thanks Clarence!
I thought the same thing initially too.
A bit like being stalked by the doorman after entering a new club before you get a chance to look around.
Regardless of this - I would have been all over this one anyway, regardless of Secret mixter.
Your songs have an excellent pop sensibility but retain a personal character that is uniquely yours.
I’m sure I’ll be one of the first of many to remix material as top shelf as this one and your other uploads. I love the diversity of genres in your catalog.
Cheers mate
J.Lang
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 5:16 AM
I can’t believe how many great remixes i’ve heard so far from this secret mixter. First let me say thank you for introducing me to that great CS guitar sample, i love it.
And let me say another fine job by you Scomber. To me you have a combination of Boz Scaggs and Van Morrison in your vocals. You sound great. Love the mix.
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 11:55 AM
Thanks Jay.
CS has uploaded some terrific, diverse and well crafted samples in the short time he has been here.
Thank you for the kind words bro
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 8:03 AM
You are in excellent voice, Scombers, and the words are so f***ing clever, damn you! Nothing more is needed than your voice, lyrics and Clarence’s fantastic contribution. It’s a great track. xxxx
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 11:58 AM
Thank you Cig. Welcome back after an extended absence ;-)
spinningmerkaba
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 9:52 AM
Great song Scomber! Such a great mix of different genres so naturally performed.

For me, This song captures a certain sublime flavor of Los Angeles culture—Here is why:

It feels like LA after a strong Pacific storm blows in and cleans the streets and the air. Then the glittery and fake, the smog and dust become slightly subdued and intermixed with a sense of real beauty—the mountains and the ocean and the palm trees in a fresh breeze.

Anyway…I hope you have rechargeable batteries ;-)
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 12:03 PM
Hey Jason, thank you so much for Sassygals Ed pick and your poetic review.
My batteries are well and truly recharged with such nice reviews. Peace dood
Subliminal
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 11, 2010 @ 11:05 PM
Great vocal performance, surfer boy. The guitar ain’t too shabby either. times Panu’s maximum plus 1
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Thu, Nov 11, 2010 @ 11:25 PM
Thanks so much Sub! Unfortunately not much surfing happening these days - to much time spent earning a quid lately - would swap it in a moment if I could ;-) cheers mate!