Time of Terror Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Scomber » Boxcar2Vegas » Reviews

Reviews for "Boxcar2Vegas"

Boxcar2Vegas
by Scomber
Recommends (21)
Thu, Apr 29, 2010 @ 7:24 PM

Uses samples from:

 
Subliminal
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 29, 2010 @ 10:40 PM
Nice! I like the sound of this one. Probably created within the hour. ;-) Nothing wrong with a bit of self-remixing.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Fri, Apr 30, 2010 @ 3:44 AM
Cheers Sub! Thanks for the review, I would have prefered to redo the vocal but that would have taken way too long ;-) . Sadly my attention span is ever shortening. Must be getting old.
Zapac
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 30, 2010 @ 4:00 AM
I’m ready like the mathematical homework. It’s a hungarian phrase, maybe it means nothing in english. :)
It’s fantastic, Scomber. I’m impressed. In this way my Test Drive is finished. I’m glad that I’m a participant your great mix. And here is the next gem in my spagetti_western favourites.
I have lots of work at this moment, but I will return shortly with my wild-west mix. Quake gringos! :)
 
.
permalink   Scomber Fri, Apr 30, 2010 @ 4:55 AM
Thanks Z! I’ve got a few more in the can too! Wonder how that one translates into Hungarian ?? Adios gringo
DURDEN
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 30, 2010 @ 2:25 PM
Fantastic work here. I will have fun dancing this one haha
 
.
permalink   Scomber Fri, Apr 30, 2010 @ 3:30 PM
Thanks :-) glad you liked it
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 30, 2010 @ 2:51 PM
What a great arrangement! Really diggin’ the distort-bass and horns.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Fri, Apr 30, 2010 @ 3:34 PM
It’s a Rtas plug in that my mate made. He calls it dirty bird. I love how you can pitch and phase the distortion without altering the hit in the note. Thanks FB but points must go to Zapac for the horns
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 30, 2010 @ 2:58 PM
nice! channeling the inner Zappa again…
 
.
permalink   Scomber Fri, Apr 30, 2010 @ 3:39 PM
Funny you should say that, I’ve heard some Zappa in weird places lately. Walking through the supermarket they were playing a muzac version of Catholic Girls. I just had to sing along and frighten the old ladies fondling the frozen peas. Thanks dude!
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 30, 2010 @ 3:09 PM
Are you running the vocals at a lower octave of your voice? Seems deeper than normal.

I really like the diversity of your tracks, there’s always lots going on that totally adds substance and style without sounding over crowded.

Cool
 
.
permalink   Scomber Fri, Apr 30, 2010 @ 3:46 PM
Trying the Ricky Martin technique ( god I wish there was another name for it) . I split the channels and moved one up a few cents and the other down. A zipper smear then created the illusion that I was singing deeper.
Thanks Scott I always value your reviews!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 30, 2010 @ 6:52 PM
Great horn band rhythm & rock music.