Vid of Perspectives at Art City!
skip

Reviews for "

¿Cuantas patas tiene e...
by rocavaco
Recommends (21)
Sun, Aug 14, 2011 @ 5:01 AM

Samples are used in:

 
septahelix
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 14, 2011 @ 6:12 AM
nice work on that piano track. like the build up too.
the piano and vocals seem to be separate from the drums, bass, and synth though. they stand out too much i suppose. that’s the only minor criticism i would give this piece.
fun listen and thanks for the stems.
 
.
permalink   rocavaco Sun, Aug 14, 2011 @ 7:18 AM
I thought piano and vocals are the stars in the band and should stay in front row. Thank you for taking the time writing a review!
musikpirat
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 14, 2011 @ 1:19 PM
Wow, you transformed Robs piano into a new masterpiece. No doubt, this must be the Catch of the day!

http://musik.klarmachen-zum...
 
.
permalink   rocavaco Mon, Aug 15, 2011 @ 1:11 AM
Thank you for organizing the F!M!C 2011. This brings a lots of nice samples to the world of remixing!

Freut mich, mal wieder der Fisch des Tages zu sein :)
HEKTOR THILLET (coffeeeurope)
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 14, 2011 @ 1:20 PM
Nice mix Rocavaco! I agree with septahelix in that “the piano and vocals seem to be separate from the drums, bass, and synth”, but the again is not the easiest melody to work with. I still like it lots because it does try and pay homage to the actual pella - and this it does quite charmingly. To answer your question about which bkg did I use to record Suki, it was simply an 88bpm finger-count loop to a memorized melody I came up with type-deal. I’ll probably do some sort of 88bpm mix with the pella soon to better project the idea. In the meantime - much respect for this B-)
 
.
permalink   rocavaco Mon, Aug 15, 2011 @ 1:21 AM
Thank you. As I heard the charming voice of Suki it was immediately my “catch of the day”. My spanish is poor and I’m still puzzling about the question with the cat. Does this have a special meaning in your language or is it just poetry?
 
.
permalink   HEKTOR THILLET (coffeeeurope) Mon, Aug 15, 2011 @ 11:16 AM
It comes from a children’s rhyme commonly use at least in my natal Puerto Rico to teach children to count. It pertains to the saying: “looking for the cat’s fifth leg”, which basicaly reffers to someone looking for alternate ways to figure something out when there is no other way - it is what it is! Suki added it to the spoken section of the lyrics as she recorded it as a way to say “What’s the point anyway?”.

Here is the rhyme as they say it in Puerto Rico with translation:

Uno, dos, tres, cuatro = One, two, three, four
┬┐Cuantas patas tiene el gato? = How many legs does the cat have?
Una, dos, tres, cuatro? = One, two, three, or four?

The “pan, chocolate, mantequilla, y cafe” part is from a similar play on words - but that’s a whole nother story [LOL] She just threw it all together.

*Hope that helped solve the enigma :-) *
Dysfunction_AL
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 15, 2011 @ 6:23 AM
a beautiful piano work (besides the fact that the piano has a sound and excellent compression, i just love it), I can hear a lot of passion .. a final note on the clarity and the considerable pressure of the drums, my woofers have left home following their way. :D Good work, sound, and good interpretation
 
.
permalink   rocavaco Mon, Aug 15, 2011 @ 11:41 AM
Thank you for the nice words. I know the kick drum has a massive punch. But I don’t know if there is a way to create a mix that sounds balanced in small headsets AND for people who own a sub woofer.

The final mix sounds good on my Genelec monitors but has too much bass on the Denon Hifi and barely enough on the iPod. Is there a remix way to suit all of them?
 
.
permalink   septahelix Mon, Aug 15, 2011 @ 1:12 PM
i have the same problem. i’m thinking of focusing on the higher frequency parts of the kick so it comes through on all systems. i also turn it down a lot more than I think i need to. let me know what you find.
 
.
permalink   rocavaco Mon, Aug 15, 2011 @ 1:21 PM
Quote: septahelixi’m thinking of focusing on the higher frequency parts of the kick

Sounds kind of inverted at first reading - but may make sense. I’ll try it in the next remix!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 16, 2011 @ 12:06 AM
Good composition, Roca
Enjoyed the mix.


How many legs has the cat?
 
.
permalink   rocavaco Tue, Aug 16, 2011 @ 12:16 AM
Thank you. And the answer is 4 - what did you think? :)
(see Hektor’s description above…)
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Tue, Aug 16, 2011 @ 12:21 AM
Okay, Roca. Read the explanation. Was envisioning a three legged cat “:0)