COVID-19 & Us Universe Secret Mixter
skip
Home » People » Ivan Chew » Briefly, Us » Reviews

Reviews for "Briefly, Us"

Briefly, Us
by Ivan Chew
Recommends (29)
Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 2:02 AM
 
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 2:13 AM
Hi Ivan, mys ears pricked up when i saw your tags … i thought this is going to be interesting. This has got so many wow moments in it I have lost count.particularly the transistions in the different phases of the track. Superb
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 1:25 AM
Quote: urmymuseThis has got so many wow moments in it I have lost count.That’s a great review to receive! Thanks!!! Glad the remix achieved the intended effect.
remaxim
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 2:19 AM
Ok, give me some minutes to realise what you actually did there …

It sounds great but has so many variations and unforseen changes in it. Also a lot of disharmony. A very daring track . I am pretty impressed by it

and btw.: breves dies hominis means something like the short days of the human (kind) … basically saying something like “life is short”, just like you would expect from religious chorals

p.s.: Already before listening to it I was pretty impressed by the amount of samples you used and after listening even more. Great Work
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 1:33 AM
Confession of sorts: I finished this remix in about 6 hours. After that I went exploring to see what others made with your stems (decided to do this after remixing, and not before). In one comment that you left for one remixer, you wrote that you didn’t like straight remixes (i.e. you prefer to have the stems chopped up). I went “uh oh…” and thought you have pretty high standards for remixes of your stems. Got me worried. Then came uploading day, you were the 2nd reviewer and you wrote the track “sounds great BUT…”, the “but” made me go “uh oh” a second time, LOL. Had to reassure myself the thumbs-up you gave meant this remix passed your standards. So I’m glad :) I might attempt another remix of your excellent stems.
 
.
permalink   remaxim Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 7:13 AM
heh … I don’t really have high standards for remixes of my stems… I just told that I prefer chopped up samples as the remixer wrote he was afraid of changing my music too much back then. So yeah, I basically like creative and experimental remixes, because if I want to listen to the originals I also do so :P … but don’t have anything against remixes that just add new flavors to the stems

Sorry for scaring you, the but was rather a compliment than anything else. Your track is pretty complex and just take a while too fully taste all its flavours. And your remix very much does to my stuff what I like the most: taking it out of context and giving it a new one, you definitely made the sources all yours
Anchor
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 3:42 AM
nice work Ivan - I like your musical frames of reference too.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 1:37 AM
thanks! receiving your positive reviews is great encouragement.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 5:38 AM
I find it astonishing that so far, there have been so many poolside songs that try to speak to the soul…. and this one does that from so many moods… from tinkly pianos in a concert hall, to gravelly voices to chants, to raging electric guitars.

This is like a kaleidoscope, or what aliens might hear fiddling with their Earth-directed radio telescope from a few light years away.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 1:39 AM
Quote: admiralbob77This is like a kaleidoscope, or what aliens might hear fiddling with their Earth-directed radio telescope from a few light years away. Now that’s a very interesting perspective… certainly fits the theme and sounds like a possible music video concept! :)
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 8:39 AM
Ivan! This is a fantastic track! A mesmerizing collage of sound, feel and intent that works remarkably well, most certainly effecting an emotional response. Bravo!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 1:40 AM
Hey Susan, thanks for your encouragement!
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 10:20 AM
love the mystery and development of this track, and greatly appreciate its sentiment as well. lovely.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 1:42 AM
YAY!!! … ok, admittedly that was an uncool reaction, but I don’t care, LOL. Thanks for listening and commenting.
Darkangel
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 10:49 AM
I find this has a pretty epic feel in the first half,,say in a movie..like your just about to fight a god,then goes a bit back down then comes in hard again,,really great stuff :)
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 1:46 AM
Thanks!!! I was aiming for that overall intent, though I didn’t imagine it to be an epic fight. But that said, I like your interpretation of the music :) I’ve discovered several ccMixters (like yourself) who seem to visualise music.
copperhead
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 11:21 AM
Very interesting remix Ivan. I am amazed what you did here considering how many samples you used!~ I know it wasn’t easy and had to consume many hours. I really enjoyed listening to this
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 1:49 AM
Was 6 hours considered a lot? In truth, remaxim’s stems were a dream to work with: clean and BPMs provided. Left me plenty of time to execute ideas. Thanks for the thumbs up! Really appreciate it.
Anomaly_Jonez
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 7, 2010 @ 11:10 PM
sweet and funky, i like the vocal mix with the hard kicks and organ melody. good job.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 1:58 AM
Thanks! Appreciate the encouragement.
debbizo
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 5:37 AM
Listening again and I have to say I am really impressed with this musical tapestry…particularly the Gregorian chantness of it.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 6:12 AM
oooh, thanks for listening again :) Must have been a slow day at work for you! LOL (KIDDING!) Thanks, Deb.
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 30, 2010 @ 5:49 AM
I was looking for a poem to use in a song I’m working on. Didn’t expect to find a song in my search, but I’m glad I did, Great song!
The song I’m working on sounds a bit like this one, so it’s a good inspiration.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Wed, Sep 1, 2010 @ 8:20 AM
Glad that this song could be repurposed! :) Thanks for the comment.