Listen to Break the Silence Remixes
skip
Home » People » Ivan Chew » Dark Woods II » Reviews

Reviews for "Dark Woods II"

Dark Woods II
by Ivan Chew
Recommends (23)
Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 7:24 AM

Uses samples from:

 
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 10:08 AM
Not only do I love how you and Fireproof Babies are building on each other’s work in the spirit of the “musical conversation,” but the music itself is just terrific — emotional, beautiful, haunting. Bravo!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Feb 8, 2010 @ 2:36 AM
Thanks, Susan! My hope is that this may result in a thread of songs that could form a story in itself. We’ll see :)
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 10:42 AM
Hi Ivan … i hear autumn, mist amongst the trees, suspense, loss, longing. This is really, really good.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Feb 8, 2010 @ 2:39 AM
Quote: urmymuse… i hear autumn, mist amongst the trees, suspense, loss, longing.We’re on the same frequency here; glad it worked. Thanks for the affirmation!
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 10:48 AM
thank the good lord psychedelia lives in the hearts & fingers of you two gifted young brothers. don’t be shy, tell ‘em ‘bout it.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Feb 8, 2010 @ 2:44 AM
Psychedelia? I guess music is a kind for drug! LOL.
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 1:19 PM
Wow….I am very pleased with the song. Everything fits now; and with a back-story. I can picture it in my mind’s eye. Thank you!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Feb 8, 2010 @ 2:45 AM
No man, thank you. For the inspiration. I saw a whole new story from your version.
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 7, 2010 @ 7:39 AM
Yes. Your description is very apt. Crouching Tiger is still one of my favourites, and this brings that ending to life.

Very real. Very powerful.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Feb 8, 2010 @ 2:48 AM
I was confident someone would make the Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon connection. Didn’t expect it to be you! :)
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Mon, Feb 8, 2010 @ 4:31 PM
One never knows what to expect from ol’ Colab.
 
.
permalink   colab Mon, Feb 8, 2010 @ 4:43 PM
I like to think of myself as mostly harmless. :)
coruscate
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 11, 2010 @ 5:20 PM
ZOMG THIS IS CRAZY AWESOME! I can’t praise this mix enough right. I’m working on a soundtrack for a film and I’ll see if I can’t get this one on our playlist for the film.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Sep 12, 2010 @ 12:18 AM
Heh, I opened up my email today and was wondering where all the sudden swamp of recommends and reviews were from (but I’m not complaining!) Your comments made my day, ‘cos I just love to see how the serendipitous musical mash-ups get re-purposed. I’d love to see how your film turns out. Never mind if you use this track or not. Cheers!
 
.
permalink   coruscate Sun, Sep 12, 2010 @ 12:23 AM
I felt the same about Mellow Collie (you used it). We’re not using the track but he didn ask me to remix the guitars and make a downtempo piece out of it so I will…
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Sep 12, 2010 @ 12:41 AM
Cool. I’m aware that you can probably do a good remix (I don’t have credits on IMDB!), but just in case you need any additional guitar work, feel free to contact me via email via my ccMixter profile page.
 
.
permalink   coruscate Sun, Sep 12, 2010 @ 1:47 AM
Well I am humble about the IMBD thing. I’m not Mixmaster Mike… yet. But ANYWAY…

…we’re looking at downtempo stuff (we’re making a classic style intrigue movie called “The Branch Report”) so if you want to play something at a low BPM range I’ll definitely try to use it ASAP.

Here’s the facebook page for the film.
http://www.facebook.com/pag...