Perspectives Playlist at Art Gallery Oct 12
skip

Reviews for "The Fool who was the King"

The Fool who was the King
by radiotimes
Recommends (12)
Thu, Jan 1, 2009 @ 1:49 AM
 
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 1, 2009 @ 4:43 AM
First of all, Happy New Year squire…

Ok so here’s why I like this mix. Its colourful, fills my headphones up with sounds that compliment each other via pan / contrasting EQ and mixture. The slow drum i love and just listening to the pella, its a perfect fit.

Nice touch on the verbed backing vox (slightly panned :-). Pizzicato…another sound i love.

Real nice job RT.
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 1, 2009 @ 8:29 AM
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. I love this! The guitar meshes in really well, and the vocals are very well mixed. The one single thing I would change is to bring the horn runs and hits at the end down just a little bit in volume. Otherwise, great stuff!
essesq
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 1, 2009 @ 8:45 AM
And the honor for my first listen and review for the New Year goes to … (drumroll)… RT!!! (Cut to audience cheering wildly … )

I don’t listen to nearly enough here…one more resolution (sigh) but what gets me to listen is often the notes someone writes. Yours caught me here, and the fact that you used a Kitka sample.. I love those ladies. Norine isn’t bad either, mind you.

So to the review … I like this because it is a fine example of a result that could only be born of the process of remixing. The blend of textures and treatments would never happen if you had a bunch of musicians loafing about in even the finest of recording studios (I know if anyone reads this I’ll get one nitwit who will send me examples of pre-remixing recordings to prove me wrong, but I don’t care.)

So well done RT..you continue to keep the flame alive for remixers everywhere who want to keep finding new ways to stretch the boundaries … and that’s why I like your notes :-).
panu
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 1, 2009 @ 9:30 AM
a mind & heart-grabbing mix on a melody that would sound exotic in any culture. quite unique & enjoyable!
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 1, 2009 @ 1:44 PM
One of the best things you have ever done.
AT
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 1, 2009 @ 9:42 PM
This is brilliant RT—-does your imagination ever fail? Really great production as well.
Anchor
.
permalink   Fri, Jan 2, 2009 @ 5:09 AM
An absolutely Grand way to begin 2009…a potpourri of exotica - delicious sounds and enticing vocals and effects. That Elephant horn and the distant Tibetan children’s choir add some dream-world spice. Dramatic and special work RT. I Love it.
Scomber
.
permalink   Fri, Jan 2, 2009 @ 5:21 AM
wow dude.
What did Tarzan say when he saw the elephants stampeding towards him?
“Oh my goodness the elephants are coming!”
What did Tarzan say when he saw the elephants thundering towards him wearing sunglasses?
Nothing. He didn’t recognize them.
So many different sounds and images in this mix I don’t where to start… so I won’t.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 4, 2009 @ 2:05 PM
Impressive, epic, cinematic!
shagrugge
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 11:27 AM
now that is quite an assortment of sounds you’ve combined there. Great use of Norine Braun’s vocal.