Beauty of Perspective Event
skip

Reviews for "Please Don't Wish Me A Merry Christmas"

TheDICE
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 2, 2011 @ 3:14 PM
fantastic track!
This will be my music at christmas !!

very good job, thanks for this song, so true and funny.

Fa la la is wonderful.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Dec 3, 2011 @ 4:48 AM
Thanks you! I’m thrilled you enjoyed it so much! I had a lot of fun adding the ‘fa la la’- I’m glad it stood out to you.
Jeris
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 2, 2011 @ 3:33 PM
Note to self… must get a real melodica : )
Love melodica and uke, just such a positive sound…which you always bring as well.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Dec 3, 2011 @ 4:52 AM
Awwww man, you could rock a real melodica! It’s almost too fun to play. And I’m getting pretty addicted to the uke (as one can tell from my latest uploads)- my poor guitar hasn’t been touched in months! Thank you for listening, Jeris.
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 2, 2011 @ 3:51 PM
Hehe cool track
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Dec 3, 2011 @ 4:53 AM
Thanks, AA! :D
Speck
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 2, 2011 @ 4:46 PM
Get thee behind me Santa. Fun mood and instrumentation. I like it.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Dec 3, 2011 @ 4:54 AM
Fun- that’s what I was goin’ for. Thank ya’, Speck.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 2, 2011 @ 7:13 PM
Fun and true to you. I like the fa la la too. And I love that you used the word “secular” in a song! I can certainly appreciate your sentiment. Merry, merry to you and yours.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Dec 3, 2011 @ 5:19 AM
Thanks, SackJo. I’m really glad the fun stands out. Using “secular” in a song is a first for me (another topic checked off the list!). ;) I hope you have a wonderfully festive, cheer-filled holiday.
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 3, 2011 @ 5:08 AM
destined to be a ‘secular’ classic. excellent writing & backing track. ho damn ho.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Dec 3, 2011 @ 5:31 AM
Thank you, panu! And a fa damn la to you! ;)
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 3, 2011 @ 7:13 AM
This is so bloody Christmassy!! I adore it. I wish I could recommend it. xxxx
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Dec 4, 2011 @ 5:27 AM
Thank you so kindly, Ciggi. I’m delighted that you adore it!!
Down With Ben
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 3, 2011 @ 7:18 AM
Very clever and catchy, even though I still do believe in Santa….. :) Happy New Year to you!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Dec 4, 2011 @ 5:34 AM
Why thank you, Ben. I hope Santa fills your stocking with delicious treats and has a HUGE package under the tree for you! Happy New Year to you, too!
magmavander
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 3, 2011 @ 3:07 PM
Acidic and refreshing like a zest of green lime in a ‘ti punch’. Put a smile on my face. Thanks for that.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Dec 4, 2011 @ 5:36 AM
Likewise, your review put a smile on mine! Thank you, magmavander. Love that description.
mandthedband
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 3, 2011 @ 3:54 PM
I love the idea of a different perspective; e.g. I was thinking about writing a song on how hard winter could be for homeless, and how for them Christmas can be just another day to survive to.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Dec 4, 2011 @ 5:37 AM
Thank you, M. Your song idea is FANTASTIC. I’d love to hear it manifest.
 
.
permalink   mandthedband Fri, Dec 9, 2011 @ 3:36 AM
Unfortunately I am stuck, I doubt I will finish anything in a short amount of time!
CSoul
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 4, 2011 @ 4:45 AM
I agree with the others , so true and funny.I liked so much your the different point of view.Congrats Kara ,
peace
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Dec 4, 2011 @ 5:38 AM
Thank you, CSoul! Such a kind review! I’m just so happy that this song came across so well.
Anchor
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 4, 2011 @ 7:27 AM
How about Merry Mithras

or in my case ‘happy birthday’…..
Love your tongue-in-cheekiness lyrics…
a realistic look at our well-intentioned yet misdirected attempts to spread Love.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Dec 5, 2011 @ 10:00 AM
Thanks for the history lesson. I enjoy learning about such things…

Happy Birthday to you, Anchor!

Thank you for your kind words… how I deeply wish the worlds religions focused on love…
Hans Atom
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 5, 2011 @ 4:42 AM
Thanks for taking care of the metaphysical homeless, Kara! Much enjoyed!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Dec 5, 2011 @ 10:01 AM
Fantastic! Thank you for listening, Hans. It was quite fun to write and record- I’m glad to know you enjoyed it!
Steven M Bryant
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 5, 2011 @ 6:22 PM
Wow Kara!!! This is funny cool fresh and as always so very creative! The Lyric is so very good! Coolest tune I’ve heard today!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Dec 6, 2011 @ 8:30 AM
Thank you! You’re so kind.
 
.
permalink   Steven M Bryant Tue, Dec 6, 2011 @ 8:40 AM
Anytime Kara
Snowflake
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 6, 2011 @ 10:48 AM
my how i love this!!!! brilliant alternative to the same old same old. thanks for your creative, loving candor.

happy new year :D
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Tue, Dec 6, 2011 @ 11:00 AM
your track has obviously inspired me! i thought to let you know we are Occupying Christmas in our household — only homemade, handcrafted gifts for our kids and each other (except some underwear for the kids).

what’s on our Occupy Christmas list? songs for each of the kids (i’m recording pells now and hoping for remix help from ya’ll as part of the gift giving!), personalized art, knitted scarfs and gloves (made by my neighbor) and jellies from fruit we grew and canned ourselves. Fa la la la la!! :)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Dec 6, 2011 @ 1:14 PM
LOVE it! Occupy Christmas! You all seriously rock. Thanks for sharing the details, too (I woulda wondered). mmm… jellies…
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Thu, Dec 15, 2011 @ 12:53 AM
We were just listening to this tune and commenting on the notion of Occupy Christmas … and then we read Emily’s comment. She beat us to the punch line.

Occupy Jupiter fund raiser is hilarious http://www.youtube.com/watc...
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Thu, Dec 15, 2011 @ 7:11 AM
Thanks for sharing (and listening). Funny, indeed.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Dec 15, 2011 @ 8:28 AM
hahahah! awesome. that darn Jupiter — taking up all the gases for itself ;)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Dec 6, 2011 @ 1:07 PM
This is another piece that wouldn’t exist w/o the inspiration from ccM. Thank YOU for helping make that possible. I was nervous about sharing it, but I really wanted this point of view represented for the project. I’m so glad it’s been so well received (don’t you just love how open-minded our community is??) Happy New Year to you, too!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Tue, Dec 6, 2011 @ 2:38 PM
ccM is one of the only things that gives me hope for our world. seriously. thanks for being such a vibrant part of our collective, open-creative space!
ephemeral rift
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 8, 2011 @ 6:09 PM
This is a highly regarded piece in my book on so many levels. Atypical. Honest. You never disappoint Kara!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Dec 9, 2011 @ 12:09 PM
Thank you so much, Paul. You’re so kind.
 
.
permalink   ephemeral rift Fri, Dec 9, 2011 @ 3:51 PM
:) I hope you turn this into a video.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Dec 16, 2011 @ 8:47 AM
Your wish come true… :D Happy New Year, friend!