Listen to Break the Silence Remixes
skip
Home » People » kulimu » Autumn » Reviews

Reviews for "Autumn"

Autumn
by kulimu
Recommends (7)
Tue, Jan 8, 2008 @ 6:15 AM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
narva9
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 8, 2008 @ 7:22 PM
very lovely…thank you!

n9
 
.
permalink   kulimu Wed, Jan 9, 2008 @ 3:45 PM
You’re the one I should thank for the inspiration!
gurdonark
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 9, 2008 @ 2:44 AM
Cool percussion to start us off—simple and fun. Then the synth picks up which is cool, but the virtual beat under it is not as much fun as the original percussion.

The synth and vocals work well together. The uptempo approach works very well. The backing drone melody is very nice.

It’s always Autumn in my heart.

I really like the way you’ve got some pretty synth melody going here. That little guitar-ish sound around 2 is really, really nice.

The only part of this mix that gives me pause is the very virtual beat like the underpinning that arises once more at 2.30. Perhaps if it were put through an xciter effect or glitched up just a bit I’d like it better.

You really bring that vocal to life. I could imagine that you might put in a slow, atmospheric break for the vocals in mid-stream.

I really like this. You’ve got such a rich, melodic, and vocal-appropriate mix here. The sterotype about trance is that it’s all the same-y sounding, but this one defies the stereotype and goes all sorts of interesting places. I think you did a really good job on the mix, and your musical choices on the melody and rhythm section are quite good. A good job.
 
.
permalink   kulimu Wed, Jan 9, 2008 @ 4:03 PM
Wow, thanks for the review! It’s so satisfying to have a long review full of nice words and wise advice!

I hadn’t even noticed the “virtual beat” sounded so bad until you mentionned it. Now it just feels completely static and stupid.

I spent 30 minutes working on a better alternative, but I’m not really convinced by the results either (with most of my tweaks, the mix just gets muddy and less powerful, and the beat gets too distracting). I guess I’ll have to listen closely to some trance beats to get a better idea of what’s needed. I could also try some beatless trance à la Kaito I guess :-)

By the way, I’m not sure I get what an xciter is. Is it a filter with a high resonance value?
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Jan 9, 2008 @ 4:18 PM
Thanks for the reply. It’s a matter of taste about beats. I certainly never think something is bad just because it sounds computer-generated. A lot of trance uses really robotic sounds. So I’m not in agreement that your sound was static or stupid. To me, though, you could do something more fun.

I like exciter effects (I used the shorthand xciter because my own favored vst uses that name), because if applied to different parts of the beats they can make the beats acquire a sound of wild variation without impairing the basic beats. A discussion of how an exciter works is at wikipedia here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wik...

Some of my music can be a bit noisy, and I tend to use an exciter to add to raucousness with some inconsistent highs and lows rather than to just enhance the sound and seek clarity.

I love beatless, but I think you can keep your beats—my suggestion is just to apply fx to the beats in different sections, not to vary the tempo, but to give them a more alive and varied sound. There’s rarely a beat so constant, in my view, that a little manipulation won’t make it more fun.

It’s just an opinion, though, and I sure don’t want to sound like I have any particular genius at trance work.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 10, 2008 @ 10:11 PM
Really nice work.
I’m feeling the beat, simple 4/4 house/ dance beat, which is great for dancing. I also love Narva 9’s vocals on this. I’ve yet to remix her, for fear that i won’t do her justice. I really like what you done. Good work.
s.c.mixer
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 17, 2008 @ 3:05 PM
Wooooooow, your mixes are getting better every time!

This one’s really great. I never expected to hear Narva 9 in a dance mix! :P
The melody construction is wonderful, and the vocal samples are perfectly placed.

I heard to it many times, really nice!
I think it deserves a better ending (not just a fade out) but great anyway.