Perspectives Playlist at Art Gallery Oct 12
skip

Reviews for "The Stars Look Different (Ziggy Stardust Mix)"

The Stars Look Different (Zig...
by spinningmerkaba
Recommends (24)
Wed, Jan 13, 2016 @ 7:42 PM

Samples are used in:

 
short hopper
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 13, 2016 @ 8:08 PM
Love everything about this piece. Beautifully executed, fitting tribute.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Sat, Jan 16, 2016 @ 11:21 AM
thanks short hopper.
Speck
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 14, 2016 @ 2:50 AM
Nice tribute, sweet send-off.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Sat, Jan 16, 2016 @ 11:22 AM
We all have a muse, and he certainly followed his.
latopa
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 14, 2016 @ 12:40 PM
The layed back drum beat..
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Sat, Jan 16, 2016 @ 11:24 AM
It’s the tempo of space oddity. Really pulls everything down and opens up space.
 
.
permalink   latopa Sat, Jan 16, 2016 @ 12:13 PM
Yes bros, Bowie knew how to explore his world (space) with fantastic musicians. The epic Blackstar, says a lot of is talent to compose with life and it’s finality.

A great big miss in our music world. Great homage you did to Bowie.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 14, 2016 @ 2:52 PM
Awesome tribute, Spin. Goosebump inducing.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Sat, Jan 16, 2016 @ 11:25 AM
Thanks Kara. I feel it in my heart. It came out a bit more sad than I had intended, but it’s been sad month so far. In the air I guess.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 16, 2016 @ 9:42 AM
i love the intro. beautiful incorporation of Dimitri’s violin over Bowie-esque guitar chords. thank you for paying tribute to an incredible artist that so greatly influenced music and all of us.

p.s. i’d love the guitar and drum stems….
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Sat, Jan 16, 2016 @ 11:20 AM
.flac stems are online in a .zip file now! I didn’t include the drum stems cuz they are sooo simple I thought they are easily reproduced?

thanks for the ed pick!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jan 17, 2016 @ 12:17 PM
thanks for the stems! yes, i want the drums!!! :D
CSoul
.
permalink   Fri, Jan 29, 2016 @ 1:09 PM
A Great Master job.Congrats Jason.
I hope Bowie listening it at the Other Side with pleasure just like me.
Thanks and peace
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Wed, Feb 3, 2016 @ 9:29 PM
Thanks CSoul. If we are all waves or vibrations, then maybe he is hearing these tones mixed in with the voice of the world paying tribute to his talent. We won’t know until we get there. We still have some songs to play!
 
.
permalink   CSoul Fri, Feb 12, 2016 @ 2:31 PM
Sure i know , We won’t know until we get there.
Sure i know , We still have some songs to play.
i feel all souls are a part of same unique soul.
he created it and it is a deep part of my soul
and now
you created it again and also it is a deep part of my soul,
shortly , i feel that i am into it as a part as a soul
Great thanks again,
peace
spinmeister
.
permalink   Wed, Feb 3, 2016 @ 1:14 PM
I didn’t dare to listen to this until just now — to allow a bit of additional temporal distance. And of course I’m only writing this, because your remix spoke to me. And its melancholy nature isn’t entirely inappropriate - also in the context of some of Ziggie’s work - there were many melancholic undertones in his music.

Mortality bites. Fortunately music can stick around much longer than any of us. And that’s kind of cool.

Side note: Found the fragility of the acoustic contrasted by the strength of the electric serving as fitting musical symbolism for maybe not only our human existence, but maybe even all of life: Very fragile, yet also so incredibly strong and tough.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Wed, Feb 3, 2016 @ 9:24 PM
The mix took on a feel of it’s own, and I am honored to know it struck a chord with you. Life is fragile, and tough. Music helps balance those extremes and bring us closer to our hearts. Thanks for listening!
Lisa Coffey
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 3, 2016 @ 5:43 AM
Thanks CSoul. If we are all waves or vibrations, then maybe he is hearing these tones mixed in with the voice of the world paying tribute to his talent. We won’t know until we get there. We still have some songs to play!
Thanks
http://www.followthesteps.n...
meritcoba
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 8, 2016 @ 9:57 AM
I found myself unable to ask a question about the music, so I used the review option. If anyone knows how to ask a question, let me know.

I like the music and applaud the musician for it, but I am in doubt if it is useful as it borrows from Space Oddity. I wonder if anyone knows if that flies with youtube? If that is not the case, it is nice but useless as any movie or other project will get flagged. Perhaps a fair warning would then be nice.
Wendy Darling
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 22, 2016 @ 2:00 PM
I’m a huge Bowie fan, been in mourning / celebration the past couple of months. I was on ccMixter looking for music for a video project and saw this. I can’t use it for my project, wrong mood, but just wanted to stop and say I really like what you did here. I recommended it to some friends of mine. It’s dreamy.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Tue, Mar 22, 2016 @ 2:15 PM
Thanks for the kind words, and thanks for listening!