Time of Terror Remix Event
skip
Home » People » spinningmerkaba » horizons » Reviews

Reviews for "horizons"

horizons
by spinningmerkaba
Recommends (21)
Tue, Dec 14, 2010 @ 10:57 PM
 
Snowflake
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 14, 2010 @ 11:16 PM
love the air in your voice. cool groove. the lyrics really speak to me…..
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 15, 2010 @ 4:20 AM
I love the concept of this (and of course the execution too.)

The dry bass and drums, with only the bells providing air, gives your vocal the room to stretch out, and as a result you turn in one of your most impassioned performances, even though you’re singing in a laid back fashion.

The rap portion has an edge that takes just a little of the sweetness off the underlying lyric, and puts a little toughness into it. It really works.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 15, 2010 @ 11:58 AM
I love the whole sound of this track — gentle and in your face at the same time. The melody is also quite catchy, I find myself humming along, “expand your horizons… ” Why not tag it as a remix too?
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Wed, Dec 15, 2010 @ 2:55 PM
Thanks Sackjo22. I’m not really sure it’s a remix. The track I just put together as a quick framework to sing over. But I did use error404’s sample?
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Wed, Dec 15, 2010 @ 3:00 PM
Without engaging in a long discussion about what makes a remix, imo this is a remix — you took someone else’s material, and worked with it to make something different from its original state. It did not start out with a lyric and melody — and now it has both.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Wed, Dec 15, 2010 @ 3:27 PM
sweet! pells samples and a mix all in one. I’ll take it :-)
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Wed, Dec 15, 2010 @ 3:33 PM
Very cool! In case you haven’t noticed, I do it all the time!
 
.
permalink   septahelix Wed, Dec 15, 2010 @ 8:42 PM
can you do the reverse of this? put pellas to original music then upload it as a whole song and a sample upload? it seems like a lot of people do this, but i’m not sure what the rules are exactly.
 
.
permalink   Admiral Bob Thu, Dec 16, 2010 @ 4:26 AM
Sure you can: a remix is simply this - you created a piece incorporating someone else’s stuff. And you can upload samples to a remix. I do that all the time!
 
.
permalink   septahelix Thu, Dec 16, 2010 @ 4:25 PM
cool. thanks bob.
septahelix
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 15, 2010 @ 8:40 PM
i don’t think i’ve really heard anything like this really. it sort of has the gorillas in there with an ambient overtone. great track.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 20, 2010 @ 12:23 PM
The sounds, the feel, your voice… this is fabulous… and very cool.