Ocean Dreams Music Event
skip

Reviews for "God Bless Our Land (Independence Day)"

God Bless Our Land (Independe...
by gurdonark
Recommends (18)
Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 2:49 PM

Samples are used in:

 
colab
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 6:45 PM
You’re a good kid. Thanks for sharing this one.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Jul 8, 2009 @ 12:12 AM
Thanks for listening!
essesq
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 7:34 PM
Yup, one nation, under … (insert benificent being of choice, or not), enshrouded in weirdbience, with Liberty and Justice for All.

I wonder if we could all engage fully in the act of listening alone if this country and indeed the world might be different.

Happy Independence Day, Gurdonark :-).
 
.
permalink   essesq Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 7:35 PM
…oops forgot to mention how lovely SackJo sounds…
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Jul 8, 2009 @ 12:13 AM
I agree with you about listening—and indeed,the world.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 10:17 PM
This is an elegant composition, combining organic and manufactured sounds in your unique voice, reflecting your thoughtfulness and intention to express something meaningful. Thank you so very, very much for inviting me to be a part of this beautiful atmosphere and message.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Jul 8, 2009 @ 12:15 AM
I don’t do the vocals justice, but it sure was fun! Thanks for providing such great vocals.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 4, 2009 @ 6:41 AM
A brave and exceptional creative piece which is absolutely fascinating to experience. Thank you, Gurdonark. I hope you’re enjoying this special day in America. x
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Jul 8, 2009 @ 12:16 AM
We had a great Fourth—though quiet, and we missed out on the fireworks. Thank you for the kind review, and for listening and commenting.
judielaine
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 4, 2009 @ 8:04 AM
Mister E and i are listening while i visit him in his isolation room. He seems to like the bird sounds a great deal, and meows along with the female vocals. I enjoyed the guitar by the campfire, and felt that i’d spent a day celebrating independence. Mister E wants independence, too.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Jul 8, 2009 @ 12:16 AM
I sure hope Mr. E is feeling better. I am glad he knows how to sing backup!
teru
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 4, 2009 @ 4:23 PM
I enjoyed this very, very much.

Happy 233rd.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Jul 8, 2009 @ 12:17 AM
Thanks, Teru. I turn 50 this year, so I guess I’ll’ve seen 50/233rds of the whole darn thing.
duckett
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 4, 2009 @ 9:45 PM
Your work always makes the windmills of my mind grind more finely… Thanks for this.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Jul 8, 2009 @ 12:18 AM
What a kind comment! Thank you.
Speck
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 7, 2009 @ 8:02 AM
Well god bless you for still having the ability to believe in mankind’s potential. It helps to take up the slack of people like me who’s faith falters in the daily evidence to the contrary. Anyway, this is a very heartfelt and effective piece, despite my discomfort with the concept of ‘our’ land, or ‘god’ for that matter. Well done.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Jul 8, 2009 @ 12:20 AM
I know what you mean about “our land” and “god”, as regardless of my own faith, as I like songs to be as inclusive as possible. But we didn’t change what the fellow wrote. I’m grateful for the kind words about the piece!
Lucas Gonze
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 12, 2009 @ 10:18 PM
Thanks for inviting me to contribute to this, Gurdonark. I had a good time working on it.

It was an interesting mode for making music. There was a MIDI recording of the melody, played very slow and with a slight hiccup in the time signature. Also a piece of sheet music from Mutopia with the gory details.

I really like that you took on the genre of patriotic songs. It’s bold and creative.

I like the flavor of the piece, with the peaceful feeling and the blanket of non-tonal scratching gluing everything together. You took this to a place that’s not at all about the military, and at the same time kept the american identity theme recognizable.

AIFF/MP3 stems for my parts are here:
http://soupgreens.com/2009/...