Temperate Transitions Secret Mixter--Sign Up
skip
Home » People » gurdonark » Moodle » Reviews

Reviews for "Moodle"

Moodle
by gurdonark
Recommends (12)
Sat, Dec 1, 2007 @ 8:57 PM

Samples are used in:

 
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 1, 2007 @ 10:10 PM
..Love it…!
(many mechanical sounds interest me, i’ll try to know where you’ve found them..but the list is..impressive..!)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Dec 2, 2007 @ 3:35 AM
Thanks! I love mechanical sounds, too, especially when they can be used as the “solo” parts of a song.
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 1, 2007 @ 10:58 PM
G- I gotta give you props 4 being brave with this. I like it, and I Love the Jack-Ass braying! You have inspired me with your courage; as I have a piece called “alien world” that I’ve been afraid to post ‘cause it’s a bit extraordinary.
I love your stuff, man; and your whole attitude towards sound.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Dec 2, 2007 @ 3:37 AM
Thanks. I think that part of remix culture is that we can do extraordinary things. I don’t do as much experiment for experiment’s sake these days, but I do like to do things that find music in unexpected places.
essesq
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 2, 2007 @ 3:09 AM
A fascinating and enchanting bit of work Gurdonark … I was listening to this mix as I put my first cup of coffee up to my lips this morning, while it was still dark outside and the freshness of the new day had not yet been shattered by all the things that typically shatter it. I mention this because it is the perfect frame of mind with which to approach your mix.

What impresses me (apart from the list of samples which is insane), is the fact that this mix is music, it is not just sound collage. It has structure and what I seem to need when I am listening, familiarity. The sounds of the familiar objects and animals, etc are similar to the “hooks” in a pop song, they capture your attention and draw you in.

I am suggesting that while works like this may look like a bit of madness, there’s a lot more method that goes into them. Now that may go against the idea of a moodle conceptually, and if it does, I am sorry. I just think it’s worth recognizing the effort and thought that goes into making something like this.

Nice work, thanks very much for this most unexpected start to my day.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Dec 2, 2007 @ 3:41 AM
Thanks for the review. I’m glad that my intention, that the overall effect be music rather than sound collage, came through.
I suppose if I were an experimentalist I’d just have laced in the first samples that came up randomly; in fact, though, I listened to a great number of samples to select those used here, and I wanted each sample to serve as a kind of “instrument” (right down to the sheep on vocals) as part of making this a song.

I like the idea of listening to this to start the morning. I think of the song as more in line with whimsy and child-like music than with the midnight moods of solemn experimenration.

Thanks for your kind words, and for recognizing that, for better or worse, this one is a result of method more than madness.
duckett
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 2, 2007 @ 4:23 AM
I’m liking this a whole lot, I know I haven’t uploaded too much like it, but I do work on similar material ( I’m just not willing to sacrifice the long track-times for lesser quality-of-upload, and plus I include some material from old cassette tapes of TV shows on some tracks, and we know that wouldn’t fly here). Love it, hope your December is as intersting and relaxing as your Moodle :)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Dec 3, 2007 @ 6:00 AM
Thanks, Duckett. It’s hard to sacrifice track times, although I tend these days to go the other way, and go rather short in my creations. Now that archive.org has all those public domain movies, perhaps you can do some pastiches using those great old-time movie voices instead of 60s tv shows.
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Dec 3, 2007 @ 7:29 AM
Cool idea… but (heh) I meant stuff that I had taped on an audio cassette when I was a kid, (which was the 70’s) but the same thing applies. The long stuff I do is more for me to enjoy, if somebody else liked 20-min. long tracks of 44 kHz ambient weirdness, they could ask me to burn ‘em a CD, but I’m not expecting droves of fans fer that ;)
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Dec 3, 2007 @ 7:31 AM
I noticed everyone loves the sheep; is there an unconscious Philip K. Dick subtext going on?
;)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Dec 4, 2007 @ 6:31 PM
I believe it may be a Kukla Fran and Ollie lamb puppet reference that would be equally obscure.
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Dec 4, 2007 @ 7:53 PM
weird also how we both just snagged “Blade Runner” naughtiness… I liked “Kukla Fran and Ollie”, thanks fer the memory-trigger ;)
teru
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 2, 2007 @ 12:02 PM
Absolutely beautiful. Intelligent chaos.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Dec 4, 2007 @ 6:29 PM
thanks, Teru. It was fun to let my whimsy find me.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 2, 2007 @ 12:10 PM
Your Imagination never cease to amaze me.
Not only beautiful to the ears but also stimulates the mind.
Another gem
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Dec 4, 2007 @ 6:30 PM
You’re very kind, and I appreciate it. It was fun to try this different kind of thing, which works in the way my mind works.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 2, 2007 @ 12:50 PM
A track/soundcollage that kept me interested from the first second on.
It-s done so nice on a high level and i like especially the brass theme and this twinkling synth.

Impressive work that puts a big smile on face too!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Dec 4, 2007 @ 6:32 PM
Thanks, Joe. My biggest ambietion for this mix was to give rise to a smile. Those bucky jonson samples are so good—and I’ve only done a little with them here. I hope you and others will do mixes which do them better justice.
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 2, 2007 @ 1:22 PM
this is just so very very cool. it’s so linear and yet so non-linear. :)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Dec 4, 2007 @ 6:33 PM
It is in one 3 minute piece a complete reason why I could never get those songfight songs right.
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 2, 2007 @ 1:55 PM
the sheep made the track for me…
good stuff g.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Dec 4, 2007 @ 6:33 PM
I knew the track would work when I added the sheep. thanks.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 2, 2007 @ 4:32 PM
In the opening credits of Contact with Jodie Foster there is one of the longest space CG sequences ever put on film.

The sountrack is the flotsam and jetsom of all the broadcast noises we emit from the earth which drift off to who knows where in the galaxy

In some sort of collective way they all make sense because they represent us in audio form.

Nice to think this might be interpeted by some life form not of earth as a very human calling card.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Dec 4, 2007 @ 6:34 PM
I love contact, and I love the idea of an endless sound collage, all around. It makes me want to download field recordings from http://www.wanderingear.com or http://www.soundtransit.nl and just float in foreign wildlife sounds.
G-Harp The Producer
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 2, 2007 @ 4:51 PM
I wouldn’t refer to this as a song so much as an experiment. What had me hooked was the sheep. The piece was so abstract and subliminal, quite astounding…
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Dec 4, 2007 @ 6:36 PM
thanks! It may be more experiment than song, though I hoped to make it seem like a song. The sheep are my favorite part, too, as well as the little gallop that runs from headphone to headphone.
ztutz
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 4, 2007 @ 10:07 PM
This cracks me up. It sounds like the barnyard outside my window in the summer, in time-lapse.

Thanks!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Dec 5, 2007 @ 2:05 AM
Thanks! I love that image of a barnyard in time-lapse.