Momentum Secret Mixter Playlist
skip
Home » People » Geert Veneklaas » Suitcase » Reviews

Reviews for "Suitcase"

Suitcase
by Geert Veneklaas
Recommends (31)
Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 12:17 PM

Samples are used in:

more...
 
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 13, 2008 @ 6:18 PM
Just right for a Sunday morning sat outside coffee in hand looking over the quiet fields.

The Cha Cha rhythym had me wanting to get up and sway a little across the lawn but I resisted!

A tad longer would have been better but I can always loop it!

Very nice work!
 
.
permalink   Geert Veneklaas Sun, Sep 14, 2008 @ 11:35 AM
Thanks RT ! It was an honour to contribute to your sundaymorning coffeemoment :-)
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 14, 2008 @ 3:46 AM
I feel the same general vibe as radiotimes. Very much a Sunday Morning mix.

But I’m on my 7th floor terrace drinking (tea, no milk) watching Amsterdam wake up. Of course it is midday and its actually me doing the waking up (up ‘till 4am ccMixtering ya see).

The tree’s sway above the apartments and buildings and the little people russle around the city or cycle here and there.

This is a great mood piece that should be hanging in an art gallery somewhere. Its easy to day dream with and the mix of voices keeps the flow interesting.

Anyhoo, ill stay here for a bit and ponder the day… I’m sure radiotimes still hasn’t got up and watered those roses in the corner of the garden yet :o)

There’s time… its a Sunday afterall.
 
.
permalink   Geert Veneklaas Sun, Sep 14, 2008 @ 11:52 AM
Thanks for the kind words Scott. But be sure to stay safe on your 7th floor balcony and don’t ‘get up and sway a little across the lawn’ like RT almost did ;-) I’m probably living at a 1 hour drive from you, but don’t have to much time for a hospital visit ;-)
Anchor
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 14, 2008 @ 5:23 AM
Thank You for this Geert…a beautiful sustaining musical picture…a perfect frame for Emily’s poem. I love it.
 
.
permalink   Geert Veneklaas Sun, Sep 14, 2008 @ 11:58 AM
Like I told you earlier Anchor, I’m so glad you like it ! I really feel that the Editorial Pick (which I really really appreciate LS!) should be given to anyone who has contributed to this piece. I just glued the pieces together… So Thank You !
onlymeith
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 14, 2008 @ 5:10 PM
An emotional work and very appropriate for Anchor. The pieces fit perfectly into the simple but perfect sound design. Excellent and wonderful strings. Don´t stop listening over and over again. Congratulations for this extraordinary mix.
 
.
permalink   Geert Veneklaas Mon, Sep 15, 2008 @ 12:04 AM
Wow, thanks onlymeith for the great review !
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 14, 2008 @ 8:14 PM
Greetings!
I used your remix here
http://jobobarikan.devianta...

Thanks!

JB
 
.
permalink   Geert Veneklaas Mon, Sep 15, 2008 @ 12:05 AM
Hey jobobarikan, thanks for using the mix, I appreciate it !
MarcoRaaphorst
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 15, 2008 @ 3:02 AM
nice moody track Geert!
 
.
permalink   Geert Veneklaas Mon, Sep 15, 2008 @ 5:37 AM
Thanks for the visit and for the ‘thumbs up’ Marco ! I appreciate it because you inspired me to join ccMixter…
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 16, 2008 @ 1:45 PM
dig the percussion, which fits great with the spoken word, and the strings add a certain cinematic richness to the storytelling. the innabar touch is very nice.
 
.
permalink   Geert Veneklaas Tue, Sep 16, 2008 @ 4:03 PM
The secret of this editor’s pick lies in the great sourcematerial :-)
Glad you like it !
AT
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 16, 2008 @ 7:08 PM
Hey Geert, just wanted to say thanks for using the percussion. Ive been feeling a very musically uninspired lately and its been driving me crazy—its a real nice boost for me to have something I did used so well. You paired me up with two people I find most interesting from cc as well.
Excellent remix— beautiful poem, just lovely all round.
 
.
permalink   Geert Veneklaas Wed, Sep 17, 2008 @ 1:55 PM
Thanks for the comment audiotechnica. Since when do you have less inspiration ? Your work on ccMixter and the number of recommendations tell me a different story :-)
duckett
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 17, 2008 @ 12:48 AM
Apparently, once again, I’m late to the party… but better late than never! Geert, you can claim it’s the sources all you like, and while I agree they’re wonderful samples, it’s similar to comparing Dürer against an amateur’s woodcut… the materials may be the same, but it’s the result that matters. A no-brainer Ed Pick for sure.
 
.
permalink   Geert Veneklaas Wed, Sep 17, 2008 @ 2:02 PM
You’re to kind, duckett. Still I think I bumped into a very nice piece of wood!
panu
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 17, 2008 @ 7:33 PM
a sensitive & masterfully produced soundbed for the poet ejc’s work. she is, for me, the female successor to w. h. auden. and lastly, a nod to my friend anchor, the most unselfconsciously creative ‘go to’ man of the arts there is. beautifully done!
 
.
permalink   Geert Veneklaas Sat, Sep 27, 2008 @ 11:33 AM
thank you !
KatazTrophee
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 24, 2008 @ 6:58 PM
brilliant

 
.
permalink   Geert Veneklaas Sat, Sep 27, 2008 @ 11:34 AM
glad you like it !
peachroseorchid
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 4, 2008 @ 4:09 PM
I could see this in an art gallery or simply sitting at home with some coffee and being inspired to make more art. Thank you for being so inspiring.
diSapia
.
permalink   Wed, Feb 4, 2009 @ 10:34 AM
Nice! I really like the use of this poem and strings to create a smooth and fairly epic tune!