Break the Silence Event-extended!
skip
Home » People » essesq » Hanging » Reviews

Reviews for "Hanging"

Hanging
by essesq
Recommends (26)
Fri, May 28, 2010 @ 9:32 PM

Uses samples from:

 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Fri, May 28, 2010 @ 11:14 PM
This is both eerie and romantic.
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, May 29, 2010 @ 5:51 AM
Thank you good Admiral. A good romance is always a bit eerie.
spinmeister
.
permalink   Fri, May 28, 2010 @ 11:48 PM
I think you may want to upload the backup accompaniment as a secondary file. ‘nuff said! :-)
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, May 29, 2010 @ 5:53 AM
Thank you :-). I haven’t listened to it without the vocals. I’ll consider it. I don’t feel like there’s enough there, but then again I saw how the sausage got made and that definitely clouds the vision :-).
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sat, May 29, 2010 @ 2:13 AM
I think you achieved your objective on this one, nicely done
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, May 29, 2010 @ 5:55 AM
Thank you very much. I think it’s important to tell people what you were trying to do. I wish more people would, especially those on the beginning end of the remixing experience spectrum.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, May 29, 2010 @ 12:45 PM
E. You did a terrific job with the track, creating an atmosphere of tension and longing through your rhythmic and melodic choices. Very well done! Bravo!
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, May 29, 2010 @ 4:32 PM
Thank you SJ :-). Glad the emotional element got through. I seem to gravitate towards darker sounds and there’s a heck of a lot I’m longing for these days so that’s probably what you’re hearing…beginning with more remixing skill :-). Only one way to get it …
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sun, May 30, 2010 @ 1:48 AM
I think you definitely have captured something here. It has a very ` In the the air tonight’ atmosphere about it and the piano puts it into Gabriel land. The whole piece feels very film noir.

I am guessing you have played some of this yourself rather than using loops so it feels more complete as a mix.

Well done and thanks for mixing me up. I think i am well hung ! :-)
 
.
permalink   essesq Sun, May 30, 2010 @ 4:20 AM
Thank you. For the record, bass and drums are loops, the rest is me, apart obviously from your vocals.

I could have done more had I a dry vocal to work with, but on the other hand your treatment of your vocals helped give me a direction and had a great sound so who knows? :-)
colab
.
permalink   Mon, May 31, 2010 @ 6:38 PM
Very good. You definitely have reason to be proud of this one.

The vocals slip out of sync with the backing track at around the second half of the track - but that’s a relatively easy fix. You have a very strong track here. Nice one.
 
.
permalink   essesq Mon, May 31, 2010 @ 6:46 PM
Many thanks…no herring? :-)

I know about the sync problem. One would think it’s an easy fix but I tried quite mightily (by my standards) and with my kit and experience it was becoming very difficult. I’m just signing onto another music site that has a Garageband users group. I need some tech help and I’m hoping to get it. Thanks for the listen and the review.
 
.
permalink   colab Mon, May 31, 2010 @ 7:39 PM
Re: herring - no. There are rules about these sorts of things. The rules around vocal syncing problems strictly dictate that there is to be no herring.

There might be, however, some sort of cod.
 
.
permalink   essesq Mon, May 31, 2010 @ 7:50 PM
Ouch, that hurt ;-)…(laughing)

However…Being the wife of an Englishman, a deep fried fillet of cod with similarly prepared potatoes and some salt and vinegar, washed down with a pint of Guinness suits me just fine.

So lets see what kind of review you get …. the notice of your reply arrived just as I was about to listen to your tango-ing mice …

….Did I mention I can recite “Wynken, Blynken and Nod” from memory …?
Darkroom
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 8:32 AM
Nice atmos. Although I am also a big fan of vocal synchronization, I was able to look past it on this track haha.
 
.
permalink   essesq Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 9:49 AM
LOL Darkroom. I appreciate your kindness. You should know that in reality I know the shortcomings of my work and it has taken me a mighty long time to accept them where I have to. I consider it a great compliment when a fellow remixer with some real experience and knowhow gives me a serious critique. I don’t mind Colab pointing things out. I just want one of his herrings :-).
 
.
permalink   Darkroom Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 10:40 AM
haha, I can offer you a Red Snapper