Break the Silence Event
skip

Reviews for "The Emotions: Sad v2"

The Emotions: Sad v2
by essesq
Recommends (12)
Fri, Apr 30, 2010 @ 4:27 PM
 
timberman
.
permalink   Sat, May 1, 2010 @ 12:46 AM
So beautiful!
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, May 1, 2010 @ 4:58 PM
Thank you very much, Sir. I really like queeniemusic’s samples. She gets all the credit for the beauty. I was just lucky enough to find them.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sat, May 1, 2010 @ 4:28 AM
I like the use of the harp and strings to set off a spoken word piece. Your voice sounds vibrant, though perhaps a slightly lesser component of delay would serve the piece even better. The mix of the strings and harp is very well done. This one certainly does not suffer from too much ‘mono’. It’s cool in my headphones!
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, May 1, 2010 @ 5:06 PM
Thank you Gurdonark. I had no idea whatsoever what I was doing with that delay, I just thought I’d give it a whirl. I think there must be a whole lot of other stuff to do to the second track of vocals (which I applied the delay to leaving one without) to pull it in a little. I’m ashamed to say that after over a year with Garageband I have no idea what half the fx do and I have been cheating like crazy using presets rather than learning what the actual settings do in their pure form. I really have to stop that and work more with these tools.

I’m glad you are telling me the mix sounds good in your headphones. As you know mine are new and there is definitely a difference and I don’t know how it’s impacting other people’s experience so listener feedback like yours is very important to me. Sorry for the ramble, and thanks again.
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, May 1, 2010 @ 4:57 PM
Hi Esseq,

Very nice indeed.

The sounds are spacial now and that lovely harp sound really makes the track for me. The fact you’ve thought about the panning of instruments certainly shows… still loving that tabla!

Looking forward to a trip through more emotions
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, May 1, 2010 @ 5:00 PM
Thank you, Scott. This is getting a bit creepy since I just logged onto the site to thank the previous two reviewers as you were leaving your review. We must stop meeting like this, or…can I get you a cup of coffee, just having one myself :-).
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sat, May 1, 2010 @ 5:07 PM
Hey, its late here (1:09am) so best not take the coffee… that said, I was off the coffee for the last few years and a colleague of mine recently re-introduced me to the costa coffee latte… now can’t seem to get enough of the stuff…

Keep those tunes coming.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sun, May 2, 2010 @ 1:05 PM
Much better. As Robert says, take care with that delay as too much can have you sounding like a railway station announcer.:-)
 
.
permalink   essesq Sun, May 2, 2010 @ 2:02 PM
Thank you. There was probably a better way to accomplish the filling of audible space that I wanted to accomplish. (Chorus perhaps ;-) ?) Delay has fascinated me for a long time. One of the guys who shared my rotation on my radio show used to use old fashioned real tape delay on his voice when he did his talking and I thought that was so cool.

No need to worry about me going as far as the railway station guys. I still want people to understand what I am saying :-).
SackJo22
.
permalink   Mon, May 3, 2010 @ 1:30 PM
I enjoyed listening the first time, and I enjoy listening to your re-do which to my non-techncial ears does sound better. And it was nice to listen to your sad poem today. It fit my mood.
 
.
permalink   essesq Mon, May 3, 2010 @ 1:37 PM
Thank you Susan. I dare say with the sheer amount of listening you do and your musical background the technical bits of your ears are probably sharper than you realize :-).

In a way I am sorry to hear that my poem fit your mood, but in another I am pleased that it could speak to you. I think people have a hard time allowing themselves to feel sometimes. If my little pieces help one person along that journey (as they help me in making them) then I feel I have done some good.

Chin up now girlie, because I’m working on “Joy” which is surprisingly difficult to express.
onlymeith
.
permalink   Thu, May 20, 2010 @ 10:18 AM
I like essesq. If possible I would like the upload of the voice dry. I have a track that I can put toghether perfectly ( I will try ).
 
.
permalink   essesq Thu, May 20, 2010 @ 12:43 PM
For you, Onlymeith, of course. I won’t get to uploading until later today. I have to make a new version of the song because I never recorded the poem on it’s own.

I would love to see what you can do with it. I’ll get to your latest soon. I need 7 minutes when I can concentrate :-).

(Thanks - you made my day :-) ).
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Fri, May 21, 2010 @ 4:34 AM
Thanks essesq. Now I´m working on it.