Come Together Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "Winter Comes (4-track mix)"

Winter Comes (4-track mix)
by duckett
Recommends (5)
Mon, Nov 12, 2007 @ 5:41 AM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 12, 2007 @ 11:12 PM
But you are the first to remix her…Nice work, simple and very cool ambiance, calming down.
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 12:10 AM
heh, thanks- i’m still reminded that my musical knowledge remains less than encyclopedic, after listening to her remix featuring the vocals, and saying “ohhh, THAT’s what she was doing…” the most i know about aeolian mode is about as much as I do about dorian, mixolydian, or any of them other modes- “oh yeah, that stuff music-school-people talk about”. I have a decent ear most of the time, but I’m also trying to learn more about production/mastering/recording etc.
I’m a WIP- but thanks for encouragement!
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 2:48 AM
Nice slinky yea,
say it again slinky, i even like the fact it just goes at the end
Slinkyly
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 3:55 AM
That’s a review that can’t help but make me smile… so-
I’m uploading the instrumental to this, maybe it’s a forced fit over this pella, but if you’re feelin’ it like that, I’d be more than happy to let you and other mixters play with it, maybe there’s other ways to enjoy my what? slinky..I said uh, slinky lil’ track..
:)
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 9:52 AM
duckett-
the original piano piece from Klaus Neimaier also threw me to the Harvard Encylcopedia of music. I though aoelian, but I could be wrong. All I know, when I figured it out acoustically on my piano there were lots of black keys, the ones I usually avoid like the plague. I think you did admirably the second time around, actually it’s pretty wonderful. Let’s blame Klaus or better yet, I think the lesson here is to maybe refer to all the source material beforehand. This is my new method anyway. I think this is very good.
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 2:00 PM
(wipes forehead) phew! Glad you liked it, that 1st upload was a result of ear burnout, i had spent too much time working on it to be able to “hear it” anymore- I had also misremembered your description as it being in E minor rather than E-flat minor, so when I started noodling around (the EP track was my starting point) I was thinking “wait a minute, Em isn’t working as a root at all, but Am sounds like a much better fit..”
Sometimes just grabbing a raw pella or sample without listening to an original mix or other remixes is good for avoiding a subconscious notion of how something “should” sound, but yeah, in this case I would have avoided a lot of puzzlement and headache… Thanks for the kind words..
:)
grapes
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 4:58 PM
this is cool.. you inspired me to give these vocals a download..

real chill tho..
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Nov 13, 2007 @ 6:34 PM
Why thank you, I never mind inspiring people…
;)
Southbound Cinema
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 14, 2007 @ 5:16 PM
This track complements her vocals beautifully. I like the dichotomy of the loud percussion with the groovy organ. I also liked that quick Faith No More fade at the end.
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Nov 14, 2007 @ 8:03 PM
Thanks! “Faith No More” wow, I hadn’t even thought of them (at least consciously) but yeah, I do remember that fade-out now that I think about it..
Anchor
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 16, 2007 @ 3:51 AM
sensual and very left-field in concept. I like the the sort-of string quartet mode backing her up…I had an image of a beautiful babe in tri-cornered hat sans garment singing at Tri-na-nog in the lightly falling snow.
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Nov 16, 2007 @ 6:52 AM
Thanks- umm, quite the uh, image you mention there… I never thought a review would make me blush and think of the cause of George Washington’s death at the same time…