Perfect Harmony Remix Event
skip
Home » People » debbizo » I am only thirty » Reviews

Reviews for "I am only thirty"

I am only thirty
by debbizo
Recommends (19)
Sun, May 23, 2010 @ 5:54 AM

Uses samples from:

 
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, May 23, 2010 @ 11:11 AM
What a fascinating and strong lyric. Must mention your mixing skills that are getting audibly better for every mix. Splendid!
 
.
permalink   debbizo Sun, May 23, 2010 @ 2:07 PM
Thank you St Paul. I am learning all the time.
Briareus
.
permalink   Sun, May 23, 2010 @ 6:48 PM
Very moving. A really nice mix all the way ‘round.
 
.
permalink   debbizo Tue, May 25, 2010 @ 1:15 AM
Thanks for listening Briareus.
Donnie Drost
.
permalink   Mon, May 24, 2010 @ 2:21 AM
It’s a pitty! My English is much too worse to understand this lyrics. But, everytime, when I am listening to your nice, sentimental voice and the music I want to understand the whole thing, again and again. Summarizing, I just want to note, even the poor results from my translation programs from your poems always touches my deep inside.
 
.
permalink   debbizo Tue, May 25, 2010 @ 1:19 AM
Thank you for such a touching review donnie.

The poem is about a woman who is diagnosed with a terminal illness.
She is facing an early death.
There is a reference to organ donation (transplant of organs to prolong life).

I hope this makes sense donnie. Sorry I cannot translate better. What is your language?
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Tue, May 25, 2010 @ 10:55 AM
Sure it make sense! Thank you very much for further details/backgrounds of your poem. I’m speaking German but I guess many non-native English speaking people here have the same problems, of course. It’s a sad poem, and probably I do not understand anything, but I’m also supporting organ donation and always take this card in my wallet with my. Keep on to enlarge your talent!
 
.
permalink   debbizo Tue, May 25, 2010 @ 1:59 PM
Thank you donnie. My husband is German and my son lives in Germany. Unfortunately I only know a few words of German.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Mon, May 24, 2010 @ 2:35 AM
Nice remix, Deb. You’re progressing.
 
.
permalink   debbizo Tue, May 25, 2010 @ 1:20 AM
Thank you trf. Glad I’m improving :-)
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Tue, May 25, 2010 @ 2:38 AM
Your poetry is always great, Deb … referring to your remixing skills.

Would be interested to know what microphone and recording chain you are using for your pella uploads.
 
.
permalink   debbizo Tue, May 25, 2010 @ 6:14 AM
Mostly I am using a digital recorder - Zoom H4n then plugging the SD card into laptop and processing in Acoustica Mixcraft. Some of the recordings were done on a cheap headset microphone, and a few older ones were done on an Eiderol digital recorder with a Rode video mic plugged in. :-)
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Wed, May 26, 2010 @ 7:08 AM
Nice choice of backing anything by Ghost is fine in my book.

Sonically i can hear you experimenting with effects. My approach is go overboard and play, get it all out of your system, until you return to the point where having none is the best approach.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, May 26, 2010 @ 9:45 AM
Agree. Your recording/mixing skills are improving expoentially. Your writing, as always, continues to be refined and piercing.
Chuck Berglund
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 15, 2010 @ 11:23 PM
Nice Relaxing Track and Interesting Spoken makes one Think!
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 27, 2010 @ 5:45 AM
Very good choice of backing, as has been picked up by others, and, crikey, don’t you know how to pick exactly the right words and word combinations?! Outstanding writing. xxxx
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 10:02 AM
you’ve pried open my soul with this one deb.
 
.
permalink   debbizo Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 2:13 PM
Quote: snowflakeyou’ve pried open my soul with this one deb.

I take that as huge compliment snowflake (just hope it wasn’t too painful)