Perfect Harmony Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Alan Lu » Still Unforgiven » Reviews

Reviews for "Still Unforgiven"

Still Unforgiven
by Alan Lu
Recommends (2)
Sat, Apr 26, 2008 @ 3:22 PM
 
DURDEN
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 7:51 AM
I don’t like the piano, the chords don’t go with the voice. I think the bass needs a litlle more presence, a eq issue. I like the style, you give that song a new level, like this very much more than the original.
 
.
permalink   Alan Lu Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 3:18 PM
Interesting points you bring up. I’ll look into the piano chords more… I may end up scrapping the piano altogether, since part of why I wanted the piano there was so there were other melodic/harmonic elements other than Trouz’s voice and the guitar (I’d feel guilty about just slapping on an intro and a drumbeat, haha).
Thanks!
Shaelibri
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 6:06 PM
I like the idea of your mix; it’s dnb avant garde. The moderate lack of synch between the bass and the vocals might be purposeful, but truthfully it just sounds like the vocals weren’t warped to the groove quite right. Very interesting counterpoint between the guitar and the synths.
 
.
permalink   Alan Lu Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 10:44 PM
The vocals weren’t warped at all, so yeah, it was intention (partly out of laziness, partly out of not wanting to destroy the vocals or anything). I actually felt bad for adding the bit of reverb I did because I wanted the vocals to stay dry (it didn’t sound right :[ ).

I’ll play with it and try to upload again soon. Thanks!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 30, 2008 @ 7:21 PM
This is a really irritating piece of work and I mean that in a positive way. I listened to it a few times and its got a lot going for it. Makes the old brain cells jump about a bit keeping up with it and that makes for a good listen.

I think if you had spent more time on this you could have fine tuned it more but as you say its an idea and it works so leave well alone.

Great stuff!!
 
.
permalink   Alan Lu Wed, Apr 30, 2008 @ 10:43 PM
Glad you enjoyed it… irritatingly :D

Thanks!
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 7:37 AM
Well for me I like the piano very much. I am having a bit of trouble resolving the bass time signature and the vocals, and I think some of the vocal effects (ie reverby stuff at the end of phrases and the ‘freak voice’ erosion bit are not as well integrated into the piece as they may have been. That being said, I like this industrial take on the original, and how it strips some of the overt emotionalism from it. All in all a very good concept and I am eagerly waiting to hear more of your work. Sorry the pella was so hard to work with. That’s just the way it rolls I guess, as the kids are want to say.
 
.
permalink   Alan Lu Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 4:28 PM
The vocals weren’t that bad to work with, though yeah, I was never really too great at mangling vocals. I meant that this particular style is something I’ve been trying to nail for a while.

Bass time signature? It’s just a 4/4 bass with a slow attack… ? Or do you mean something else?

Anyways, thanks!
s.c.mixer
.
permalink   Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 8:29 AM
I like the overall approach in this mix: the style, the beats, the sparse melody, the rythm changes. That’s the good point

And now some constructive criticism. In my opinion the track needs more final production: intrument/vocal balance, EQ, compression to make it (even) punchier.
That aside, definitely a good take on this vocal! :)
 
.
permalink   Alan Lu Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 4:26 PM
You’re totally right about the final production.

(The truth is, I don’t want to do it because I’m afraid I’ll screw it up even more, as all I have to make songs on are these crappy earbuds, hahaha)

Thanks!
onlymeith
.
permalink   Fri, May 2, 2008 @ 10:30 AM
Very interesting point of view about initial samples, I like especially the ambient on the drums moments, also the voice┬┤s treatment.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sat, May 3, 2008 @ 4:23 PM
Interesing to hear the guitar in this like its coming in on Long Wave radio.

You have a foundation for an interesting mix and certain sections do work but as progression from start to end it stands still. I dont think just dropping a drum loop onto it makes the more organic parts you have created underneath work.
 
.
permalink   Alan Lu Sat, May 3, 2008 @ 11:05 PM
I see what you mean. I find that the progression is often a problem with my tunes (sometimes, I try so hard to do unconventional things that I fail to take into account what is most musically significant).

Anyways, maybe in the future, I could expand this mix to do you guys some justice. In the meantime, thanks for the feedback!