Ocean Dreams Music Event
skip
Home » People » AT » Truth and Beauty » Reviews

Reviews for "Truth and Beauty"

Truth and Beauty
by AT
Recommends (8)
Sun, Nov 4, 2007 @ 8:27 PM

Uses samples from:

 
spinmeister
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 4, 2007 @ 9:15 PM
this is really neat - very nice atmosphere.

Adding much melodic content would probably be non-trivial, because of the dramatically different tuning and scales used in this type of mid-eastern music.

I’m not sure, if it needs anything extra - it sounds plenty pleasant to my ears as it is.
 
.
permalink   AT Wed, Nov 7, 2007 @ 6:24 AM
Thanks Spin, i to do like the atmosphere, but felt it lacked some build up. Maybe taking away rather than adding was what was needed?
Thanks.
essesq
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 4, 2007 @ 9:27 PM
Well it strikes me that this one’s pretty tough rhythmically and you’ve gotten it right so I wouldn’t mess with it. :-) I like the overall feel of it and the repetitiveness gives it a meditative aspect.

It sounds as if you’ve reversed some of the vocal and those segments sound very childlike. Pretty neat effect. Nice work.
 
.
permalink   AT Wed, Nov 7, 2007 @ 6:26 AM
Thanks Essesq-its always good to meditate. Nice to see your name pop up!
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 5, 2007 @ 9:50 AM
At least here are still three reviews that I agree to and to repeat a few things in my personal words:
Spin is right: There is no need for adding any melodic thing, it is nice and enough in that way!

Essesq(btw nice to see you here!)mentioned the meditative aspect of repetitiviness and the childlike vocal snipes. These are very good elements.

Vanchy recommended to let the song breath as for an instrumental solo part. That would have been a good idea, cause the instrumental is a very nice one that I could listen too for a minute or more!

Overall impressing and enjoyable work!
 
.
permalink   AT Wed, Nov 7, 2007 @ 6:32 AM
Thanks Joe- hey thats my first thumbs up!
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 7, 2007 @ 10:32 AM
I am agreeing with you AT. I like it a lot but feel it is a case of too much, to soon and for too long.

Arrangement wise i would have begun with minimal percussion got the show going with the vocal, took her out of it , stopped the flow again and came back with a full on party.

You can still use perc but i would have used something later with a real low sub base hum. A cone blower :-)

Quality wise it’s right on the money ( how about posting your beat track :- ) no harm asking i suppose ) and nice to see you back mixing again.